We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Family picnic area with old-town charm"”

Hugh Taylor Birch State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.54*
and up
90 Minute Segway Tour - Hugh Taylor Birch State Park
More Info
$27.67*
and up
30 Minute City Segway Experience
More Info
$48.18*
and up
Fort Lauderdale Segway Tours and Rentals
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Smack in the middle of the city is this 180-acre park, which offers a respite from city life with picnicking, camping, swimming and canoeing and a chance to tour the home of the generous man who donated his lovely estate to Florida.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Cherokee, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“"Family picnic area with old-town charm"”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Pack a picnic and spend the day roaming among the old pines, seagrape trees, historical old oaks and even a tunnel to the beach directly across from the snack bar at this well known beach side family park. Take a drive along the intercoastal waterway on the west side of the park to view old town charm.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank wolf19752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    267
    79
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland Park; Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Original property owners....open to the public”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This is a Public park now, but in the past ..this house and property was all there was...for miles. The Birch family lived here for many years.. Their house still exists. The land is now has biking, walking and hiking trails, it is off the scenic inter-coastal, you have access to bbq, tables and you can rent pavillions. also easy access to the beach.

The closest neighbor ~in the day~ was acoss Sunrise blvd to the south --where you will find the Bonnet House Museum and Gardens.. a little more private ..also worth a visit.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyKMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice small park”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The park offers bike, inline skate,kayak, canoe and segway rentals by the hour. The park is on a 2 mile loop road making it easy to find you way around. There are many picnic areas and the back of the park is adjacent to the inter coastal waterway, allowing you to sit and watch the boats go by.
Entry is $6 per vehicle for the day. Rental prices vary.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank luvtravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“For a short bike ride or hour+ walk”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

get a glimpse of Florida "au natural". Native trees and shrubs, spiders (big) and butterflies. Canal water front, beach access,

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank HermanTheGerman-inTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to hike or take a Segway tour.”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

With restless teenagers and a half day to kill before a scheduled cruise, my husband and I took our 14 and 17 y/o daughters to the park. We were most interested in the segway tours since my teens hate to walk or hike, especially if its hot and humid. We were quite pleased that our 14 y/o was allowed to ride. (Most places I have done segway rental limit the riding age to over 16, some over 18.) The rental shop (bikes, canoes, segways, etc) even had smaller segways for younger children! The instruction of segway use for inexperienced riders does not cut into the tour time and my girls caught on quickly. We took a 1.5 hour tour that cost $100 per person and was well worth the money! My husband and girls did not care anything about the "historic/geographic" tour information so they stayed in the back of the line, enjoying just the segway ride through the park and the ice cream stop. I hung in the front and loved the tour info. Our young guide was very accomodating to our family's desires and expectations. He was pleasant, informative and made our tour quite memorable. We saw several racoons and a gopher turtle. We even got to see some of the celebrities homes that live along the intercostal waterway. The park was not busy on the Friday we visited and would be enjoyed mostly by people that are nature-lovers. The rental shop had beverages and snacks available. The cost to enter the park is $2 per person or $5 per car load.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank HalfMarathonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugh Taylor Birch State Park also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Hugh Taylor Birch State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing