We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant one night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.
Ranked #35 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pgh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant one night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Room not ready upon arrival so we walked a few blocks to Riverwatch. Received call on cell phone that we could check in. Appreciated the free parking but really required close attention using the narrow winding entrance to park. Security precautions were evident in the use of key to use elevator and guard outside of hotel.
All areas of the hotel were clean and well maintained. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. The only thing lacking was electrical outlets. No place to plug in charger or hair dryer except in the bathroom. The breakfast area was nicely laid out with the standard breakfast options. We especially like the choice of a robust coffee. For an in city, short term stay we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bett19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGM-CutyCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Greetings from Fort Lauderdale!

I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay! My staff takes pride in going above and beyond and making you feel like you’re at home and special to us.... We love having you here! Having the time to walk just a few short blocks to The riverfront and trendy Las Olas is always a delight and a pleasant way to relax, take photo's and take in all that Fort Lauderdale has to offer!

Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Sunny South Florida!

Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    343
    197
    70
    36
See reviews for
289
341
107
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Stayed at this hotel 1 night pre cruise with a group. Not in a good area - fed the homeless across the street in the parking lot on Saturday night. We had a purse snatched from a woman on the steps at the main entrance to the hotel. Hotel had no security. ed Wait15 minutes for police to show (they did seem to catch the guy). Choose a hotel in a safer location.

Also it has no restaurant, and closes one is several blocks away.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AbbyStLouis_Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGM-CutyCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank-You for your comments and feedback... I appreciate the time you took to comment. Being in a downtown market the good comes with the bad. We have a great location in the heart of downtown. Close to all the restaurants, shopping and trendy Las Olas! Convenient to the cruise port as well - Please note that the numerous comments below that state how wonderful the property is and how the hotel is safe... I hope the remainder of your vacation went well and hope to see you on your next trip to Sunny South Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

Myself and 3 friends stayed one night before our cruise. We took a very short cab ride from the airport to the hotel. The cost was about $20.00. The location of the hotel was perfect only a couple of blocks from walgreens and CVS. We were able to walk and pick up a few last minute items before going to the ship.
The room was clean and spacious. The four of us had plenty of room for all of our luggage.

The free breakfast was great with several choices.
The shuttle service to the cruise port was free for the first 2 guest and $7.00/ additional guest. Please remember to sit up shuttle service when you check in because the shuttles fill up quickly.

We felt vey safe at this hotel, even during the day, you swiped your card to enter and leave the hotel. I will stay here anytime, I am in the area for a brief stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnaaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, February 20, 2011
Hello from Sunny South Florida!!

Thank-You so very much for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review on your experience at the Hampton Inn Downtown Fort Lauderdale! The hotel is located just four miles from the Fort Lauderdale airport which makes it a short taxi ride ... We do offer a shuttle to the cruise Port to assist in assist you our guest in starting your cruise vacation off in a relaxing fashion... Thats our goal! To make certain you have great service and a memorable stay!

Thanks for choosing the Hampton Inn Downtown Fort Lauderdale!

Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

Initially, my girlfriend and I decided to come to Ft. Lauderdale for a private getaway for the both of us. This is our review of what we encountered while here at the Hampton Inn- Downtown-City Center, located on North Andrews Avenue. * Cleanliness is always an issue, but, here at this hotel, it has never been an issue. It really speaks volumes about this hotel's staff and management as we have never had to worry about cleanliness here, our room was immaculate. The service we recieved was unprecedented, in that Miss Kelly Matera and her staff gave us the feeling that we were comfortable, and at home.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randiscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

We spent one night at this hotel in order to catch a flight the next morning. The hotel is convenient to the airport and a short drive to the beaches. If you are hoping to spend a lot of time at the beach, you may want to look at hotels that are walking distance to the waterfront area. The hotel does have a nice pool area, and offers free parking in a secure garage. The only downsides are that the hotel hallways and rooms felt a little dated compared to newer Hampton Inns (such as the new Hampton Inn in Homestead/Miami South), and the housekeeping staff didn't do as good of a job cleaning the room as I have experience at other Hampton Inns. This hotel recently started offering a nice complimentary late afternoon happy hour and snacks in the breakfast area, although not sure which days.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, February 20, 2011
Greeting from South Florida,

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful visit to the Hampton Inn Downtown Fort Lauderdale! We are located right in the heart of downtown which makes it easy for travelers to stroll to trendy Las Olas to shop or choose one of the amazing resturants... take a walk by the water from and the perefct location to stay the night before your cruise! You are correct ... We did just begin a Managers reception in the evenings... Just a little something to Thank our guests for choosing us! This is offered Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 7:00pm ... Hope to see you on your next trip to Fort Lauderdale,

Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

This hotel and all of its staff was incredible, it was beautiful, comfortable and very accomidating. A wonderful lady in particular, Kelley M..., shoot I know there are two kelley's, ths one that recently transferred from Asheville was wonderful. We were a big group and a celebrating group at that, (which is my nice way of saying we are fun but could be mistaken as a pain in the you know what) and she bent over backwards for us to make sure we had everything we needed or desired. Thank you so much Kelley! I left your card in my fiance's wallet and unfortunatley we live in different towns, sorry about the spelling and not knowing your last name. Thank you thank you thank you! Even IF the rest was bad, which it wasn't, I would come back to this hotel just for her!
Mo

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoBetta331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, January 21, 2011
I am delighted that you returned to the hotel from 2009... As you noticed the hotel has made wonderful changes to both the hotel in it's standards as well as the staff! I appreciate the time you took to comment on the hotel and my outstanding Assistant GM! I look forward to seeing you all on your next PreJam Cruise get-a-way!

Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

I travel a lot and stay at a variety of hotels. The Hampton Inn Downtown stood above the rest. It was a very convenient location for downtown, easy to get to the port and airport, and really comfortable. Most places have the usual amenities: tv, cable, internet, fridge, microwave, etc etc but the hospitality and very professional staff were magnificent. The free happy hour was a great surprise and the cordial and able staff and pleasant interior design all contributed to a wonderful stay. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone traveling to Fort Lauderdale, whether for a quick in and out while going on a cruise or staying for an extended business stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MigoSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Our mission is to WOW each and every guest! Having a polished professional staff that will attend to your every need is perfect for both corporate travel as well as Leisure. Our newest addition of the manager’s reception has added a little bit of flare that offers our guest time to mingle with other guests and the managers. Thank-You for taking the time to review our property and I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale City Center!

Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.

Property: Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.
Address: 250 North Andrews Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-1015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#25 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamically located in the heart of Fort Lauderdale exciting downtown district, easy access to Las Olas shopping and entertainment district, Port Everglades, Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood Int'l Airport and beaches. We feature 156 appointed guestrooms featuring FREE HIGH-SPEED internet access, FREE HOT BREAKFAST, FREE local calls, FREE parking w/gated & covered parking available, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, 2 telephones w/voice mail, TV w/extended cable, business center, outdoor pool/whirlpool, exercise room, convenience store, coin laundry, hospitality suite, and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Downtown - City Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hampton Inn City Center
Fort Lauderdale Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing