We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot for close to beach and lower price”
Review of Beach Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Gardens
Ranked #66 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good spot for close to beach and lower price”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Booked this hotel for a night before and after our cruise. As a previous poster mentioned, if you are expecting high class don't book here. The rooms were clean. They allowed us to stow our luggage and change clothes since we arrived before the rooms were ready. Our most frustrating thing was that we had booked one room for 4 people. When we finally got to our room after an afternoon walking the beach, we had a room with a king bed and a pull out couch. We inquired and were told they did not have a room with 2 queens available. Since we didn't have another option we stayed. When we went to take showers, we realized we only had towels for 2 people. We called and they said they would bring more towels. After we received the towels, we went to make the pull out bed and realized we didn't have any bedding. So, another call and another wait. They delivered the bedding while we were out having dinner and when we returned there were sheets, 2 pillows, 1 pillow case and no blanket. Sorry, another call for a blanket. Even though they knew we were going to have 4 people, they were not prepared. Oh, and when we returned from dinner, the room next to us had the curtains open, and lights on and obviously empty. Guess what! 2 queen beds. Thinking the people would be in later, we were anxious to see what the morning brought. Still empty and 2 queen beds unused. Aggravating. If you book a room for 4, make sure your reservation states 2 queen beds!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandtaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
bandtaxi,
Thanks for your feedback. We have a variety of room types and can accommodate up to 6 guests in some of the rooms, so we're very sorry that you were not given the room with 2 queen beds. Please give us a call next time you visit and let us make it up to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    79
    37
    12
    13
See reviews for
49
104
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laurence Harbor, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for a week in early May and were very happy with our choice. Looks like it was recently renovated, looks good with simple, clean modern furnishings. Small micro & fridge were a nice additions to the room. Shower was a good size, clean, very good pressure-nice towels & had plenty. Bed was comfy. But the room is bright in the morning-no room darkeners, just blinds. We were 400 building in back, very pretty with flowers all around, somewhat quiet. We did request an upper floor, we got the bottom floor. We only heard upstairs neighbors with heavy feet one early morning............no other noise issues. Don't really understand the wifi issues, I'm not on vacation to stare at my computer..............it worked fine when I occasionally used it, nothing to get upset over.
Location is good if you are a walker, the fact that the hotel is a few blocks away from the beach keeps the cost reasonable. We didn't get a car & didn't need one-restaurants, bars & the beach were easily walkable. Not really a convenient store that close, wonder why not, with all these hotels so close they would make a killing. There is a CVS at Beach Place that sells everything, but when you are lugging a case of water,beer or coke it's far (we had the taxi stop on the way here)
The staff was nice, manager Kimberly was very helpful..............and Jazzman was super nice & friendly. Would return!!

Room Tip: The 400 building in back is quiet, try to get a upper room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJBeachbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
NJBeachbaby,
Your username makes us think that you vacationed in the perfect spot! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay. You had a great suggestion on the convenient store. This is something that we're working on now, and we hope that it'll be open upon your next visit. Just think, then you'll never even have to leave the Village! Thanks so much for your review, take care. NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We booked this hotel based on reviews and its price of course...
We arrived next day we were supposed to check in as our flight was cancelled.. And they were very understanding.. They moved us to another building called " the roof " because our room wasn't available.. And it was for the best ..That's when we knew that " beach gardens" and many other buildings belongs to " north beach village ".
The roof building was ok ... The room was newly renovated... We liked it alot , spacious, has everything, microwave, fridge, new cultery, oven, coffee maker, toaster, table for two, lcd , plates, glasses, shampoo, soap, mouth wash, dishwashing liquid.... Two nice rocking blue chairs..
We asked online for a crib, and it was there even when we arrived late, we found it.
The internet connection was very slow and bad, you can get up early and use it.. It will be fine.
We had no room service, i don't no why ?! They told us it was a mistake though we hanged the mark" plz service " on our door everyday... We just needed a clean floor for our baby, that's what matters to us
No hook at the bathroom ?
Nothing to hang on your wet cloth.
Door key wasn't working all the time
Free parking, just tell them to give you a parking pass and reserve you a spot..
Location is good, a walking distance to the beach... U can even walk to street " las olas ", many restaurants there.. You can take the sun trolley to see the whole town, will take you many places, check its website. it's 1 $ for one way or 3$ for the whole day.. Nice ride
Many plazas you will find, grab a bite at " fort lauderdale grill ".. Great one
At the morning, you can go jogging or walking ... It's awesome, quite and relaxing at the main boulevard... Weekends, you can join yoga time at the beach
you can rent a car , that's what we did... We drove to miami (30-45 min away) south beach ..
Don't regret our stay at all... Nice hotel and nice people welcomed us and helped us ..
Wouldn't mind staying there again in a renovated room :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
N R,
Thanks very much for your review. We're sorry that you had some trouble with your flight and room but are happy that we were able to resolve it for you. Please give us a call next time you visit and let us help you find that perfect (renovated) room! Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for several nights as the last leg of our trip.The location is nice,the rooms are spacious and nicely decorated.Staff was friendly.Unfortunately the walls are pretty thin-you can hear every word uttered next to you or above you.Housekeeping seemed to work rather superficial-one day we haven't had any toiletpaper,on the floor and in the corner of the bathroom you could see dust,sand,hair (and neither of us has long dark hair!).The Pool could be better maintained (a lot
of leafs)The Wifi Connection was bad-it broke down every other minute.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rootbeer-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Rootbeer-girl,
While we always strive for excellence, we really do appreciate your feedback. Our guests are very important to us, and guest feedback is the best way for us to improve. We know that we could do better, and we hope that you'll visit us again soon so we can show you! Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you like high class this place is not for you. If you want a nice clean place close to the beach this is it. I agree with the people that said the walls were thin but we did not have any problems. Only complaint: People were smoking by the pool and flicking the ashes where ever. We are non smokers.
Parking was free and all staff were very helpful. WE had paper work that said to check in around the corner. This was old info. You check in at 533 Orton Ave.
I would stay again and would recomend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken9949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
ken9949,
Thanks so much for you informative review. You're absolutely right, Beach Gardens is a great place for guests who want a clean, casual hotel in a peaceful environment. We hope that you do stay with us again, we'd love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I needed to find a place to stay for 9 people and three rooms. After asking on the forum for advice and being directed to North Beach Village I choose Beach Gardens. It was a good choice. We arrived after 9pm and called the number located on the building to have someone get us checked in. Within five minutes the night guy showed up, checked us in, and showed us to our rooms. It was very efficient.
The three rooms were a king suite, a single queen, and a double queen. We really like the design of the sooms and how crisp and clean they were. I personally didn't find the rooms to be loud and slept great each night. The double queen could use a mirror outside of the bathroom as well to help with getting ready. The beds and pillows were comfy and housekeeping did a great job.
We started each morning with a variety of breakfast food at one of the tables around the pool. It's such a relaxed feeling with the trees surrounding the pool that you forget about the buildings nearby.
We did the 3 block walk to the beach each day. It wasn't a bad walk, but it is a solid three blocks.
I would definitely stay here again without hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smurf2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
smurf2001,
We think you made a good choice too! Thanks so much for staying at Beach Gardens. The great thing about North Beach Village is that we have a room for every taste, budget and party size. We can accommodate a lone business traveler or a party of 50 for a family reunion! We appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights . VERY clean and spacious but as others have mentioned the walls and floors are not well insulated so it is loud. If you are a light sleeper this might not be the best place for you. I wore ear plugs every night. It is 3 blocks off the main drag but still a reasonable walking distance to everything. If you don't like to walk at all you probably don't want to stay here. Staff were VERY friendly and pool area was nice. A couple of eating suggestions: 1) Primanti Brothers for awesome pizza! When you hit the main drag turn left. Check them out on trip advisor for more information. 2) Cafe Del Mar for breakfast under $10 with big portions, good food and nice view. Turn right when you hit the main drag. It is a bit of a walk down the strip but well worth it for breakfast.

Room tip: Second floor is probably a bit quieter but we had the room above the office so had we been in our room during the day it would have been very annoying to hear the office door banging closed all day long until 8PM.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Winterset Hotel
#72 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
352 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#57 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
742 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
167 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
95 reviews
Central Beach
Seville Hotel & Apartments
Seville Hotel & Apartments
#45 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Gardens

Property: Beach Gardens
Address: 533 Orton Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4004 (Formerly windamar beach club)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacationing in Florida is a sunny idea but choosing the right hotel that's in a dazzling locale, ideal for families and a really spectacular deal makes all the difference! North Beach Village's prized Beach Gardens Fort Lauderdale boutique hotel is an extraordinary value for a resort nestled in the heart of Fort Lauderdale Beach's barrier island between the Venetian-like Intracoastal Waterway and miles of legendary tropical beaches. Rediscover happiness in our pool and rejuvenate with yoga in our garden. Or stroll just five minutes to our sandy shores for a memory-making family picnic, sun soaking, or heart thumping watersports. We never charge resort fees or for Wi-Fi, coffee or towel use! Still not convinced you should stay at the Beach Gardens Hotel? Imagine this: you've come back from a long day of sunbathing, sightseeing, and selfie-taking. Naturally you need to re-energize for your night out on Las Olas Boulevard with your family, friends, or significant other. You round the corner and you see Beach Gardens Hotel in all its incandescent glory. You can't believe you got such a good deal for such great quality. You step past breathtakingly vibrant magenta bougainvillea through the hotel gate and head upstairs to your room which overlooks the picturesque pool surrounded by sunning chairs and lush greenery. You lose yourself in a trance and forget where you are. Let us remind you. You are staying at the Beach Garden Hotel. We undersell and over deliver and that is ultimately reflected in our modest rates, the quality and spotlessness of our rooms and our proximity to sun-kissed seashores, beach shops, restaurants, nightlife and family fun! Most of all, it's our concierge-like hospitality that delights and inspires guests to return to Beach Gardens. Book today and save today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Beach Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windamar Beach Villas Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing