We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food with excellent service...”
Review of The Plaza Bistro - CLOSED

The Plaza Bistro
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N Birch Rd
Description: Welcome to The Plaza Bistro, conveniently located on the corner of Breakers Avenue and Belmar Street. Set in the heart of North Beach Village, the Plaza Bistro offers a wide selection of American cuisine; including an international fusion from salads to pasta dishes, brick oven flatbreads and desserts. The Bistro has successfully paired imaginative food and wine with caring hospitality, comfortable surroundings and exceptional value.With outstanding dining under the stars, seasonal ingredients, an emerging beach side location and a mission to support the local community, The Plaza Bistro has changed the restaurant landscape in the North Beach Area. Dinner service hours: Sun-Thur from 5pm - 10pm, Fri & Sat from 5pm - 11pm.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food with excellent service...”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I ate at The Plaza Bistro frequently during my weeklong stay at The Royal Palms as the resort is right across the restaurant. The food is delicious and the service is extremely friendly and attentive. Even when you order a typical item, they have managed to modify the flavor just perfectly such that you feel like you are tasting it for the first time. I tried the duck-filled pasta, hanger steak, ahi tuna, crab sandwich, apple pie, creme-brulee cheesecake, and Grand Marnier and Lemoncello gelato. The highlight of my visit, though, was a recommendation by the manager to try triple chocolate cake with port wine. I enjoyed the pairing immensely. As a downside, I came back to Pittsburgh three pounds heavier. :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mfy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
mfy77,
Thanks so much for your review. We're so happy you noticed how unique The Plaza Bistro really is. The amazing food and personalized service set this cafe apart from the others....and makes those 3 pounds worth it! See you soon, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    85
    31
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and top notch service”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

What a unique place they have invented. Food was great and the service was outstanding. Outdoor seating made the experience so relaxing. Waiter knew the menu and wine list well. Manager stopped by to check on our dinner and made us feel quite at home. I will be back and plan on recommending this little treasure to all my friends.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PS33160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
PS33160,
Thanks for your great review. The top-notch service, amazing food and relaxing atmosphere make this al fresco restaurant, like you said, truly unique. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food! Great Service!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Wonderful experience! Service was attentive, food was delicious! Started with a Tuna Ceviche, full of favor, with an intriguing twist. Had a Balsamic Ceaser that was great, but its hard to mess that up. For entree had a Hanger Steak with Roasted Potatoes and Asparagus, it had a Raspberry Butter that blended perfect the the dish. Finished with a Creme Brûlée Cheesecake which I greatly enjoyed. Philip Lafond(Manager) greeted us and insured every step of the meal was up to expectations. Wonderful meal and great experience! I'll be back and recommend this spot to anyone that enjoys seafood and steak and a nice ambiance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilCase587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
lilCase587,
Thanks for your review. You pretty much summed it up, if you like great food and a nice ambiance, the Plaza Bistro is the place to be! Serving gourmet food without the stuffy atmosphere is a welcome change to Ft. Lauderdale. We really appreciate your patronage and are looking forward to many future dining experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederikssund, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Strange place, good food”
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

This place is quite original and cool, being placed on a tennis court just behind the big hotels on North Beach. Big, white lounge furnitures mixed with ordinary tables and a big partly open kitchen.
The crab sandwhich is really good. It comes with some sort of apple coleslaw, and the sour apple goes perfectly along with the salty crab. Actually the cook should mix the apple and crab before serving.
Had three different pizzas all of a very high standard. The freshly grounded cheese on top adds a little extra. So did the Cesar Salad with a tasty chicken.
For some reason they serve soft drinks from the botle which I prefer, cause they are better than the "drawed" ones.
Service: Very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Morten A,
Thanks for noticing our original outdoor cafe. It's the only true al fresco restaurant in the area. The location is so perfect, just a block from the beach, the food is delicious and the staff genuinely love what they do. You can't fail with that combination! Thanks so much for your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good morning !! We know your in Spain now! Yeah!!!! We stopped in for our fine dinning experience !”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We enjoyed your fine dinning experience . We live around the corner on Birch and have walked by many times with out stoping in , but we had a birthday to celebrate and didn't want to go far after work and then we throught of you ! The service was beyond great and the whole staff where out-going and fun!!!!!! I enjoyed the Mahi Mahi and my husband had the Hanger steak and we....enjoyed it so much lol The Atmosphere was enjoyable and fun to be out side it reminded me of being in Antibes in France and in Malaga Spain in one of the plazas. The balmy Ocean air the tiki torches the glowing candle light made the Evening !!!! The prices are very reasonable . I don't understand why anyone would say it was over priced we had 2 appetizers 2 dinners a diet coke and 2 desserts and our bill was 47.00 For our pleasure and fine dinning experiences with quality it was a drop in the old bucket !!! Everyone has there own idea s of what works for them and ya just never know ??????...... You might be surprised to find a great place just around the corner in the ole neighbourhood Thank you Plazabistro.......

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Minda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Minda D,
We're so pleased that The Plaza Bistro brought back fond memories. Just because you're a local it doesn't mean you can't have a dining experience that makes you feel like you're on vacation! Thanks so much for stopping by. We'd be glad to help out with dinner on a busy work night. We happily prepare to-go orders!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plaza Bistro also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing