We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Cruise for 2 Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bangor County Down
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pre Cruise for 2 Nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights pre cruise aware from previous reviews that the location was perhaps not the best. It certainly is a few blocks off the beaten track and late night walks maybe best avoided. Perfectly good for walking to dinner at some great places a few blocks away.
Rooms are looking a little tired as are the corridors but it did the job at a fair rate.
Breakfast is what you expect at a Hampton Inn and it adds greatly to the value. A recent innovation is a cocktail bar near the breakfast bar which we valued greatly!
The free shuttle to the cruise dock was good but bear in mind it may go to other hotels - despite what they say at the desk. Beware of buying returns to the airport for that shuttle from the cruise port - it was chaotic there and they had no system in place. We had to persuade a van driver after a long wait outside to take us to the airport along with another couple.
Will use this place again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangotangocharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Greeting from Sunny South Florida!

Thank-You for taking the time to share your experience with us ... I am thrilled you chose the Hampton Inn Downtown for your pre-cruise hotel. We are located right in the heart of downtown Fort Lauderdale - As with any downtown location there are more colorful spots then others - We are located just a short walk to Trendy Las Olas with over 40 restaurants and trendy boutique shopping. Everything a trip to Fort Lauderdale would want and all just a short walk or a $5.0 taxi ride.

I do look forward to seeing you when you visit from beautiful Maine again in the future!

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    346
    199
    73
    38
See reviews for
293
346
108
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on 12/19/12, the night before departing for our cruise. It is located about 10-15 minutes from the Ft. Lauderdale Hollywood Airport, which the taxi ride was about $20. We got a great price on Hotels.com. They offer free internet service, a great hot breakfast in the morning and free shuttle service over to the cruise terminal. The room was very clean and comfortable. When we returned from our cruise, we stayed again on 12/30/12. We had rented a car this time and was very pleased to see that they had a secured parking garage that required a room card to enter. We were able to (free) park on the 4th floor where our room was located and it was nice and convenient. Word of caution, drive very slowly in the garage, especially if you have a larger size car! Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again... We also had dinner at a great steakhouse called Timbano's Italian Chophouse down Las Olas Blvd, which wasn't far at all from the hotel...it is pricy though! Ask the front desk for a map of the area and it has a list of restaurants on the back. I believe this restaurant gives a 15% discount (any day except Sunday...which of course is when we were there!). All of the individuals that worked at the front desk and in the food area were all very friendly and managed the place well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMAICALUVRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello from Fort Lauderdale!

I appreciate the time you took to share your experience. I am always excited to read that a guest had a wonderful time and excellent experience! We are in a premier location for cruise business and we are just a stone throw away from Port Everglades and offer a complimentary shuttle to Port Everglades allowing ease and comfort to our guests. As for our parking garage - Larger vehicles we always try and save the downstairs spaces for SUV's and Trucks just for the convenience... I will re-iterate this to my Front Desk staff to ensure this message is conveyed at check-in!

Thank-You for the warm thoughts! Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Sunny South Florida!

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our travel agent booked us into this hotel for the night before a cruise. Everyone was very nice from the person at the front desk to the two ladies in the bar area. We arrived late due to a delayed flight and opted to have a drink in the bar and some of the food options available. I ordered the Caesar salad and it was HUGE! Hubby ordered the shrimp tacos and said if there had been 1 more it would have been perfect. Breakfast the next morning was pretty good too: omelets with cheese, sausage, bagels, waffles, fruit, yogurt, lots of choices.

There was free wi-fi available and they offer transfers to Port Everglades included in the room price. I do wish there had been a shuttle from the airport, but the taxi ride wasn't too bad.

Depending on our reason for being in Fort Lauderdale, we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugbandit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Greeting from Sunny Fort Lauderdale,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to experience our Brand New Bar and 2nd Floor Lobby area. I have given your comments some thought and agree that a third Shrimp Taco would be a great addition! Having the option to relax and have a drink as well as food options at the hotel give our guests more options ( which at the end of the day is what it’s all about = making the guests happy! ).

Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fort Lauderdale!

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We came in from Key West, before returning home. The hotel was really clean, friendly staff & the room was very nice. Taking medication I need a fridge & freezer(Ice packs) they had it all. Parking was also a plus! Very secure! Thanks so much!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathiandrepont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hello from Sunny South Florida!


Thank-You for your warm comments and positive outlook on our property! We do have a great location just steps away from Trendy Las Olas and the Riverfront. As you noticed we have added a bar with food options allowing for guests to relax and enjoy all that Fort Lauderdale has to offer without the hustle and bustle.

Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fort Lauderdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I really don't have much to say about the hotel. I only stayed one night, and here's what I thought. It was easy to find. The staff was very friendly and more than willing to assist in any way. Parking is limited, but I enjoyed the fact that it required a key to get in to it. I did not like having to use a key to get to the room, but I understand why they do it. They do not offer room service, but will provide menus to local restaurants that deliver.

Other than that, I had a pleasant stay, and wouldn't mind staying here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Xavien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Sending you warm wishes from Sunny South Florida,


Thank-You for taking time to write a review and share your experience. We do offer key access to the parking garage and elevator landings as this provides a little more peace and quiet when we have sports teams staying on-site. We have a great location and a fantastic staff that goes above and beyond to ensure your stay is personalized.

Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Sunny South Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
192 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights hotel is great service is the best I have seen in a while. The assistant Manager checked me in and explained the area she was helpful. Everyone I came in contact with was given to hospitality. I loved that the pool was isolated and the breakfast area overlooked. One thing was the price of a drink in the bar. More than ten dollars is excessive. Overall great and I will return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Greetings from Fort Lauderdale!

I appreciate the time you took to review our hotel ... We do have a great staff and my AGM is one of the best! We just added the bar with food options that allows the guests to relax a little prior to hitting the town or turning in for the night ... We do strive to make each guests experience a memorable one!

Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Sunny South Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
369 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Typical Hampton Inn near Las Olas Blvd in Fort Lauderdale. Problem is parking is a pain and getting to room is a pain. Requires key to get in garage (Parking is limited and narrow spaces)and then key to get in building and then a key to get to your room on elevator.

It's clean and staff was nice but I don't want to hassle with parking and elevator every time I come in an out. I like the location but in the future I'll find a property with less hassle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Greetings from Sunny South Florida -


Thank-You for taking the time to write a review and share your experience - At the Hampton Inn Downtown Fort Lauderdale we pride ourselves on outstanding service and exquisitely clean rooms and hotel. As for our key access, this is actually a benefit to our guests. This allows access to our secured parking garage as well as our guest floors to allow for the "concierge floor feel ". With the added amenities ( full bar with food options as well as new mattresses, new second floor lobby and a fantastic staff - I hope to see you on your next trip to Fort Lauderdale! )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#28 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.

Property: Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.
Address: 250 North Andrews Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-1015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#25 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamically located in the heart of Fort Lauderdale exciting downtown district, easy access to Las Olas shopping and entertainment district, Port Everglades, Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood Int'l Airport and beaches. We feature 156 appointed guestrooms featuring FREE HIGH-SPEED internet access, FREE HOT BREAKFAST, FREE local calls, FREE parking w/gated & covered parking available, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, 2 telephones w/voice mail, TV w/extended cable, business center, outdoor pool/whirlpool, exercise room, convenience store, coin laundry, hospitality suite, and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Downtown - City Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hampton Inn City Center
Fort Lauderdale Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing