We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
Ranked #107 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
buffalo ny
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had booked the Ramada Cruise Port Hotel in Ft. Lauderdale as an overnight stay before our cruise in January. When we arrived at the Ramada, we were told that they were overbooked, and asked if we would consider shuttling over to the Red Carpet Inn to stay in a room that would be totally paid for by Ramada. We quickly agreed to this $150 savings, and the Ramada bought us a drink at the bar while we waited a few minutes for the shuttle. The Red Carpet turned out to be a very nice, and clean place for a 1-night stay. Unfortunately, the night we were there, the restaurant at the motel was having a problem with their credit card machine and could only accept cash, but it was a two minute walk to a neighboring motel with a decent restaurant and store. The only complaint I have about the Red Carpet was that we waited in line for an hour for the free shuttle to the cruise port. P.S. No coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank librarynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    178
    244
    136
    256
See reviews for
195
292
110
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just needed a room for one night and knew the only thing we would be doing was sleeping and showering. After reading other reviews I was expecting the worst, but was pleasantly surprised. The room has tile floor, so no dirty carpeting to deal with. The sink area looked newly remodeled, but the shower/toilet area was definitely not newer. That being said, it was very clean, even if it was old. The bed was comfortable; firm, but that's our preference. My only complaint would the the noisy wall AC unit, which didn't really work all that well to keep the room cool. We had it set as low as the temp as it would go and on high and the room wasn't by cool. Fortunately we were there on a cooler Lauderdale night, I wouldn't want to experience that on a summer's night.

Room Tip: We were in the building closest to State Route 84, but on the back side of it. I'm guessing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank scubabunny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The $20 difference between this hotel and our other option was NOT worth it. We took a shuttle from the Miami Port to the airport and then as instructed, called the hotel for pickup. After an hour of waiting (5 persons), numerous shone calls during which the Front Desk person kept answering with "Front Desk, hold on", we finally decided to get a cab. A very helpful valet got a van for us so we wouldn't have to pay for two cabs. When we got to the hotel, there was only one staff member on duty - no wonder he had to ask us to 'hold on'. After all that, the room had an air/heat system that sounded like a jet taking off with a few extra rattles as well, and we had to listen to the transport trucks just outside. Dirt from the pet ducks all over the walkway tool. All in all a very unpleasant experience. Do NOT stay here.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gandalf974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked this Hotel thru Expedia, recommended by Delta Travel Dept. Outside was NOT clean, entrance was NOT as pictured on the internet, NOR were the rooms.! My Husband had to "hip push" the door open. Old, old motel. Room was clean, with no coffee pot or microwave. Was NOT as pictured on the internet. We didnot stay here. Would NOT recommend it. Linda H. - Montana

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked this through hotwire as a hotel in the airport (hotwire tricked us and gave us impression that hotel is within airport but it was 5-6 miles away outside the airport). When we landed in the hotel (quick night stay & early morning flight), we were little worried by outside looks of the hotel. It was kind of dark and not properly lighted and thought we ended up in a cheap motel. However, room was super clean with new furniture & flat screen tv). Bed was comfortable & bathroom clean (at lease the room I stayed in was, 3rd floor). So, I would rate it as 3.5 stars for the room and 2 stars for outside looks. so, I would recommend only for short stays.

Room Tip: Don't know if all rooms are renovated but make sure you check and get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desi_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked this hotel through a third party booking and so I contacted this hotel personally to ensure they would indeed shuttle us from FLL to Miami to meet our ship the next day.

i was instructed to call the hotel upon arrival for pick up at the airport. After a few hours they finally took us to the hotel. The shuttle driver informed us that we would NOT be getting shuttled to Miami and that we were the 10th person that day to be told. Since we had a late arriving flight I was stuck searching for cars to transport the group of us to Miami the next morning. It was a long night.

I found the hotel staff was rude on the phone when we arrived as well as at check in. When I approached the desk to resolve the shuttle issue they refused to assist me in any way.

We had 2 rooms and had to be moved because the air conditioner was broken in one of the rooms. In the morning we tried to sit outside on the picnic tables but were accosted by a flock of ducks that are pets there i and run free.

I would never stay at this hotel again and I recommend you dont either! It is called the hospitality industry for a reason. They know nothing about it. These were the unhappiest group of people i have ever met. NOT the way I want to start a vacation ever again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedCarpet2008, Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are sorry for your experience. As we advertise, we only shuttle guests to and from Fort Lauderdale Airport and Port Everglades cruise port between 6 AM and 10 PM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Called for shuttle at Cruise Port for pick up then dispite 2 calls to Red Carpet waited for pick up for almost 2 hrs. Twice empty vans went by and didn't stop to pick up us at our terminal. Room looked clean but in the morning we woke up with tiny bites clustered all over our bodies. Hotel employees said they found no sign of beg bugs but we both had red, itchy welts all over our bodies. Manager suggested we got the bites on board the cruise ship. College bowl games were on and no other openings in other lodgings so we couldn't move to another location. Red Carpet would only change our room and would offer no refund for first night stay. After several confrontations with Manager he said he would refund the one night through expidia. As yet haven't seen it on my account. Manager was rude. Next morning had to call cab as Red Carpet shuttle wasn't available until 6:00 am. Cab fare is flat rate and not cheap. Noisy with transport trucks moving all night. Avoid this location

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolsh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedCarpet2008, Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We apologize for your experience at our property. As we advertise, we only offer shuttle service between the hours of 6 AM and 10 PM. The airport is very strict on pick up policy and guests must be at the hotel shuttle pickup area for us to pick up the guest. If you saw the shuttles pass by a few times, that would mean that the driver was probably looking for you and you were not at the designated area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#61 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/C...
#70 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#28 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Universal Palms Hotel
Universal Palms Hotel
#81 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Ai...
#37 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#74 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Property: Red Carpet Inn
Address: 2460 State Rd. 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Red Carpet Inn Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing