We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Cyclists, Skaters ... and Beach Parking”

Hugh Taylor Birch State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.54*
and up
90 Minute Segway Tour - Hugh Taylor Birch State Park
More Info
$27.67*
and up
30 Minute City Segway Experience
More Info
$48.18*
and up
Fort Lauderdale Segway Tours and Rentals
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Smack in the middle of the city is this 180-acre park, which offers a respite from city life with picnicking, camping, swimming and canoeing and a chance to tour the home of the generous man who donated his lovely estate to Florida.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Place for Cyclists, Skaters ... and Beach Parking”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This park is very near my home, so I usually visit it 1-3 times per week. This park really has a feel of old beach scrub and hammock Florida (particularly the hiking trails that lead off from the parking lots and roads). If you are a cyclist or skater, this park is particularly good: there is a paved loop road beginning at the entrance gate, looping north with high trees on both sides, then a slight downhill curve to take you south along the intracoastal waterfront side of the park, then back to the gatehouse. The loop is exactly 2 miles around. Cars drive slowly in the park and the surface is smoothly paved, so it is a desirable condition for safe skating -- certainly much safer than being outside the park on the crowded city streets and roads with fast, distracted drivers. There are also picnic tables throughout the park (with outdoor barbeque grills scattered about). Another plus is that the park is right across the street from the beach (the Fort Lauderdale North Beach area), so there is much parking in the park (and very little parking along A1A outside the park).

TIP: The best deal, if you plan to visit more than 10 times in year, is buy an annual pass. If you buy it at the beginning of a month, it is actually good for 13 months as expiration dates are simply an entire month (example: Buy on August 1, 2014 and it will be valid through August 31, 2015).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    267
    79
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“nice place to stop with beach access”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had some time to kill waiting for a late flight in Ft. Lauderdale.
Nice place to stop...a quiet park in the city. I was looking to go to the beach and this park is across the street (N. Atlantic Blvd.) from the beach at one area. There is washroom with change facility. No shower. Place to buy pop etc... You can also rent kayak, canoe, Segway. It looks like the park would be used by locals for picnicking, hiking, biking. I'll repeat, nice setting. Bring something to eat and drink, sit under the shade of a tree and relax in the city. As you travel around the park one area borders on of the many Fort Lauderdale canals. $6 to get in with the car. Will go again if I find myself in the same situation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank nic6318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, IL
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Park. Kayaking was limited”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We went to the park with the intention of kayaking on their lake as we aren't very experienced. The staff was very nice and the kayaking gear was in good condition. The lake was very shallow and there were lilly pads everywhere. Under many lilly pads are spiders, so be brave or maybe this isn't the place for you. It only took 20 minutes to paddle through the lilly pads to the other end (40 minute full trip). All in all I'd go elsewhere to kayak. The park is a great place to walk, bike and picnic though. You can even picnic right on the intracoastal waterway, and there's a stop on the Water Taxi to allow you to do that.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ElmhurstGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Park opened at 8AM. (We heard about this thru the water taxi.)
We entered in a car (3 of us) for $6.00...which was good for the entire day. Parked, then walked around.
There were butterflies, iguana's, plant life...and views. Oh my; the views.
At 10 we rented bikes for an hour. It was such fun. One of the bikes had a flat tire. We returned it...and asked if they had any tandem bikes. They did.
Such a fun day...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SueW5555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Watch out for the Cyclist!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had time to kill before leaving Fort Lauderdale and decided to come here to stretch our legs. It was a pleasant walk around the grounds watching boats going by on the waterway and we spotted a racoon and tortoises. The one minor downside was a cyclist in full lycra gear using the roadway as his own personal cycling circuit and whizzing past every couple of minutes making everyone get out of his way. There's a 15mph speed limit in the park and he must have been breaking it regularly on his thoughtless training runs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SnowyywonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugh Taylor Birch State Park also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Hugh Taylor Birch State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing