We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty ice cream and caramel corn”

Yo Mama's Ice Cream
Ranked #5 of 40 Dessert in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bloomfield, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty ice cream and caramel corn”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great selection of ice cream and caramel corn. Family of 4, and each of us had a different flavor and we all enjoyed. The chocolate caramel corn is a unique treat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HoosierRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee F, Owner at Yo Mama's Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hoosier Red,

Yes our Chocolate caramel popcorn is a special treat! Thank you for the great review. I hope you had a great time in the Fort lauderdale area!

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    66
    18
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty Good.”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We liked it, but we're used to Italian Gelato. Lots of flavours and you can add your own candy toppings (if your into that stuff).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carm Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee F, Owner at Yo Mama's Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Carm Z,

Sorry about not having Gelato....Glad you stopped in and hope your vacation was wonderful.

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, New York
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome Ice Cream!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We found this little gem on the walk we took one night. The ice cream was delicious. You have to make a stop if there. You will love it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mlinnas62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee F, Owner at Yo Mama's Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Linnas48,

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate the wonderful review.

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“How AWESOME is this place???”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Wow – talk about excellent ice cream! The flavors were rich, deep, and obviously very fresh. Is it possible that I have a new favorite ice cream parlor? Quite possibly yes.

The concept is similar to the self-service fro-yo places that have cropped up on every corner, only you don’t scoop your own (they do it for you, but ask you how much you want), and it’s high-quality ice cream instead of yogurt. They’ll load up your dish with as much as you’d like, either from one flavor or a combination of your choosing, then you can add extra toppings such as fruit, nuts, candy, cookies, hot fudge, etc. They’ll even add fresh homemade whipped cream to the top if you choose.

Just keep in mind that all of this goodness adds up. At the current rate of $ .64 cents per ounce, my dish of ice cream & goodies came out to almost $9.00 in the end. Still, it was totally worth it. Try the peanut butter ice cream, or the combo chocolate with M&Ms & brownies. You’ll be hooked.

The shop also makes fresh caramel corn – you can smell it down the block – and they’ll gladly give you a little sample when you come in. Normally I’m not much of a caramel corn fan, but I thought theirs was really very good.

The staff was very friendly and patient with us first-timers, and offered taste samples of any of the dozen or so flavors they had that day.

It’s a shame that Yo Mama isn’t closer to my home – but in some ways it’s a blessing. If they were closer I’d probably be there every day, until I couldn’t fit through the door any longer. Do yourself a favor and be sure to stop in and try their delicious ice cream. You won’t regret it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cidbliq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee F, Owner at Yo Mama's Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hello Cidbliq,

I wish we had a shop in Nebraska as well!!

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. I am so happy that you enjoyed our store while you were in town on vacation. Hope to see you again.


Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

You can smell the caramelized popcorn a block away. Ice cream flavors are delicious and unique. price is reasonable for the serving size which is large. you also have the option to put your own toppings on your cone/dish and to get larger sizes. Walking distance to beach and North Beach area hotels. We went for the first time this week and will go again before we leave.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyerInMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee F, Owner at Yo Mama's Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hello Flyerinmin,

Thank you for stopping in to see us. We are glad you enjoyed our Ice cream and POPS CORN.

All the best!

lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yo Mama's Ice Cream also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Yo Mama's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing