We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The calm among the storm of spring breakers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We traveled and spent the week here for spring break with our family of 5 plus an extra friend. We have spent the past few years at Disney for spring break and the kids opted to just spend the week at the beach. It was very busy, but very enjoyable for us! The hotel was amazing! The kids (9,14,17,17) loved it! We had adjoining ocean view suites and we had much more room than I expected. The bathrooms are huge! with large showers, double sinks, tubs, and a separate toilet room. The only time we felt cramped was the one morning that we ordered room service and all tried to sit and eat around the coffee table. The food in the restaurant was very good, and we ate most meals there for convienance. Even though $150 for 6 for breakfast is a little more than I like to spend. The french toast and eggs benedict were favorites with the kids. We learned after a few mornings to grab the complimentary coffee in the lobby instead of ordering at restaurant.
One plus to the crowds during busy times, is that the hotel to the south of this one has been sitting vacant for a few years, so that helps with the crowds on the beach, since there is no one from that hotel out in front of it. And if you have a room that faces that hotel it is nice and quiet. Now the hotel (well actually more a motel) on the north side, makes up for the noise level. We witnessed coach buses rolling in and out of there every night and the music was quite loud from their bar. Many college kids were staying there.
The kids loved the Samsung 'tablets' (similar to an IPad) available in the room, my 9 year old son, played games on it quite a bit. The older kids had brought their laptops and the wi-fi worked well. I loved sitting on the balcony in the evening with a laptop and a glass of wine. (that was the extent of my spring break partying! haha!)
As far as needing a car when staying here...depends on if you plan to spend the time just on the beach or do other things. Many things are walkable to, but they are a 'walk', like the closet 7-11 to buy refreshments was a good mile round trip to the north or there was a CVS just a little under a mile away to the south. The Galleria mall is a really nice shopping mall with major department stores and is just a little over a mile. The Sawgrass Outlet mall is about 15 miles away. We rented a mini-van since hailing a cab is a little more difficult when you have 6 people. The valet service was very efficient and personable. My husband dealt with the ladies at the concierge desk a number of times and they were very helpful with arranging bicycles to be deiivered to the hotel for us to use, and snorkeling and parasailing activities.
Hotel has a wonderful spa and a nicely equipped workout room, that we used a few times to work off all the food we were eating! Pool is up on the 5th floor, so nice and private. Nice little business center with a flight status monitor to quickly check your flights and to print out your boarding passes.
We very much enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Of course Oceanfront rooms have great views, but the ocean view rooms are also nice, with a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CruiseLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Director of Front Office at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Dear CruiseLori,

Thank you for your wonderful review! It really sounds like your whole family really felt like The Atlantic Resort & Spa was their home away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards,
Jennifer Urena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,344 - 1,350 of 2,015 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband & I, along with our 2 kids who were 17 & 13 at the time, stayed here at the end of July thru August 4 of 2011.We wanted to have a great vacation as well as visit my family who live nearby.My husband found this property on Tripadvisor & we decided to give it a try & we booked 2 adjoining rooms.Upon check-in we were told they upgraded us to the Penthouse with the oceanview but we were to pay the room rates of our original reservation!We were beyond thrilled!The room was unbelievable & was perfect for entertaining my family when they visited.The hotel staff were very professional & the restaurant was teriffic.The beach was right across the street which was great!We will defenitely return even if we don't get the Penthouse!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Director of Front Office at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Dear Robyn S,

We thank you for your wonderful review even if it is months later, it is greatly appreciated! We cannot wait until you return to sunny Ft. Lauderdale Beach and enjoy our new features in the rooms, our Samsung Tablets. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us when you have your next vacation dates.

Best Regards,
Jennifer Urena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the hotel in an ocean front room with a balcony. It is just fantastic taking coffee at the balcony just facing the ocean. The room is a good size with a very big bath room, and all marble floor thro out. The hotel is kept very clean and the service is great. Especially Jackie at the front desk who has helped us.
The hotel is centrally located with 10 minutes walk either to the left of right if you want to eat in other restaurants. Since it is situated along the ocean (separated by a small boulevard), the board walk is all paved for walking or jogging along it.
The whole experience with this hotel is very satisfying except my one complaint is the valet parking which cost 28.00 per day. We don't have a choice since we are not allowed to do overnight parking in the public parking near by. The hotel should reduce the price of the parking since the guests are already paying quite a price for the room. So my advice is, if you don't intend to go any places that are really far, don't rent any car when you are staying there, it is cheaper to take a taxi. The nice Galleria shopping mall is just about 20 minutes walk away. We would come by to this hotel again, but not renting a car.

Room Tip: Ocean front with a higher floor for view. Remember ocean view room is not the ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mary168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Director of Front Office at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Dear Mary168,

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. Regarding parking and the location you are absolutely right we are in walking distance to many great restaurants and shopping. Our parking rate is actually very competitive with what is offered in this area for valet parking as most hotels in the area charge over $30 per night.

We hope to see you very soon and cannot wait to welcome you back with a nice cup of coffee.

Best Regards,
Jennifer Urena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This was the destination for my staycation and I absolutely enjoyed the place. We arrived and our designated room wasn't ready so Justen upgraded us to the eleventh floor ocean view 2 room suite he didn't want us to wait, so that was nice. The room was clean, spacious and kitchenette well stocked with necessary utensil for our "mile high" apple pie from Word of Mouth bakery, however, on the second night stay housekeeping took our washclothes and didn't restock. We called housekeeping requseted for four, two for each guest and they only bought two. I gave the hotel average rating because of minor details I think could be resolved by a manager with an eye for detail, for example wall paper in the bedroom was starting to lift and sink fixutures tarnished. I thought the outside jacuzzi should have been available after 7pm and some tiles needed repair, however nothing crucial. I only mention these things becuase the hotel has an opportunity to be excellent not just good, for the rate$$$ We had dinner at the hotel french restaurant East End Brasserie , lamb for the gentlemen and mussels for me with mushroom risotto and sauteed brussel sprouts, absolutely DELISH!!!! would stay again but not at full price or spring break rate, would love a deep Florida resident discount all year.

Room Tip: ocean view and ocean front are different, also choose higher floors if oceanview or ocean front due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dLevy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Director of Front Office at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Dear DLevy87,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate getting feedback from our guests regardless if it is excellent or not as we strive to be the very best! I have passed on your concerns to the appropriate departments so that these issues can be addressed immediately.

It is great to hear that you had a great experience at our new restaurant East End Brasserie and hope you do visit us very soon! We do offer great Florida Residents specials, just check our website for any specials that may come up soon.

Best Regards,
Jennifer Urena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

My grandmother and I just stayed here for one night as we are locals from South Florida, but needed to have our own getaway and feel like we were on spring break. We were greeted by Pauline at the front desk who was very sweet and nice. We were even able to get an upgrade to an enormous and beautiful ocean front one bed room suite. The room was amazing and the master bathroom shower could fit 15 adults in there if need be it was so large. The pool was a bit tight, but beautiful and had a great view of the ocean from the fifth floor.

We both had massages and enjoyed time in the spa and steam room which were both very nice. I had a massage with Michelle who perfectly targeted my stress areas and spent amble time working on those areas.

Janete at the concierge later helped us and saved the day when we ran into a snag with happy hour drinks and the bar. She was so caring and helpful and made us feel really special.

We had dinner and breakfast at the East End Brasserie and sat outside across from the beach. We got to enjoy another breathtaking day at the pool in the sun and were served a nice lunch by a nice lady behind the bar.

We checked out with Jarvis who was nice and made sure our stay was great and even got to say thank you and hello again to Pauline and Janete who remembered us from the day before.

It was a quick two day, one night getaway but very relaxing and with beautiful accommodations and nice staff. We will definitely recommend the Atlantic Spa Resort and Spa.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room and sit on your balcony and enjoy the peaceful view of looking out onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loloc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Director of Front Office at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Dear Loloc5,

What a wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that Pauline, Janete, Jarvis and Michelle from the Spa made your stay amazingly memorable. They have been advised about your great getaway and how they made you feel like a superstar! We hope you come back for more pampering very soon.

Best Regards,
Jennifer Urena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is our fourth visit in about as many years. We choose the hotel as we are cruising out of Port Everglades and it is very convenient and reasonably priced.

It's also Spring Break which means that the shops and restaurants in the vicinity are somewhat more lively than they've been on previous occasions.

The hotel remains a good choice; its rooms are spacious and comfortable but ( and it's a small but) on this occasion we were allocated a disabled suite, which is less ideal for us for us, but it's a small gripe and we could have asked to me moved, but did not, do that's our fault. What was annoying was that we paid for an ocean view suite, which has the exact same side on ocean view that the city view suites we have had on previous occasions have had, meaning that we have no sun on the balcony. Not a big deal for us, but irritating for some, given the extra cost.

Less good ( having paid for an ocean view) is our room's location overlooking a side street- again, we could have asked to change but as we are here for 3 nights, decided not to do so.

The staff remain friendly, especially in the Brasserie, formerly known as Trina. The food is still reasonably priced for a hotel of this calibre and quite good. I like the equipped kitchen, free coffee in the lobby and, most of all, a new addition to the rooms, the use of an IPad type device and free Internet. When are other hotels going to realise that this can be a deciding factor if one has a choice of destination?

All in all, still a good choice. And don't visit FL without taking a tour by water taxi!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sambfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Director of Front Office at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Dear Sambfh,

We are glad to hear you came back to see us again! However, it is unfortunate that we did not hear from you regarding the room issue. We would have loved to accommodate you in a room that would be more pleasing and comfortable. It is great to hear that you were able to use our new Tablets in the rooms and that it was helpful during your stay. Please come back and see us soon!

Best Regards,
Jennifer Urena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at the Atlantic for 4 nights before going on a cruise and had a fantastic time! On check in, we unexpectedly were provided with vouchers - one for 2 free drinks in the East End Brasserie and the others for free continental breakfast each day of our stay (they actually allowed us to use the $15pp and put this towards any breakfast option which was amazing). This was a fantastic extra and saved us cash every day (as a party of 6 this saved us plenty!). The breakfast was really tasty and we probably tried most options on the menu!! ;-) also lovely beachside view and great for people watching. Staff were friendly and efficient. However one morning it was very busy and there some
delays but the customer service was excellent and how they dealt with us was lovely. First class! All staff are very efficient and helpful from Concierge to Valet staff who all helped us arrange transportation and travel to Sawgrass Mills and Hard Rock Resort at Seminole for a concert.

In terms of the actual hotel room, it was amazing! For a start it was huge... With a gorgeous balcony overlooking the pool and beach. Stunning views... The bathroom was fantastic and also massive, his/hers sinks, luxury deep bath and separate shower - even the toilet was in a separate small room! It was lovely and clean with bathrobes to use aswell.

The hotel is in a great location. We walked round to the Galleria mall one day and this wasn't too far away with a few local shops on the way for bottled water, etc. The hotel is at the top end of the main beach strip so a bit of a walk to other areas (enjoyable in 1 direction!) but relatively cheap for taxis - think it was about $10 to the Cheesecake Factory on Las Olas. It was also handy for Water Taxi. We got on at stop 3 - Seville St and then got back off after the circuit at stop 4/5 and walked back to the hotel. There are plenty bars and restaurants nearby and also nice little shops at Beach Place (which is also very noisy at nights during spring break! ;-) but fun to watch the buzz around Hooters and Fat Tuesdays!!

Overall the Atlantic was a fantastic resort and the unexpected extras of free breakfast was amazing! I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone but beware, it raises the bar on hotels and will leave you always expecting more!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LEHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Director of Front Office at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Dear LEHF,

Wow, what an amazing review! We are so happy to hear that we have exceeded your expectations while you were here. We hope you come back to see us very soon and that we can continue to raise that bar a bit higher!

Best Regards,
Jennifer Urena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,145 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,796 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#5 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,989 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,343 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor ...
#16 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Address: 601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $228 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Atlantic Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique property located on Fort Lauderdale Beach with panoramic ocean views and a focus on personalized service. Spacious rooms and luxury amenities make this property the perfect retreat for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atlantic Resort And Spa
The Atlantic Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing