We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Vibe, Good Food, Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Plaza Bistro

The Plaza Bistro
Ranked #188 of 1,326 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N Birch Rd
Description: Welcome to The Plaza Bistro, conveniently located on the corner of Breakers Avenue and Belmar Street. Set in the heart of North Beach Village, the Plaza Bistro offers a wide selection of American cuisine; including an international fusion from salads to pasta dishes, brick oven flatbreads and desserts. The Bistro has successfully paired imaginative food and wine with caring hospitality, comfortable surroundings and exceptional value.With outstanding dining under the stars, seasonal ingredients, an emerging beach side location and a mission to support the local community, The Plaza Bistro has changed the restaurant landscape in the North Beach Area. Dinner service hours: Sun-Thur from 5pm - 10pm, Fri & Sat from 5pm - 11pm.
Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Cool Vibe, Good Food, Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had another very enjoyable evening at the Plaza Bistro. It is an outdoor restaurant with pizzazz. There is a rather chic lounge section with low white seating and cocktail tables. The dining section has normal height dining tables, market umbrellas and gas torches. There is plenty of greenery around and the view is of the sky and a remarkable 80ft tall mid-century neon sign (The sign is on the Birch Tower.) We sat in the lounge area and enjoyed a bottle of wine. We were so comfortable that when it came time for our meals we decided to remain where we were. We had perfectly prepared burgers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Billbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaBistroAdmin, General Manager at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Billbr,

Truly remarkable to know that you have visited us before and that your experience was pleasant. Your description of our setting, service, and food could not be any better. THANK YOU! We try and accommodate any type of guest that dine with us.

We must agree with you, the view provided at our restaurant is like none other! Burgers...yummy!

Once again, thank you and we hope you visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    85
    31
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely and great service! I wil come back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Food was delicious, the atmosphere was very nice, and the service was the best! the manager was very friendly and making sure each table was doing ok, which I found very nice! you don't see that everywhere.....
Beautiful place to an outdoors dinner, very refreshing..I would defintely go back without a doubt!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaBistroAdmin, General Manager at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
M C,

What a great review! Thank you! Your kind words are extremely appreciated. It is such a great feeling to know that your experience with us was without a doubt, great!

Our managerial staff is always available and they do a great job of ensuring everyone at our restaurant leaves with a great dining experience.

We definitely can't wait for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went there for New Years Eve and had a great time. This was our first time at The Plaza Bistro and we will return any time we are in Ft. Lauderdale. Food was fantastic and the service was great. A much needed restaurant for this area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nix-n-atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaBistroAdmin, General Manager at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
HAPPY NEW YEAR! We had a great time with you and everyone else that attended our event. We await your return with anticipation!

Stay tuned for upcoming events and other venues opening in our area!

Thank you for the kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We dined at the bistro a few nights ago and loved it! Unique concept with the entire restaurant outside and the kitchen in a truck. Food was delicious, especially the Caribbean Shrimp. Great happy hour special with half price bottles of wine. Our waiter, Orlando, was very friendly. Already recommended to friends who visit the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaBistroAdmin, General Manager at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dorie S,

We love you and thank you for sharing your experience with us and many others! The Caribbean Shrimp is Orlando's personal favorite on our menu. Glad to know that it was recommended and best of all that you enjoyed it! We agree with you, Orlando is friendly.

We really appreciate you recommending us to your friends. Can't wait to meet them and can't wait to have you back!

THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
“Ruined our new year's eve!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Came here the night of Dec 30 and everythng seemed to be great, from the ambiance, the service and the food. Except it was a little windy but its ok. Decided to return for the new year's eve dinner and it was a total disaster. They have a set menu and we were expecting quick qnd nice service, but no. They took them 2 hrs to bring a very simple ceasar salad. We are getting ready to leave as we cannot wait any longer for our main course, they asked us to wait for 5 minutes as they claimed they were plating our food now.

The food arrived at last about 11:30ish. My chicken is not that great and it was very tough to eat. And our plate are missing the veggies.

They apologized many times and they said we don't have to pay anything. We saw a couple of unhappy customers who left the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur Canada P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaBistroAdmin, General Manager at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Arthur Canada P,

We truly apologize for the bad experience you had on New Year's Eve. As you note, your experience the day before was totally different. Truth is, we had such a great turn out that we under staffed. No excuse will make your evening better; however, we truly hope that you give us another chance and dine with us again.

This was our first big event and rest assured that we learned from all of our mistakes. We strive every day to become better and your review will surely help us in reaching our goal of hosting big events and being well prepared for them.

Once again, we are so sorry!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plaza Bistro also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to The Plaza Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing