We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”
Review of Tranquilo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tranquilo
Ranked #52 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I were in Ft. Lauderdale for a friend's 40th birthday celebration this past weekend. My husband's birthday was in a week and we wanted to spend some time together just the two of us. My research online took me to Tranquilo and it looked great on Tripadvisor. I booked it and when we arrived we were met by Amanda at the door to the office. She was very friendly while making sure we had all the information we needed, She offered us a choice of two rooms based on our input. You can tell upon arrival that the property had been recently renovated. There are 2 beautiful pools with ample seating serving the 2 buildings that make up the property. Each building has two floors. We chose the top floor and were given a corner unit, the deluxe king studio.

As we walked in we were dazzled by the brightness of the room and the simple clean lines of the furnishings. The walls and furnishings are white except for a few accents. We loved the terrazzo floors! It felt as if we were the first ones to stay in the room, it was so clean and everything was new. There were 2 flat screen TVs, one in the living room area and one in front of the king size bed. The kitchenette had a small fridge/freezer, a 2 burner stovetop built into the cabinetry, microwave and sink, along with ample cupboard space. All kitchenware was provided. If you have ever been to IKEA you will recognize their stamp on the decor.

The beach is 2 short blocks away. We had dinner at Seasons 52 in the Galleria Mall which was a 5 minute drive away. There are numerous places to eat, drink and be merry along the beachfront.

Back inside our little hideaway we spent a relaxing evening and felt very safe. WiFi was sporadic so in the end we abandoned trying to get online. Things were very quiet. We even hung out outside our room for a while looking at the stars and just enjoying the Florida warmth. We both wish we could have stayed there a whole week as it really was what I had hoped for when I booked. It exceeded my expectations and we have already told our friends about it. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Sharon C,
Happy late birthday to your husband! Why don't you let us help you plan his next birthday? We can accommodate large parties or help with a romantic weekend for two. We can even do the catering! That way you never have to leave! Thanks again, see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 690 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just a block from the beach in Fort Lauderdale I found a most exquisite hotel. Completely remodeled with an Art Deco feel this place is great! The rooms are spacious and comfortable. And they are also exceptionally clean. Something I look for in the many hotels I stay in. Amanda, who was the girl who helped me out, was absolutely wonderful. She was friendly, overly helpful, and very accommodating to all of my needs. She really made me feel like I was home. Great personality, awfully cute and she does a great, great job! I really loved my stay here and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tdenkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I am from upstate NY and had to stay in Fort Lauderdale for one evening last week and ended up spending an amazing night at the Tranquilo. This is definitely not your typical chain hotel. From my initial greeting until check-out, it was fabulous. The pictures do no justice. The outside was clean and very serene. As soon as my sister and I opened the door to the room, we were in complete awe- we felt like movie stars. The room is NYC meets Miami. Sleek, classy, and 'Tranquilo'. I really cannot say enough about our stay. When we checked out, we were lucky enough to meet the owner who was extremely kind and hospitable. Last but not least, you are in a very short walking distance to the beach, shops, and restaurants. I will be coming back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahAudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I put "Hotel" in quotations marks because The Ocean Gate hotel runs more like a Extended Stay Room. (It is also the partner hotel to "Tranquilo" across the road, which is where you check in and out of)
The hotel does NOT offer breakfast or any kind of meals, it solely provides the room and daily room service. There is a pool, but the location of the pool was quite poorly planned, as it is at the center of the hotel. So that as soon as anyone walks out of their room they are looking out onto the pool. You can visit the sister hotel across the street an use their pool, which is in a more secluded location (better but not optimal as it's right by the road).

The service was excellent, Amanda checked me in and was very friendly and informative.
And the both the check in and check out process was done extremely quickly.

The room we stayed in was very well put together. We had 2 beds, a tv (with limited channels), a kitchen with a good amount of silverware, pots and pans, closet, and elegant bathroom. The beds were low and extremely comfortable, with white sheets and firm pillows.

The hotel is a five minute walk away from Fort Lauderdale Beach and you are within walking distance to many different restaurants.

The parking is limited when the hotel is full, but you are able to park across the street at their sister hotel, though while we were there that space was also limited.

If you're looking for a hotel full amenities, then the Ocean Gate is NOT for you. But we were looking for a hotel with a beautiful room (with kitchen), and that would be in nice area and in walking distance to different activities, if that is also what you are looking for then The Ocean Gate is the RIGHT hotel for you.

Room Tip: I'd choose a room on the second floor. The first floor rooms open up directly to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

David A,
Thanks for your review. North Beach Village Resort is able to offer guests the perfect hotel for their particular needs, and we are always implementing new items. We hope that we can offer continental breakfast in the near future. In the meantime, we do offer breakfast at a few of our nearby hotels, Royal Palms & Robindale. We are very happy to arrange for take out orders or even delivery. It's guest feedback like yours that helps us to improve. We appreciate your input and hope that you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff greeted us with fresh brewed tea and frozen grapes. We were showed to our room which was contemporary decorated all white and spotless. Loved the staff, hotel and ambiance. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ansh0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Went to Ft Lauderdale for a wedding and just needed a place to stay. It wasn’t a vacation or anything so I looked around for a "normal" hotel. I stumbled across Tranquilo while on this site and saw all the great reviews so I decided to book.
At first it seemed like an over glamorized “Motel” rather than a real Hotel so I came with zero expectation..I just wanted a bed to crash on. But from the moment I arrived I VERY pleasantly surprised. First of all the staff is awesome. Super friendly yet professional and they take the time to really make you feel welcomed. As I walked to my room I noticed the walk ways were spotless, the grass was healthy and green and the pools were pristine….all indicative of a well maintained facility.
Then we have the rooms….wow. They are huge (I got a deluxe studio) the décor is very modern and trendy yet warm and inviting. I was really impressed with everything so now I WANTED to find something wrong! Just to prove to myself that there is no such thing as too good to be true. I figured I’d find peeling wall paper, a dirty bathroom, malfunctioning AC…something! But nope, everything was on point.
One evening I needed an iron so I asked front desk for one. I was told they would get one “right away”. I figured this is when they would drop the ball. They would probably take forever or forget all together so I was sure I would have to make a second call. But 2 min later I get a knock on the door and there is a staff member with a wide smile and my iron. Best part is 5 min after that I get another knock and yet another staff member with another iron!
So yea, my stay was awesome. Not a single complaint. I recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for a great little spot in Ft Lauderdale….you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SOBe123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just can't believe some of the rave reviews this place gets, did we stop at the same place !
It would appear that this so called "Hotel" (more like serviced rooms) which when we stayed had no facilities for food not even breakfast, is part of a group of properties run by the same management in this area and has no independent reception, this is located at another hotel and no contact at all with management other than by telephone after 8pm.
It is clean (white - everything painted white!), small, modern (Ikea type furniture), in a very quiet area ten minutes walk to the beach and fifteen to some ok eateries.
Just about ok for our needs as we arrived late in the day and left crack of dawn two days later and where not in the room other than to sleep.
At $132 per night very expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank un0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

un0me,
Thanks for your feedback. You are correct, our village runs as one resort so some of our hotels do not have a reception desk. By doing this, we're able to provide some of the most competitive rates in the area. However, we do understand that this isn't for everyone so we do offer hotels with reception desks. Next time you visit, please let us help you find your perfect hotel. We know we can help and would love to have you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#27 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
105 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#60 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
755 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#32 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Winterset Hotel
#75 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
356 reviews
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#51 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
200 reviews
Beach Gardens
#70 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo

Address: 2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $117 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquilo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most everyone dreams of escaping to the tropics. Is it that we wish to let go of stress, feel warm and renewed? Do we desire to strengthen family bonds with laughter and eye-opening discoveries? Sunny Fort Lauderdale is legendary for fulfilling these universal instincts and known for inspirational beaches, chic shops, nightlife, kid-centric entertainment and cherished family locales like North Beach Village's highly rated boutique hotel - Tranquilo. Highly rated and low rates helps us create a remarkable value. Our nearness to sandy beaches you can walk to in 3-minutes and lush tranquil ambiance with soaring palms and heated turquoise pools is what helps us stand out. It's our concierge-like hospitality that's the essence of Tranquilo's mystique and success. Guests love picnicking on sun-kissed beaches, taking water taxis to watersport thrills, cool shops and hot nightlife, but appreciate coming back to Tranquilo - where our outstanding hospitality adds up to an affordable and memorable getaway!Tranquilo's 64-rooms are "modern with a sleek décor," stylishly refurbished with flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves. Wi-Fi and smiles are complimentary. Resort fees are forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gate Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Gate Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing