We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Key Largo, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed April 15, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for a few days at the end of our tour of the Florida Keys. We read other trip advisor reviews before booking and decided that this was far the best hotel to stay in, so we decided to treat ourselves. The hotel is fairly small with only about 20 or so rooms, we had a deluxe poolside room and it really was lovely. It had everything a traveller needs and the bathroom was great - a little small, but very clean and well maintained. The towels are soft bath sheets and are fantastic, not like the little cardboard towels you get is most hotels. The room was just across from the pool, which is gorgeous. Unfortunately, it rained the whole time we were there, so we were not able to sit on the lovely sun loungers on the deck overlooking the intracostal waterway. This property has spectacular views and has been decorated / furnished extremely well. We decided to use the pool and the hotel staff turned the temperature of the water up for us, and it was gorgeous. Jessica brought us drinks whilst in the pool and was very friendly and helpful to us during our stay. However, as per other reviews when Jessica is not on duty, you do have to look a bit harder to find a staff member, but they were all friendly and helpful to us. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would definately return

  • Liked — Pool, Sun Deck, Room, Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank margarita2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    119
    35
    21
    9
See reviews for
90
666
34
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

We visited for a romantic long weekend without the kids. We had a lovely time. Our room and the entire hotel was beautiful. The staff arranged massages and provided good restaurant recommendations. It was extremely relaxing and luxurious. We hope to make this an annual pilgrimage to the Pillars.

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — breakfast wasn't included in the room rate
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2007

Based on all the great reviews we read on this hotel we decided to stay here before a cruise.

Since this property only gets great reviews we wonder if maybe we are a bit demanding, but here goes.

We arrived at the hotel very late after 16 hours of travel, after one o'clock in the moring Florida time. On checking in, the night attendant says, here are your keys, your room number is 22. No offer of where it was, no offer to carry the bags, no nothing.

Finally I insist that he shows us where the room was, and then he expects my wife to schlep her suitcase up a flight of stairs. I have to insist he carries the one bag my wife has up the stairs, I carry the three others. Bad beginning to say the least.

Next morning for breakfast we order coffe and muffins and sit with another couple who order continental breakfast at the same time we did.

Their breakfast arrives and then an hour later our muffins arrive, seems they ran out of muffins and had to bake some more. No offer to substitue, no nothing, then charged over 20 bucks for two muffins and a jug of coffee. Of course they add the tip on the bill so we have to give a gratuity for lousy service.

Then we try to make a reservation for dinner and they are all booked for the evening. Ask for some advice on where to go, told to take a cab to Los Olmas and walk the street and find a place. Poor, poor.

There also seems to be an undercurrent of fear of management from the staff. When we asked if we could stay an hour past checkout time the poor desk clerk reluctantly said we could, but as the desk clerk seemed in fear of getting reprimanded we did not take the offer.

When we checked out we cancelled a later reservation that was 15 days later. One clerk, not the one we were checking out with, said we would have to pay for one night because it was less than 14 days notice. Tried to explain that Sunday to Sunday to Sunday is 15 days, not 14 days. The clerk we were dealing with agreed with us, but the other clerk kept going on and on about having to pay the penalty. Finally clerk one tells clerk two, chill out, the customer is right.

This is from a place that gets all great reviews. I do not feel comfortable writing this as it seems we are nit pickers, which we are not.

Maybe they have uneven service and the patrons who get lousy service do not complain.

Or maybe they just decided to pick on us because I made the night clerk show me our room and carry my wifes bags.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank GaryGarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

We stayed at The Pillars last month prior to taking a cruise. We arrived after taking a red eye from California and our room was ready. Never had that happen before! The setting is lovely and we spent the day on the dock overlooking the water. They offered us breakfast which we thought was lovely since it was past breakfast time. The room was very nice and pretty close to other reviews. The staff was outstanding. Very hands on and helpful. We asked if we could stay there for the day when we came back from our cruise and prior to flying back to California. Jessica was more than agreeable and we spent the day there on the dock rather than hanging out at the airport. All in all, one of the best places we have ever stayed...it deserves to be #1.

  • Liked — First class
  • Disliked — room a little small
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizandFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2007

We just stayed at The Pillars for 3 nights and wish it had been longer. This little hotel is an absolute gem hidden away from the hustle of Ft. Lauderdale. The room was beautiful with the most comfortable King bed. The courtyard is so tranquil with beautiful landscaping and we throughly enjoyed the the sunsets at night sitting on the dock. Jessica , Aaron and Caroline were very professional and helpful staff members. We can't wait to return.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank KathyNewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farminton Hills, MI
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

This is a lovely Inn tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Ft Lauderdale and all its current construction. Most rooms have a view of the Intercoastal. The rooms are fairly well furnished, but small. Ok for a few days, but too small for longer than that unless you get a suite which is over $600/night. Service is meant to be good, but falls short at times depending on who is at the front desk. Frequently available is Jessica who is knowledgable and tries to take care of your every travel need. Maintenance is a problem, althought the Inn made every effort to correct all of the below problems which seemed to occur at the rate of at least one each day. We had problems with the air conditioner, the tv remote, the pool was too cold, the tv was fuzzy, the door knob fell off and others.
Maid service was only fair. They did clean the room, usally by mid afternoon. They offer turndown service which is very minimal--just new towels and chocolates-No bed straightening or any of the usual amenities.
This Inn could be great, but is a little off tune. They just need a little help.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank ant9801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2007

We had the pleasure of staying at the Pillars for one night prior to a cruise and our only regret was that we could not have stayed for longer. We arrived at 8am after a long overnight flight and of course the room was not available until 4pm. As we did not have the energy to do anything other than sleep we did not want to go out sightseeing. The manager was very kind to us and let us sleep on the very comfortable sun loungers until our room was ready, this was really appreciated. We also had breakfast on the dock which woke us up a bit!

The room was ready by 1pm, and it was so beautiful, really gorgeous and the most fabulous cozy bed with beautiful bed linen.

We had dinner in the Secret Garden, we are both vegetarians and the staff were really accomodating, preparing something for us that was not on the menu. The food was really lovely in a great setting, but was probably overpriced. However, this was a minor point as it felt so special staying there, we felt really privileged, would love to return!!

  • Liked — Everything!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmberScrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,519 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,780 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,970 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
807 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on New River Sound, a block from the beach, the Pillars Hotel is a beautiful mix of classical British Colonial architecture and 30's "Art Deco". Well-known for its magical sunsets, unpretentious service and its special dining experience, the hotel caters to travelers looking for a sophisticated intimate venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing