We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room too big, beach too sandy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
287 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Room too big, beach too sandy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful. Room was very comfortable and well appointed. Every night while at dinner, housekeeping would turn down the bed and replenish towels and soap - great touch! While my wife and daughter didnt mind, I found the mattress way too soft. Soft to the point my lower back never acclimated. A/C could be better. Kitchenette was fully equipped with very good condition and quality utensils, not garage sale onesy. Nice large LCD TV. Also had in-room safe. Bathroom is very nice but could use ventilation.
Fitness room is clean, smells nice and is well equipped although a little small.
Breakfast buffet is crowned by amazing zucchini muffins and coffee cake. Their lady pastry chef is tops!
Beach towels are provided without drama.
On the beach across the street there are beach chairs and umbrellas. Once you've settled in, a guy will approach you saying that even without any signage, they are actually for rent. He adds you can pay by cash or bill it to your room, even though he's not part of the hotel. Very sleazy. We observed another couple who took much more offense to the lack of signage. After ruining the vibe within earshot, the man was very close to knocking the beach guys teeth out. Note to Management: either clearly post rates or disassociate your property from this character. This is one glaring red X to your property.
Parking at $28/day is very high. But there's very good free wifi connection, complimentary newspapers, and a business center with a free printer.
Staff is well managed. Just minor points.... Yes, carpets endure a lot in salt water environment and therefore should probably be replaced even sooner, no? Facade could use powerwashing to this property shine.
Overall we were impressed and very pleased with our stay. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Front Office Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear T34IFR,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time and giving us some input on your stay at The Atlantic. It seems that you were able to take full advantage of our facilities and amenities and enjoy them.
In regards to the beach, it is a public beach that is run by a company called Boucher Brothers. I will direct your comments to them so that they are aware.
Again, we are elated to know you had a great time and we look forward in welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Jennifer Urena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    439
    149
    83
    46
See reviews for
390
939
77
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We reserved an ocean view room(which you have to pay extra for) and we were upgraded to a huge suite. It's beautiful, with double sinks in the bathroom with a separate living/kitchenette and king size bedroom. Downside-no ocean view! We aren't the type to complain, if you went on the balcony you could see some of the beach so we decided to be ok with that. Also, the shower had something growing/living in the grout. When you wash, the water doesnt drain so the "things" swim around your feet. They look like leaches or larvae. We asked the front desk to have the shower cleaned, and someone apparently bleached and left the things for dead. They're still packed between the grout. It's gross. Drinks and food are really overpriced no matter where you go, hotel or nearby.

Upsides, great view from the pool, quick access to the ocean which is clean and mostly quiet. Nothing like crazy Miami beach that we visited briefly. Clean hotel, room is very comfortable and staff is kind and professional. Aside from the fore mentioned, we are pleased with the hotel and will most likely return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here to celebrate our one year aniversary. The hotel was beautiful, staff was excellent, rooms were perfect. The location was the only draw back. Right across the street from the beach, but for anything else it was a mile walk. Since overnight parking at the hotel was $28 per night, we chose to cab it rather than tenting a car. The bell staff and concierge staff ready stood out and made our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peteydaoust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
264 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

My daughter and I were looking for a get away. My daughter requested palm trees and ocean so we saw a review of this hotel and it looked great, especially balcony views, beach across the street and spa on site. We arrived and got our room, the hotel was full and so I couldnt upgrade to a larger suite but that was fine. We had one king bed ocean view (side view not front view) room with mini fridge, sink and cooktop. The room was a nice size and we had a corner so we had a side view of the ocean which was fine. The carpet for the quality of the hotel was very warn and had some spots but the rest of the room was nice and clean. Bathroom was large and overall nice space for the two of us. The location of the hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the beach club area where all the "action" is so we paid $3 per person for this open taxi to take us down and we would usually just walk home late night when it was cooler. Front desk customer service was great, the hotel pool was nice and there was always a place to sit by the pool. They had towels to check out for pool or beach and at the beach were private vendors that charged $10 per chair if you wanted to be on the beach. At the pool they had a bar and lunch area with great food. We used the spa two days, costly but wonderful experience. They give discounts if you are a florida resident or if you use it during the week. My daughter got sick the last two days so we were in the room alot. Cleaning of our room seemed way late on most days which may have to do with the hotel being full but we would leave the room around 10ish and come back at 4pm and the room still not cleaned. They did offer turn down service was that seemed late like around 9ish at times. We asked for more towels on two occassions, the first time we got them right away but the second time I had to call down twice. The maid who came to the door seemed annoyed and just kinda handed the towel and said "here". The maid service overall seemed slow and just not on top of the rooms. Also since we were room bound, our TV wasnt showing pay per view shows so we called and asked for someone to come up and take a look. The gentleman was very nice but made several comments that his granddaughters know more about technology sometimes then he does. He couldnt figure it out and used our room phone to call out to the local cable company. I guess the hold time was too long so he said he would get back to us. They never got it fixed as it was something with the cable company. To my surprise I got charged for the room call but the front desk was great about removing it. The front desk staff were wonderful, helpful with my sick daughter and suggestions for pizza places that deliver and gave us a later check out that was very generious. So overall classy hotel but some kinks that need to be worked out with staff and carpets need to be cleaned big time. Beds were very comfortable with tons of pillows so that was nice.

Room Tip: Note there is a difference between ocean view room and front ocean view. Front ocean view is direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmazcomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Let me start with the positive... the room itself is absolutely gorgeous. Very high ceilings, beautiful tile everywhere, enormous bathroom, and very clean. The bed and bedding was the most comfortable I've ever had at a hotel. The location is good- a bit of a walk from some of the restaurants and bars, but at night once it has cooled down it is very walkable (during the day it is a bit too far with the heat). There is a Bose sound system in the room with was very nice. The beach is across the street and is also very nice, and not too busy.

The negative...we paid for the suite room with ocean views, and were unfortunately put in what they said was their last of this type. Our room was 501- so if you book you might want to request to NOT have this room. The room is gorgeous inside, but we were expecting a private balcony or patio, but what we got was a patio on the pool level. Although the room was cleaned, the patio clearly was not before we came. There was an empty glass still on the patio and the patio furniture was stained. There was also a lounge chair from the pool area on our patio which clearly did not belong there. There is no barrier except a low wall, so we had no more privacy than if we were at the pool itself. The patio is not only next to the pool, but the area with lounge chairs extends in front of your patio, so we had loud, obnoxious people right in front of our "private" patio at all time. The people at the pool were quite obnoxious- the hotel itself seemed high class, but not the clientale. People screaming at their kids and arguing with their boyfriends/ spouses right in front of our patio, with no consideration that there are other people around. This patio was an extreme disappointment. Although the pool closes at nightfall, they do not enforce this, so even at night when we were sitting out on our patio trying to have a nice glass of wine together, there was some drunk guy on the phone right in front of our patio for hours in the middle of the night. Very unfortunate. The windows are also tinted, but you can clearly still see inside the room from the pool area- so instead of being able to enjoy any kind of view, we had to close the curtains in the room just to get some privacy. This room should be heavily discounted because it was a real disappointment to have no privacy at all.

Also- we went to the bar by the pool midday and ordered two pina coladas. The young female waitress belched loudly in front of us before pouring our drinks- so unbelievably rude. Then, we got the bill for two average sized pina coladas in plastic cups- $25.00!!!! Completely outrageous. You can guess that is the last drink we ordered at the hotel.

Also, we came back from the beach to find a huge puddle of water on our bathroom floor. The ceiling was leaking very badly, and then we noticed water damage all over the ceiling. We called the desk to tell them about the problem and instead of offering us a different room, they sent maintenence up. So we had to deal with a guy in our room fixing a problem for 25 minutes instead of being able to enjoy our one day away. He was very nice, but really guests should not have to deal with maintenence fixing a room during their stay. Clearly it was a bigger problem also, because water continued to bubble up on the ceiling the rest of the day.

DO NOT let them put you in Room 501- this is the most disappointing location imaginable. Also, do not bother eating or drinking at the hotel- the prices are outrageous and you can walk down the street for 10 minutes and find much better and more affordable drinks and dining. $25 for two pina coladas is seriously ridiculous. Staff also needs to be trained better- I don't care if it is a bartender, a janitor, or the front desk- burping loudly in front of guests is inappropriate behavior and staff should know better. The rooms are worth staying in I'd say as long as you arent on the 5th floor because they are beautiful and comfortable. Overall, disappointed with the location of the room and the bar service, but beautiful hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Do not allow them to put you in room 501 which they try to make sound nice because "it is the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank syracusessm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Atlantic 07/21 through 07/28. We had booked an ocean view studio. Upon arrival we decided that we wanted an ocean front room instead. Jarvis, one of the managers, got involved and made it happen. We thank you for that! We had room 1207. Beautiful room! It was spacious and comfortable. Great view of the ocean and the pool area below us. Georgeous place to watch the sunrise! The staff was very friendly. Great restaurant as well (a little pricy but worth it) Nice bar/restaurant beside the pool. Awesome place to have lunch. The head concierge is a delightful lady named Janete. She represents the Atlantic very well. She helped us arrange a private guide for a tour of Miami and South Beach. We used cabs to go just about everywhere. $7-$10 will get you anywhere in the area. There is a grocery store to stock up on snacks, about a 5 minute ride from the hotel. We give the Atlantic a resounding 5 stars, and we will return in the future! David and Erin C. Indianapolis, Indiana.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money to get an ocean front room. The view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

What an amazing time my wife and I had at the Atlantic. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. Lacel met us at our car, took our luggage and met us at the front desk where he introduced us by name to Emily. Emily at the front desk was especially friendly, engaged us in conversation... again making us feel like royalty. We were then escorted by Lacel upstairs. On our trip up, we asked him if they had given us a nice room. His response was "You'll tell me yourself." When we walked into the room we were in awe- a spacious room and bathroom, a super nice kitchen and an AMAZING view. After Lacel turned on our ice maker and left the room, my wife informed me that she was ready to move in! She spent the next half hour taking pictures of the amenities. We spent the next few days lounging by the gorgeous pool, hanging out by the bar, and soaking in the sun in this amazing place. Kudos also to Gene, the waiter, who was super friendly, offered travel suggestions, and helped to get our days off to a great start! Sheryl and Janete at the concierge desk were also super friendly and helpful. Although my wife's idea of moving in to the Atlantic is not in the cards, we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a wonderful and relaxing getaway. Boutique hotels might be hit or miss, but my wife and I agree that the Atlantic is a grand slam!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms were amazing and worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#7 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Property: The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Address: 601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4110
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Atlantic Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the discerning traveler, the resort is devoted to the pursuit of service and elegance, affording the perfect balance for business and pleasure. Recreationally speaking: The hotel is situated across from Fort Lauderdale's Blue Wave Beach, our full-service Spa,lap pool and fifth floor sun deck overlooking the ocean are indeed relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atlantic Resort And Spa
The Atlantic Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing