We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice”
Review of Tranquilo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tranquilo
Ranked #49 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“An excellent choice”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I attended a five-day conference at the nearby B Ocean hotel, then spent two nights at Tranquilo for a visit with my parents (we shared one of the rooms that had a kitchen and two queen beds). I was extremely pleased with Tranquilo. The location was convenient and close to the beach; while there are a lot of vacant buildings in the area, I never felt at all unsafe. Even when people were playing in the pool, our room was quiet--I think the walls must be very thick. (We also ran the air conditioner pretty much constantly, so there was some white noise; I liked that it wasn't constantly switching itself on and off like the B Ocean system did.) The furnishings were all new, clean, modern, and very comfortable; we all liked the beds. We had a pleasant view of the pool on one side and of tropical vegetation on the other--the grounds were well kept and nicely landscaped. The pools were sparkling clean, and there were plenty of lounge chairs. Laundry machines were available, which would be really nice if you were there for a longer stay. There was ample parking. There was a large wardrobe and a tall dresser for storing things, and the kitchen had all the cookware we needed. The staff were EXTREMELY friendly, responsive, and helpful.

I only have a few suggestions:
*In the bathroom (which was stocked with pleasant soap and shampoo), it would be nice to have a shelf or something to set toiletries on--perhaps something by the sink and in the shower, too
*The hair dryer was kind of a pain to deal with.
*It might be good to put some kind of pads on the dining table chair feet to try to stop them from dragging/squeaking when they're moved; I was always worried we might be bothering the people below us.

I'm VERY glad we chose to stay at Tranquilo, and I'd definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: I liked having a room on the second floor, but the stairs were a bit steep--if that's a concern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squeakycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Squeakycats,
Thanks so much for your review. With modern decor, a great location and complimentary parking, Tranquilo is a great find. However, as you mentioned we pride ourselves in having a friendly staff. After all, our mission is to create an area where locals and visitors can find love and happiness, and we're so pleased that you found it at Tranquilo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    234
    59
    29
    18
See reviews for
184
294
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel was great! Everything is modern, up to date. The staff was great! They answered any questions we had and gave us a tip about the golf cart shuttle. I really liked that they walked us to our room and they made sure everything was good before leaving. The staff was so friendly, they greated you every morning and always asked how you were doing and if there was anything they could do for you. Very, very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is also one block off the beach! Very convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet. A/C works, nice kitchen, very, very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and didn't want to leave! Loved the staff and the decor and design of the hotel. Very quiet and peaceful and the beach was just two blocks away. I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen Renee h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very clean place. The service was amazing, Nice and friendly. Would definitely stay here again! Only issue I had was parking on Saturday night. Looks like there isn't enough spaces for the amount of rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakmb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a gem of a hotel! It's less than a 5 minute walk from the beach; right in the middle of plenty of nightlight and eating establishments. The rooms are gorgeous, modern, Ikea inspired design. The check-in and check-out process was a breeze and the hotel staff couldn't be friendlier. I'm still amazed at what a great value this hotel is. I'm definitely only booking this place next time I'm in Ft Lauderdale.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsc00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
dsc00,
Thanks for your nice review. North Beach Village Resort offers a variety of hotels so it's easy for guests to find their perfect place. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Ocean Gate and are really looking forward to your next visit! See you soon, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel was absolutely amazing. The room was modern, chic, and clean. The staff was so nice and friendly. The pools were heated and the location next to the beach and near Beach place (a popular area to go out in Fort Lauderdale) truly were unbeatable for such a reasonable price!
It was a great experience and I will definitely be staying here again!
I highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

this place has it all from the staff to the rooms. even though its not on the beach it is less then a 2 min walk. from the moment you walk into the office your vacation begins. kimberly checked us in and she had a great personality and was so wonderful. we stayed in a 1 bedroom queen room. these rooms are so clean sheek modern and fully stocked all the way down to dish soap in the kitchen. everyone is so attentive to you and really make you feel like a vip. we had only planned for one day and actually stayed for a second night cause we love it that much. the queen one bedroom is great. we had our 2 kids with us and it was perfect. there was a tv in the sitting area a tv in the space acroos the room and a tv in the bedroom. so much space and so freaking clean so impressive. when we stayed a second night the housekeeper was so kind she knocked on the door and saw there four guest and with out us asking she brought more towels soap rags etc. loved that. sunday morning the other lovely lady in the office sorry didnt get her name brought out drinks and frozen grapes and served them poolside. awesome. if you stay here you wonrt be disappointed. everyone one here takes care of you. wewill be back again this place is amazing. thank you kimberly and the other lady in the office who made our check in so pleasant. thank you to housekeeping for taking the time to bring us extra towels without being asked and thank you to the matience man who came to the recue.

Room Tip: every room is a good clean room no matter which one you choose you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
98 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#56 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
745 reviews
Winterset Hotel
#74 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,017 reviews
Beach Gardens
#68 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
243 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo

Property: Tranquilo
Address: 2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquilo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most everyone dreams of escaping to the tropics. Is it that we wish to let go of stress, feel warm and renewed? Do we desire to strengthen family bonds with laughter and eye-opening discoveries? Sunny Fort Lauderdale is legendary for fulfilling these universal instincts and known for inspirational beaches, chic shops, nightlife, kid-centric entertainment and cherished family locales like North Beach Village's highly rated boutique hotel - Tranquilo. Highly rated and low rates helps us create a remarkable value. Our nearness to sandy beaches you can walk to in 3-minutes and lush tranquil ambiance with soaring palms and heated turquoise pools is what helps us stand out. It's our concierge-like hospitality that's the essence of Tranquilo's mystique and success. Guests love picnicking on sun-kissed beaches, taking water taxis to watersport thrills, cool shops and hot nightlife, but appreciate coming back to Tranquilo - where our outstanding hospitality adds up to an affordable and memorable getaway!Tranquilo's 64-rooms are "modern with a sleek décor," stylishly refurbished with flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves. Wi-Fi and smiles are complimentary. Resort fees are forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gate Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Gate Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing