We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale Dining - uh? a Food Truck?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plaza Bistro

The Plaza Bistro
Ranked #177 of 1,320 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N Birch Rd
Description: Welcome to The Plaza Bistro, conveniently located on the corner of Breakers Avenue and Belmar Street. Set in the heart of North Beach Village, the Plaza Bistro offers a wide selection of American cuisine; including an international fusion from salads to pasta dishes, brick oven flatbreads and desserts. The Bistro has successfully paired imaginative food and wine with caring hospitality, comfortable surroundings and exceptional value.With outstanding dining under the stars, seasonal ingredients, an emerging beach side location and a mission to support the local community, The Plaza Bistro has changed the restaurant landscape in the North Beach Area. Dinner service hours: Sun-Thur from 5pm - 10pm, Fri & Sat from 5pm - 11pm.
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Upscale Dining - uh? a Food Truck?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Staying at the Atlantic, went to PB based on TA reviews. All outdoor dining and lounge. Amazing personal service. Feels elegant. NIce wine list, and some fun menu choices. Had Hanger Steak a Pasta Dish... delicious and great value. And yes, behind the large hedge you would never really know that the source of this wonderful meal is a (BIG) food truck. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mikebran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
mikebran,
You're right, it's pretty remarkable the the Plaza Bistro is able to provide 5 star full service dining from a humble food truck! It just proves that quality beats quantity. Thanks so much for your review, we always appreciate guest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    85
    31
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

In our two week holiday, we went about 6 or 7 times to the plaza bistro. The food is delicious and not expensive. (if you are there between 5 and 7pm, there is a happy hour and you will get several drinks and food half a prize). Their customer service is great, you feel very welcome. They also give you good advice if you don't know what to choose. There is also the possibility after your dinner to have a drink at the lounge. We loved it here. (a special thanks to Franz, Juan, Kat, Orlando & Philip to give us this great experience)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NLCarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
NLCarmen,
We love that you loved it here! Thank you so much for choosing The Plaza Bistro, we really appreciate it. Franz, Juan, Kat, Orlando & Phillip (and the rest of the NBV team) will make sure to take care of you whenever your are in town! Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Örebro, Örebro Län, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great value place with really great genuine pizzas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice and friendly staff and great value food, tilted towards italian and mediterranian food. Yummy starters and superb pizza.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Stefan K,
Thanks so much for the 5 star review. You're right, our specially designed brick oven and amazing chefs deliver flawless pizza's everytime! The menu offers a variety of items for every taste and budget, making The Plaza Bistro the perfect place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t5r9t5r9
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Something Different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had two meals at the Plaza Bistro and were very pleased both times. They have a good selection of beer and wine, but.... because it's an outside establishment the beer tends to warm up pretty fast. Maybe those insulated cozie's (not sure of the spelling) would help. The menu has some unique selections. The staff are very friendly and knowledgable. There was a nice breeze both nights we were there, but they have fans spread around also.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank radprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
radprez,
Your review title was perfect, The Plaza Bistro is something different. It's a refreshing change to the sometimes monotonous food choices in the area. Thanks so much for visiting us, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pet friendly, attentive service, and fantastic atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We are staying at the hotel next door and have passed by several nights and been intrigued. We love the outdoor concept. We started with calamari, then I had duck confit ravioli and my fiancé had hanger steak, and we finished with chocolate cake. The food is quality, and the service is fantastic. We especially appreciate our dog being welcome to sit by our table in the dining area. A manager offered him water as soon as he saw us come in. I'm not sure if we'll make it back during our remaining couple days here, but we'll be back the next time we're in town. Thanks so much for a great experience!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenFromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
LaurenFromMD,
We welcome all members of the family, even the 4 legged ones! We plan on adding more outdoor areas, including a wine bar, and hope that you will come back again soon to see everything! Thanks for your review, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plaza Bistro also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to The Plaza Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing