We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot spot!”
Review of TAP 42

TAP 42
Ranked #24 of 1,331 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tap42, Pouring the best beer in Fort Lauderdale. 50 Craft Beers on tap, 1 Rotating Cask Ale, 42 Premium Rotating Bourbons, a HUGE rotating large format craft bottled beer list, Hand-Crafted Cocktails and great food. Follow us! Instagram: Tap42ftl Facebook: tap42bar Twitter: tap42bar Tap42 SPECIALS & PROMOTIONS: Every Monday: $5 Prohibition Burgers w/ Fries! Between 4pm-11pm come out and enjoy our famous Prohibition or Falafel Veggie Burger for $5, with the purchase of any beverage. Wednesdays: Ladies Night! Ladies Drink Free every Wednesday from 7pm-9pm Saturdays & Sundays: Brunch at Tap42. Enjoy Bottomless Mimosas & Bloody Marys for $15 from 11am-3pm! Happy Hour $3 off Monday-Friday from 4pm-7pm
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hot spot!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Went to Tap 42 while visiting a friend in the hospital. Loved it! Great food, great drinks, great crowd! Will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank fllfunguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    181
    46
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Such a welcome addition to the area. The menu is simple- good burgers and sandwiches and a diverse selection of unique beers. I love the outside seating- very relaxed. Friendly and helpful staff. Inside seating is nice- but very noisy. I went for brunch for the first time last weekend- great menu selections but anticipate a long wait as its become very popular. Same goes for Monday night $5 burgers- get there early or you will be waiting a long time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFLMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place to hangout with a beer and a bite to eat”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

First visit here and it wont be the last. The atmosphere was great and the staff makes you feel welcomed. Went on a Saturday night which was crowded but didn't have to wait long for service at the bar (although the table did take awhile which was understandable). The bartender and waitress were helpful in making choices from the 50 beers they have on tap. The pricing is a little bit high but not more then most places close by on Los Olas. Once we were seated the waitress was right over and very attentive. She made some recommendations for the food and some beers to go with it. Everyone in the group had burgers and they were all great. The spinach dip we started with was above average and close to great. The sweet potato fries are a must.

Might not be the cheapest place for a beer but well worth the little extra for the great selection and service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aray213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Was wondering how busy a place would be on Andrews Ave on a Saturday afternoon in Ft Lauderdale during spring break. Arrived to a good vibe. The atmosphere was pleasant, sitting outside. The food and the beers were both great. Service was very friendly. Very happy to have stopped by and was able to have something more than just the average bar food and beer that is generally available. A nice change. Definitely a bit of a higher-end atmosphere and very enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank tropicscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
185 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Greasy and overpriced”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Not sure what others are experiencing here except maybe the patrons and reviewers have low standards or are feeling the vibe of a few craft brews while authoring their contributions. We had lunch inside in mid February. The beers were $6 to $7 each which seems like a lot more than I pay for high quality craft beers at many other places. Plus, the choices we made for beer (which were confirmed by our waitress as very high quality), were bland and uninspiring. Maybe trying to offer 40+ really distinctive and worthy beers on tap is not realistic. We were encouraged to order our lunch choices as they were local favorites, but our veggie burger was mushie and our fish and chips were soft and greasy. This may be the best that Fort Lauderdale has to offer for a hip beer joint, but I personally we don't plan to return if we're back in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irreverent-in-Cleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TAP 42 also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to TAP 42? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing