We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't let first impressions put you off” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Lauderdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropicana Motel
Ranked #87 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't let first impressions put you off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

After reading many other reviews here of this motel, we were happy to book for an overnight. We had the same thoughts as others when we drove up to it - dodgy-looking area and iffy-looking motel. But don't let first impressions put you off. It's a little dated, has got a small 2-storey main building by the road, and a few other smaller units with rooms further back. Car parking is well off the road and fine. The room was clean, maybe smelt a little musty when entering, but it wasn't unpleasant at all. Air worked, shower was strong & hot, coffee percolator & coffee were excellent, and TV was fine. The bed was very comfy although the pillows were pretty huge; if you like thinner pillows, you may want to ask or bring your own, although we didn't as it was too late before we noticed.

Friendly and helpful manager, and the rate was the best we could find ($54). So it's like the title says!

Room Tip: If you're super-sensitive to traffic noise, request one of the rooms away from the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
6
45
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Benitachell
Level Contributor
201 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We arrived here at 2 in the afternoon and found the motel nicely situated off a main road, Chuck, manager/owner greeted us in a very friendly way and showed us to our room which was in the main building on the second floor. Smallish room clean well equipped, with microwave and fridge.
The room was quiet despite the closeness of the busy main road. There is a supermarket and coffee shop across the road.
Very pleasant although the bathroom could do with re tiling.
Good value for the money.

Room Tip: Get in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed here for a week and loved it. The owner manages it and makes his customers feel like they're his personal guests. The rooms were quaint, Tommy-Bahamas style (authentically, not contrived). I stayed in the front section, 2nd floor (quainter, but smaller rooms) and the back (much larger but less quaint). The rooms come with refrigerators and microwaves, and there are many nearby restaurants (Las Olas is four blocks away) and grocery stores (Winn Dixie is across the street and Fresh Market is two blocks away).

Room Tip: If you don't mind a small room, the Front 2nd Floor rooms are the quaintest. The back of the mot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We arrived at 11pm and the manager/owner had stayed up for us at this retro motel. The room was updated, comfortable, and very clean. Across the highway is a Winn-Dixie where we bought breakfast fixings to have on the motel's patio with coffee from the room's coffee maker. If you're going to the cruise docks, you can catch the bus that goes to the central terminal where you change for another bus that goes near the docks. Just turn right from the motel and you will see the bus stop a few feet away. By calling the phone number on the bus sign, you can get all the information you need from a real person.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 001362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We arrived at the Tropicana around 9:30 PM, and the taxi driver was a little hesitant about the area and not sure exactly where to find the Tropicana. Less than $20 from the airport. Then we found it and Chuck popped out of the small office and said he was expecting us. Showed us our room and suggested that he book a taxi for us that evening for 10:30 the next morning to get to the cruise port as it is always so busy. Room was very clean, bed comfortable, and the air conditioner worked very well. We slept well, went to the supermarket about a block away across the street for a breakfast sandwich, and then waited for our taxi. Area is a little rundown but quiet and people on the street were nice. Taxi arrived on time and delivered to cruise port for less than $20. Exactly what we wanted and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterandtherese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

we stayed here for one night. booking a room spontaneously was no problem. the motel is rather close to downtown ft lauderdale. the rooms got that old school flair, but everything is clean and things don't look run-down at all. only thing: the shower curtain had some mold stains. apart from that: spotless! we were really impressed by the bed - i considered it the most comfortable motel/hotel bed i've stayed in so far! they even had pink flamingoes in the frontyard - the flair was right. wi-fi was free and worked rather well. to top the whole thing off, after checking out we asked the owner if we could come back later in the day to have a shower after heading to the beach - it was no problem at all, we could come back and shower without a charge! the place is a gem in the heart of fort lauderdale - i'd definitely stay again!

Room Tip: we had room #3 and there was nothing wrong with it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank illbetrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Old skool motel, very clean. Great location , opposite restaurants. 20 min slow walk to las Olas blvd. bathroom built for midgets?! Free wifi. Awesome stay! Lovely owner chuck. They even have plastic pink flamingoes!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kfogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Down...
#35 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Riverside Hotel
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Central Beach
Seville Hotel & Apartments
Seville Hotel & Apartments
#47 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Venezia
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
#84 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Crown Inn Fort Lauderdale
#97 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Motel

Property: Tropicana Motel
Address: 711 N Federal Hwy, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing