We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Clean, Stylish & Tranquil”
Review of Tranquilo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tranquilo
Ranked #44 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Modern, Clean, Stylish & Tranquil”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I recently attended a party at Tranquilo and I was quite impressed with the property. While the best aspects of the mid-century buildings were retained (human scaled two stories, terrazzo floors, large pool decks, clean building lines), the property was significantly and stylishly renovated. The room furniture, bedding, windows, pool deck and pool deck furniture are all new and well chosen. The style is simple modern design which complements the property.

Tranquilo is a great new option for people visiting Ft Lauderdale.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Billbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Billbr,
What a great review. Thanks so much. We wanted to preserve the historic architecture of the mid-century modern boutique hotel while still providing modern design and amenities. We're so pleased that you noticed and really appreciate your feedback. Even though you're a local, why not treat yourself and come stay with us sometime? Just let us know, you are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    231
    58
    25
    15
See reviews for
179
288
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had originally booked a room at Tropi Rock for spring break 2013. They were overbooked and moved us to Tranquilo, their brand new property just a couple blocks away. Boy, were we lucky girls! Our hotel room was gorgeous, newly renovated and we were directly in front of one of the pools. The beach was a two minute walk and the hotel was very luxurious. The staff were helpful and called us a shuttle when we left, as well as letting me back into our room after I had locked myself out. Our double bed room had a full kitchen and two flat screen tvs with cable. The beds were super nice and very comfortable. The only thing they could really add is maybe a grill and it would be nice if they had pamphlets for other attractions/restaurants/bars in the office. They did give us a pamphlet for the restaurant they own and one of the friendly office ladies said we could go grill at a different hotel a few blocks away. Overall, a very fantastic experience! I will definitely book again with this company.

Room Tip: 2 double beds have an efficiency kitchen with everything needed to make most meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cccook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
ccook,
Isn't is nice to be pleasantly surprised? We are so pleased that you enjoyed Tranquilo, the newest addition to the North Beach Village Collection. We really appreciate your suggestions and are adding items, like bicycle and iPad rentals, every day to make the experience even better. Oh and next time, you can definitely enjoy a nice steak on the grills that we are having installed! We are looking forward to spring break 2014, see you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My daughter was getting married at the Westin Ft. Lauderdale Beach. We needed to give our guests options of other hotels nearby. After reading the reviews and seeing the Ocean Gate for myself there was no doubt it was the best option ever. Amanda blocked out the whole hotel for our guests which consisted of mostly family, a big family reunion. It was absolutely wonderful. She was extremely accommodating and I appreciated it so much. The price was perfect including free parking and internet for our guests. The rooms were very clean and modern. Our families were able to hang out with each other outside and even barbecued on one occasion for lunch. We couldn't have picked a more perfect hotel and it was walking distance to the Westin where the wedding took place and other guests stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisepg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
denisepg,
Congratulations on your daughter's wedding! We're so pleased that we were able to be a part of it. Amanda and the rest of the staff truly care about the guests and always go above and beyond to make sure our guests are happy. Why not come back for her 1 year anniversary party? We'd be happy to have you! Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton, canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Ocean Gate hotel is a small, clean, nicely decorated and economical hotel. We had a 1 bedroom place & yes it was decorated with Ikea furnishings but it looked fresh & clean. WE had a flat screen TV in the bedroom & Another in the living room! It was a quick walk to the ocean and there were restaurants within walking distance. The chain that owns this place also has other hotels in the area, including one they were renovating across the street. Overall we were pleased with this place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenStAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
JenStAlbert,
Thanks so much for your review. You'll be happy to hear that Tranquilo, the hotel you mentioned, is now up and running. You'll have to check it out next time you visit! Thanks again for staying with us, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
242 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

No Drapes..lights keep you awake..only has mini blinds..all floors tile (noisy & cold) cheap IKEA type furniture (modern, chrome, formica, vinyl..really cheep sofa..very uncomfortable & no other sitting chair in condo like rooms)..wall air conditioner in Liv Room and small wall fan in wall to try to cool bedroom (cold in LR & warm in BR) none in bathroom and no exhaust fan in bath..watch your food ants come out of walls...cleaning service has minor problems when regular is not on...TV has limited channels, no movies available...water is YELLOW (something I didn't have in other hotels in area) Remember what the eskimos teach their children.don't eat the yelloe snow...outside grounds and pool are nice with plenty of parking....Remodeled old florida motel...OK for overnite for cruise or weekend I guess...I stayed in another one similar to this and have similar complaints...didn't know owner has 6 or 7 remodeled motels in area...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisAllentown_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
ChrisAllentown_Pa,
Thanks for your review. We have numerous properties in the North Beach Village. These include properties that cater to those long term stays you mentioned. Please give us a call next time you're in town. We know that we can help find your perfect fit! Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A small place two blocks from the beach, shops, eating etc. Very clean, very helpful staff, quiet, coffee and tea facilities, small fridge, microwave in ea room. Some rooms are for much longer terms with full kitchen. It has a small pool and nice garden, and bbq.

We stayed 4 days while waiting for a cruise and very much enjoyed it especially the fact that it was very clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mjøndalen
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Good and friendly service. Thats the best part. We stayed a three nighter prior to our cruise and wanted something not too expensive near the beach. Price was ok. The rooms were good enough, but was a bit worn down. A cheap paint job/good wash of the walls in the apartement would do wonders! A litle concern was the A/C. It produced at lot of humidity and the kitchen windows were dripping with water and was full of dew due to this. Not too healthy i recon. All in all a standard hotel, not worth the ranking at all! Next time we will choose a place more central and with better standard.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DagMj_ndalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,009 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#58 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
742 reviews
Winterset Hotel
#73 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
95 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
801 reviews
Beach Gardens
#66 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo

Property: Tranquilo
Address: 2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquilo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most everyone dreams of escaping to the tropics. Is it that we wish to let go of stress, feel warm and renewed? Do we desire to strengthen family bonds with laughter and eye-opening discoveries? Sunny Fort Lauderdale is legendary for fulfilling these universal instincts and known for inspirational beaches, chic shops, nightlife, kid-centric entertainment and cherished family locales like North Beach Village's highly rated boutique hotel - Tranquilo. Highly rated and low rates helps us create a remarkable value. Our nearness to sandy beaches you can walk to in 3-minutes and lush tranquil ambiance with soaring palms and heated turquoise pools is what helps us stand out. It's our concierge-like hospitality that's the essence of Tranquilo's mystique and success. Guests love picnicking on sun-kissed beaches, taking water taxis to watersport thrills, cool shops and hot nightlife, but appreciate coming back to Tranquilo - where our outstanding hospitality adds up to an affordable and memorable getaway!Tranquilo's 64-rooms are "modern with a sleek décor," stylishly refurbished with flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves. Wi-Fi and smiles are complimentary. Resort fees are forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gate Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Gate Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing