We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG never again.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #109 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OMG never again.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

well for starters i was looking to save money and this was the cheapest place i could find in ft lauderdale and when i booked this online it was to be like 60 bucks for thursday and friday night. so i cliked to book it and then when i got the confirmation i saw that the friday night rate was like 95 bucks. so i called the hotel and the girl said yeah the rate is more expensive on friday but she told me to hurry and book because they were just a couple rooms shy of selling out. so i booked it. usually i wont book anything at a budget hotel until i see the room first. but what do you do. i travel with my small dog so im very limited where i can stay. well checkin was fine then comes the room it was a nightmare. smelled bad. TV was all fuzzy on every channel. the telephone in the room didnt work. water preasure was horrible and little hot water. some sort of ants crawling all over the walls. i paid for an internet card and it didnt work so when i complained to the front desk they gave me an 800 number and 4 hours later i finally could get online. the next morning i wake up to the front desk manager at the door wanting to check my smoke detector. well that was that i went down to the front desk and complained about all that was wrong and had happened. the manager said we were sold out last night so the clerk couldnt move you is why you didnt get moved. he then offered to move me and i did move the new room was worse. i then called the motel 6 guest relations which was a joke. it was obvious that the rep was reading to me from a script. and couldnt really care less. he finnished the call with if you are seeking some sort of compensation then you will have to take that up with the front desk manager. take what you will from this review but dont say that you were not warned.

  • Liked — pets allowed
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gaitherfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    50
    31
    40
See reviews for
32
58
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2008

We stayed here 1-night while we were there on business. The room was booked for us prior so we didn't really have much choice in the matter.

The motel seemed okay when we drove up. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. Then we got to the room...

The bedspread blanket was filthy (with stains!) and the sheets had holes in them. We refused to take our socks off because the carpet was so filthy. We didn't take a shower because the bathroom was so gross looking (do they even clean in there??) AND there was a COCKROACH crawling on the walls in the bathroom!! So disgusting. We went downstairs to get ice and something from the vending machine and the little honey bun one of us got had mold growing on all over it. The walls are very thin, and we were awoken at 2AM by the loud noises and shouting coming from the room next door -- thankfully we had an early flight out and were leaving very early.

We felt very unsafe here, and were thrilled to leave. We left early in the morning and had to wait for our ride...even though the outside didn't feel super safe (a few shady characters) we felt safer outside than inside. The secuirty/night person who took our keys was very nice. There was another couple standing out there from Europe who seemed scared to death and couldn't wait for their taxi to arrive.

The price was not that great... and even if it was...ewwww.....stay away this place is horrible!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SKJ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2007

My party of 3 stayed here one night because we had an early morning flight. The motel was typical of other Motel 6's in the US, the personal were courteous, the room was fresh and clean, the parking area was well lit and appeared secure, an excellent diner and fast food restaurants were nearby, and access to the Fort Lauderdale airport was very convenient. In general our stay was a pleasant experience.

  • Liked — Close to airport and economical
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank popcat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2007

Our family was going on a cruise out of fort lauderdale and we got there the night before we had to go on the cruise. So we decided to save some money and go to motel 6...hey its just one night, what is the worst thing that could happen. We were not expecting it to be terrible, but trust me it was!! Our family has been to very good and bad hotels before ( we travel a lot) but none was far as bad as this hotel... i mean motel ( some times we make jokes about how bad it was). We pulled up to what we thought was a prison or something but apparently it was our hotel. For some reason it was fenced in i dont know why. Then we checked in ( the cost 75$ which i am sure if we went on priceline.com, and made an offer we could have gotten a four star for the same price) then we headed up to our room the hallway was small, very very small. The four of us cramed into the room and took a look around, we then looked at each other and thought oh no what have we gotten ourselves into.... the room was so small, more like smaller then our laundry room. the beds were old and smelt like mold we could hear the springs crack as we slept. the air conditioning did not work well either. And now to the worst part.... the room was crawling with bugs!! aww a few coachroaches here and there wont kill us, yea right! we could not sleep at all! The bathroom was small too ( go figure) before we went to bed we decided to go to the restaurant next door ( to get away from our room as long as possible) it was some BBQ place, if you for some reason do stay at this motel 6 go to this restaurant it was actually very tasty.

overall motel 6 is a dump dont stay here save your money!!!
even if it is cheap it is not worth the pain and suffering you will endure!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
(try priceline.com and make an offer on a four star hotel you might be able to get it for the same price as motel 6

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything!!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — go to priceline.com
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank all_about_hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2006

We stayed here after being in the keys as we had an early morning flight out. Ft Lauderdale was very busy and this was the only place I could find under $200. It was still $85, $95 with tax. It was filthy, pool was filthy, the kids wouldn't even swim. We had cochroaches in our room. When my husband complained there were cockroaches they asked "well, how many?" as if a just few were okay. They had no rooms to move us to, and the whole town was booked, so we ended up sleeping with the lights on all night to hopefully keep the cockroaches from coming out and stuck a piece of bread in the corner to lure them away from the beds. They did give us a free room, though, after complaining.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2006

First of all, when we pulled in there were alot of "shady" people hanging around the building outside and in. I had requested a queen bed, got a full. There were bugs in the room. No place to park the car if you come back to the room after 9. Even though check out time is 12... maids kick you out of your room at 10 to clean... it was nasty... water is YELLOW YELLOW.. The motel 6 in my hometown is considered a trashy place but this was ridiculous. didnt feel safe here, not close to the beach/sights.

My Opinion: There are tons of cheap "mom and pop" motels right along the beachfront... check them out...once i got down to fort lauderdale and saw what we staye in and what we could have stayed in for the same price i was depressed

If you are GOING to stay here and looking for a deal, tell the check in person that there is only one person staying in the room; the rate will be like $6 a nite cheaper... and they could care less. My husband stood with me as i checked in for "one" and they could have cared less.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2005

Hallways are filthy. The room was clean however. We were given the key to someone else's room to start with! Didn't feel particularly safe, rooms definately not soundproof. Would definately not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Lauderdale
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#61 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/C...
#70 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Ai...
#38 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale

Property: Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale
Address: 1801 State Road 84 West, I-95 at Exit #27, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Ft. Lauderdale is located near shopping and dining. Visit Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center, Boomer's, or the Museum of Discovery and Science. Enjoy our modern rooms and outdoor heated pool. Wi-Fi in all guest rooms for $2.99 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Motel Six Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Motel 6
Fort Lauderdale Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing