We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Spent Sat oct 20 to Mon Oct 22 here, I had never been to the Fort Lauderdale/Miami area before and all i wanted was a nice clean room with ocean views and a reasonable price This place was having a special on Expedi at the time so i snapped it up.. After travelling up from Key West FL i arrived on the Sat afternoon, After checking in i was issued Room 1216, 12th floor, corner balcony, full ocean view! The bellman followed me up, explained how to work the controls and left me to it, The room was spacious with a king size bed, a small kitchenette with stove and microwave plus cutlery, A large...ish bathroom with Gilchrist & Soames and Tarocco tolietries and was very comfortable.

Good size tv with lots of channels, I never used the pool and will say i wish they wouldnt close it so early! (around 7pm) but i found the business centre to be decent.

The company i work for has an office in Boca so a friend of mine i used to work with who lives in Fort Lauderdale came to visit me and she was equally impressed with the room, SHe took me out to Sawgrass Mills outlet mall (A must for shoppers since prices are so cheap!) and another area called Delray Beach a beautiful little beach town not far away with great restaurants, views and stores.

As for actual Fort Lauderdale itself...The hotel sits on the far end of all the action, Probably a 3 to 4 block walk to CVS and the restaurants...... I'd almost call the area borderline seedy......Personally Fort Lauderdale did nothing for me and i'm not sure i'd rush back.....But thats just my opinion! However if i had to stay in the area again i definitely think this hotel is value for money, I paid around $250 AUD a night which for what i got was excellent.

I ate at the hotel restaurant for both dinner and breakfast, Food was decent as was the service.

My last day i had to go to the post office.....Here's a tip, no post office in walking distance! i find that amazing for a so called tourist spot, The concierge gave me the address to one and called me a cab.....$20 return cab fare later,

Check out was uneventful and i got a cab no problems

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, General Manager at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Harvsman,

We are very happy you enjoyed the hotel and especially our rooms. Sorry to hear how the US Postal Service affected you. We have upgraded our Concierge services to help with mail and FedEx and the like so you won't have to leave. I hope you'll be able to visit us again if your travels bring you to Fort Lauderdale again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,152 - 1,158 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Positives were spacious room with awesome beach view facing the ocean and a nice little balcony, peaceful ocean sounds with balcony door open (but mixed with amplified street noise), elegant bathroom, kitchen incl pots, utensils, microwave, toaster, coffemaker and good size refridge, inroom safe, iron and board, friendly and responsive staff, good location with nice but narrow sandy beach across the street (rentable chairs and umbrellas available), nice outdoor pool with good length for lap swimming (competition for limited number of loungers, however), room rate included use of very private gender-specific jacuzzi in spa (but not other services)
Negatives were: pillowtop bed was too soft for my back, poor internet and phone reception in the room (no internet or phone bandwidth bars with my usual service provider), inadequate lighting at the bathroom mirror for shaving or make-up, cable TV reception problems with too many channels unavailable (they said they were going to fix that but not until I left), chair seat cushions and carpet need upgrade, overnight valet parking is very pricey, one false fire alarm at 5:30 am was a wake up and meet your neighbor event

Room Tip: The oceanfront efficiency was directly in front of the ocean and had a view of the pool area. Room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, General Manager at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Bwylde,
Thank you for staying with us and for your thoughtful comments. We hope to tackle some of the issues you identify this year in the form of upgrades from out new owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

i just stayed a week at the Atlantic and it was a great stay. I had an ocean view room which was 62o sq feet. The view was very nice and the room was clean & immaculate. The bathroom was excellent too. Service at the hotel was outstanding. It's also a nice location right across from the beach and about a 10 minute walk to the shops. I also saved money parking on the street which was about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. This hotel is ideal for families or couples, or if you are just looking for a quite place on the beach. I usually stay at the W but this hotel is much better. I would rate it slightly lower than the Ritz but the value at the Atlantic is tremendous and will stay again.

Room Tip: ask at check in for the best room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancingdays8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, General Manager at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Dancingdays,
Thank you for your glowing review. We certainly appreciate your business and hope you'll return to us soon, perhaps when you need another dose of warm winter sunshine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The decision to stay here was made on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews and was a good one. On arrival after a long flight from Australia we were pleased to find we had been upgraded to a king suite. Perhaps this was due to our membership of the I Prefer Hotels Reward Program. The suite was large and very well appointed. Service was excellent from the reception to the dining room and everything in between. The only downsides were that you really need a car to get anywhere as the hotel is very well located for the beach but not really anything else. We did go and see Bonnet House which is nearby and spent several hours there as it was so interesting.

Room Tip: Personally not sure that the rooms overlooking the beach are worth the extra cost. They also overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, General Manager at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Dawnstar,
Thank you for being our guest. I am glad to hear how you enjoyed visiting our neighbor, The Historic Bonnet House. It's a great place to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Great location at the beach. Suited in a Quiet part of the beach. Walking distance to several nice restaurants. The room was large but in need of upgrading. Some furniture was
bumped on the edges and one lampshade was teared. The Internet wich is free didn't work properly, but when we pointed that out they tried to fixed it at once. We lived in room 806. The staff was helpfull and friendly.
Don't miss Yo mamas popcorn & ice cream bar, only 5 minutes walk north from The Atlantic.
The fitness room was great. Not so big but enugh. The bathroom held both bathtub and shower! Really great!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familjesemester_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, General Manager at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

So happy to hear you enjoyed our location and rooms. Sorry that you saw some cosmetic imperfections. We are already addressing them with the support of our new ownership. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed for three nights while waiting to take our cruise.Even though we arrived late in the evening off a transatlantic flight the staff were more than helpful and our room was fantastic, enormous size with the most comfortable beds and even a fully equipped kitchen area which my wifw and I used every day to make teas and coffees in the room.
The biggest asset to the hotel for us was Sheryl Luke the concierge in the lobby.She made it her job to see that anything we wanted whether booking sight seeing trips or advice on shopping or restaurants was provided accurately, efficiently and all with a lovely personality.As travellers with no previous knowledge of Fort Lauderdale we found that she made us feel right at home.
Pool area furniture needs some updating but I understand this is being addressed, we would certainly stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: front rooms have balcony with fabulous views of beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paxton42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, General Manager at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Paxton42,

Thank you for for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am so happy you enjoyed your time in Fort Lauderdale, and that our Concierge Sheryl was so valuable to you. She is a treasure. Thank you for staying with us. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel staying only 2 nights while preparing to embark on a Seabourn Cruise to South and Central America. We arrived late in the evening and were pleasantly surprised by the effort the hotel staff put into providing us with a room service meal despite the kitchen being closed.
Our ocean front suite upgraded by the hotel, comprised 3 rooms including a kitchenette which we only used for coffee and drinks, a living area and a bedroom. The suite was clean and very comfortable and meals could certainly have been easily prepared in the kitchen.
As we really had only one day in Fort Lauderdale, we chose on the next day to take the intercoastal cruise to which we were directed and advised by the friendly hotel staff.
Breakfast was American style and adequate. However, we chose to breakfast outside the hotel on one occasion.
The balconies overlooking the beah were a pleasant location for a pre-dinner drink and noise was not a problem.
We found this hotel ideal for our purpose and enjoyed a pleasant stay enhanced by the friendly and helpful staff. If we return to Fort Lauderdale (unlikely) we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, General Manager at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thanks for using us as the prelude to your cruise adventure. I am happy you could find some quality rest and relaxation with us. I hope your travels will bring you back to us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#28 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,177 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,827 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#5 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,022 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,403 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#31 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Address: 601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $249 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Atlantic Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique property located on Fort Lauderdale Beach with panoramic ocean views and a focus on personalized service. Spacious rooms and luxury amenities make this property the perfect retreat for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Atlantic Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atlantic Resort And Spa
The Atlantic Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing