We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Tranquilo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tranquilo
Ranked #50 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Simple, clean, updated and wonderful friendly manager...and staff.
We enjoyed or 3 nights there, close to beach ( 3 blocks walking distance) free parking

If you are looking for something different than a big - large hotel... that's the place to go

Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 687 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Nothing to complain, very nice place, has got everything you need.
Beach is 5 min walking distance.
Forget South Beach, Fort Lauderdale beach is way more relaxed. And the restaurants are better!

Thats all i wish to say, but unfortunately Tripadvisor has somekind of new policy that a review has to have a minimum amount of words. So.....

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moos1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

0moos0,
Thanks for your review. We thought it was perfect; short, sweet and pro North Beach! Thanks so much for staying with us. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lost my purse at a near by restaurant, Peter did some heavy duty Barney Fife work and saved our entire trip from becoming a disaster. He called us at 1:00 in the morning and then offered to delivery my purse to our room. Room was great, restaurant was very attentive and Peter was just awesome. Went on to enjoy our cruise, had I not had my passport, my husband would have picked my up from the homeless shelter after his return from the ship. Thank you, Thank you! Peter.....

Room Tip: Very nice boutique hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Debbie W,
We're so happy that we were able to help resolve what was surely a nervewracking experience. Peter is awesome and always goes above and beyond for our guests, and that includes keeping our guests out of homeless shelters! Thanks so much for your kind review. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Pluses: We had a FULL KITCHEN. For us, this was the most important thing. Nice staff. Really clean rooms. Close to the main avenue A1A and all the restaurants. I believe parking on site was free

Minuses: Cheap, cheap, cheap furnishings. Bring a sleep mask since the blinds don't keep out light nor close all the way. But the price is so reasonable I can forgive that. The closest is located inside of the bathroom. I did have any problems with hanging my clothes in their, but the person I stayed with was really worried about the moisture possibly causing damage. Again, I didn't have any problems.

They offer rooms upstairs and downstairs (no elevator) so having a choice is good. Studios and 1 bedrooms. Small pool on property, but you also have a beach less than 3 blocks away. When I made my reservation, the person mentioned a view from my room, but she was mistaken. At any rate, I saw they started building another property across the street so they are expanding. This was a cool place to stay. If you forgot anything, I found a Walgreen's and a mall on Sunrise Blvd - only a 5 minute drive.

Supermarket choices: I am fine with a regular grocery store. Publix is about a 7 minute drive away right on Sunrise, If you prefer organic food (like the person I stayed with) there is a Whole Foods about 15 min away North on Federal hwy 1.

If you choose not to drive, be prepared to do some serious walking either to Sunrise or down to Las Olas to find other shops or restaurant choices. There is a bus (#11) but I'm not sure how often it runs Search the web for Broward County Transit for more info. There is also a water taxi for transportation up and down the beautiful intercoastal waterway

Room Tip: Remember what I said about the cheap blinds. Don't walk around with a towel or coverup. Anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cptravelmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

cptravelmaven,
It's always nice to hear from a local. Thanks so much for your review. Located directly across the street, Tranquilo is the newest member in our collection of boutique hotels. As you mentioned, we are expanding. Just think, even more to love in North Beach Village! We hope that you can come visit us again soon and enjoy another cool experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is obviously an old motel from the 60s or so that has been updated with modern furnishings and fresh paint. It was clean and nice and the staff was friendly. The location is OK. It's only a couple of blocks from the beach and you can walk to some other restaurants, though at night it might be a tad uncomfortable if you're alone. Overall, I would definitely be back. I can't imagine how all the white paint and white furniture will hold up, but if they keep it well-maintained, this place is a great value. The only negative is lack of outlets! I had to re-arranged the furniture to plug in my cell phone! But, that's minor and doesn't detract from the stay. My biggest compliment is that it is clean! I had a grimy hotel, and this isn't!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

AJT5,
Thanks very much for your review. We're always trying to improve and really appreciate your feedback. We hope that you'll come visit us again soon. When you do, you should check our new cafe, The Village Cafe. Guests can grab breakfast on their way to the beach, or enjoy a cool beverage after a day in the relaxing FL sun! Thanks again, NBV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Cozy hotel just two blocks from the beach. The staff was wonderful and always ready to help. Very trendy decor and extremely clean. Quite evenings sitting by the pool. Enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marryinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Marryinky,
Thanks so much for your review, and we appreciate you recommending the Ocean Gate to your friends! Let us know if you all plan a trip together. We can put together a special package to accommodate large parties! Thanks for staying with us, hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at The Ocean Gate in mid-December 2012 with my girlfriend. It was our first time in Ft. Lauderdale. While it resembles more of a motel compared to the several high-rise, glitzier hotels nearby along the beach, this place served its purpose in offering a comfortble, affordable and pleasant stay. The rooms were very large and had a condo feel to it with a full-service kitchen, dining area and closet space. It seemed like it would be great for a family with kids or larger group who are looking to save money by not eating out every meal. The property is about a block from the ocean, which can be seen from the front of the hotel. I didn't use the pool, but it was right in front of where the rooms are. It seemed to be in good condition. The staff was very accommodating in helping set up transportation and giving information on the area. One thing to know is that the Hotel office closes after a certain time ( I think it was 9pm), so if checking in late, you are directed to go to the Aqua Hotel a few blocks south to get checked-in at the Ocean Gate. After checking-in, a staff member drove us back to the Ocean Gate which was a nice customer service move. The hotel is somewhat far to walk to the main area of dining and bars along the beach but cabs were inexpensive for this time of year and they seemed to be available without much of a hassle. There is an area closeby in which to grab food and drinks to the north on the other side of the Gardens that had several bars and restaurants adjacent to each other. The Ocean Gate met our expectations as a comfortable and basic place (no frills) in which to use as a base to explore the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianT90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Brian T90,
We'd love to be your home base whenever you are in Fort Lauderdale! Thanks very much for your detailed review. We hope that you can visit us again soon. Take care, NBV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Winterset Hotel
#75 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
354 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#25 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
103 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#60 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,031 reviews
Beach Gardens
#69 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
248 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo

Address: 2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $102 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquilo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most everyone dreams of escaping to the tropics. Is it that we wish to let go of stress, feel warm and renewed? Do we desire to strengthen family bonds with laughter and eye-opening discoveries? Sunny Fort Lauderdale is legendary for fulfilling these universal instincts and known for inspirational beaches, chic shops, nightlife, kid-centric entertainment and cherished family locales like North Beach Village's highly rated boutique hotel - Tranquilo. Highly rated and low rates helps us create a remarkable value. Our nearness to sandy beaches you can walk to in 3-minutes and lush tranquil ambiance with soaring palms and heated turquoise pools is what helps us stand out. It's our concierge-like hospitality that's the essence of Tranquilo's mystique and success. Guests love picnicking on sun-kissed beaches, taking water taxis to watersport thrills, cool shops and hot nightlife, but appreciate coming back to Tranquilo - where our outstanding hospitality adds up to an affordable and memorable getaway!Tranquilo's 64-rooms are "modern with a sleek décor," stylishly refurbished with flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves. Wi-Fi and smiles are complimentary. Resort fees are forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gate Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Gate Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing