We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #2 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2006

My husband and I stayed at The Pillars for two nights prior to taking a cruise. I enjoyed staying at this hotel more than any hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff were wonderful in every way. We got there a little early and they took our luggage to our room that was still being cleaned. They recommended a great restaurant around the corner for lunch. When we returned to the hotel about 4:30 pm, our room was available. Perfectly sized hotel room. Plenty of room for luggage and two people. All the linens and amenities were beautiful. We had a bottle of wine delivered to the room and took it down to the dock the hotel owns and watched the sun set over the intercoastal waterway. We had made reservations to have dinner that night on the dock so that we could view the Winterfest boat parade that night. Perfect location to see the parade of boats. The food was fabulous, too. The next morning we had breakfast delivered to the table outside our room on the terrace. I got the danish basket. There were two freshly baked (still hot) blueberry muffins and one croissant. They were all delicious. We also got the fruit plate. It was the prettiest arrangement of fruit I have ever seen. We got ready and took the water taxi down to Las Olas for some shopping and lunch. The water taxi picks you up at hotel's dock, but you have to scream and wave at them as they go by since it is not a normal stop on the route. We had dinner reservations at Mancini's on Las Olas for that night. The food was okay, but the setting out on the street of Las Olas has a lot to be desired. You had car fumes and Harleys to deal with. We had been to the Samba Room a few years before and liked it much better. Best Mojitos ever! The next morning we had breakfast outside our room on the terrace again. We then walked down to the beach and strolled the boardwalk. We headed back to the hotel to check out. They called us a cab and we headed to the pier for our cruise. I would highly recommend the experience of this hotel. Wonderful price for what you get!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank G+10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

871 - 877 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2006

An excellent hotel right on the waterfront. Clean, good service. A real oasis. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bentleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2006

My wife just returned from a weekend getaway at the Pillars. I wish we could have stayed longer! The few negative reviews I read about the Pillars say that the rooms are small. Ok. Fine. Some of the rooms are small, but so what? Know that going in and you will have a fantastic stay. We stayed in room 23 which is one of the smallest rooms, but in our opinion, one of the best views with a very nice (now covered) patio. This was our second trip, and I would stay in the same room again on our next visit. I can not say enough about the staff. Caroline is the best! She was always very helpful and friendly. We were there during the boat parade, and the hotel had a beautiful dinner for everyone on the dock. I can't wait until our next trip to the Pillars!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AndyandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2006

This Hotel is very nicely situated on New River Sound with nice views of the river. It can fairly be described as an oasis amid the surrounding high rise properties. We had a poolside room on the second floor (#22)with commanding views of the river. At this point the kudos end.
This is the smallest hotel room I have ever occupied. The room has absolutely no space for any luggage that doesn't involve stepping over it! The small closet contains the mini bar and the safe so that luggage can not be stored there. The room has one chair and a desk with nowhere for a second person to sit except on the bed which is very high off the floor. I'm sorry but this room does not meet my minimum standards for accommodation. At $189 per night it is no bargain. Room #23 is identical.
The reception area and library were uncomfortably cold (over air-conditioned). The sofa in the library is ornamental with large cushions and nowhere to sit. We never saw anyone in there.
We would not stay here again. Some of the more expensive rooms are larger and a consideration for those who are willing to pay more.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank terrysax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kro1, Managing Director at The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2006

We agree that rooms 22 and 23 at The Pillars are very small. We keep them as is because they are frequently requested by return guests who want the exceptional views of the lush tropical pool area and the expanse of the Intracoastal Waterway. Interestingly, aficionados of rooms 22 and 23 are willing to pay the same rate as they would for our standard poolside king/bed rooms. However, we do understand that rooms 22 and 23 are not for everyone. Now and in the future, reservations for these two rooms can only be made directly through the hotel. This way a Pillars hotelier will brief future guests on the pro’s and cons of these special rooms.

Caroline Bonnell
Managing Director
The Pillars at New River Sound


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2006

We just stayed at the pillars for a 3 day weekend getaway and absolutely loved it. We read reviews of the Pillars on Tripadvisor before booking and wondered what the staff could possibly do to deserve such raving reviews, and after staying there, we saw it for ourselves. The staff was EXTREMELY friendly and helpful at all times and could not do enough to make our stay pleasant. They were very flexible with our check-in/check-out times and Christopher and Jessica (who were both just wonderful) gladly offered many fantastic restaurant recommendations upon our request. There is food available from the hotel kitchen, which you can eat just about everywhere-including the many tables and chairs outside the rooms, around the pool, and on the dock. The pool is lovely with padded lounge chairs with pillows, free lemonade all day, and a beautiful view of the intercoastal. The beach is just a short walk away, which made it easy to walk over just for a quick swim whenever we felt like it. We really felt like the hotel was in a good location-although not directly on the beach or Las Olas Blvd, it sits somewhat between all the major spots, so nothing is too far away by cab or watertaxi (which stops at the hotel). Our room was very clean and cozy, and although it was smaller than most hotel rooms, the amenities more than made up for it. I do not recommend this hotel to families with children, however, it is definitely more of place for couples and groups of adults. There is definitely a reason that this hotel is rated #1 in Ft. Lauderdale though-We can't wait to go back and enjoy another vacation at the Pillars!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank SLKtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2006

What a great place.

After a flight from Scotland then a drive from Orlando this hotel came as a very pleasant rest place for 3 days prior to our cruise.

Manager gave us a great welcome and glass of wine... nothing too much trouuble.

Good parking, wireless internet, good food nearby and hotel food first class on their deck by the river.

Cannot praise this place enough!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank pitliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

I am in the international hotel business and deal with the “front of the house” managing guests and service. I am very impressed with the location of the Pillars Hotel, the staff and amenities.

When selecting any hotel, you should write a list of things that are important to you e.g. noise concerns, free parking, can I deal with having a shower and not a bathtub etc. Once your list is compiled, search for hotels, inns, B & B’s etc. that match your personal needs and preferences.

I have stayed at all of the chain hotels in the Ft. Lauderdale area and I can assure you that it will be hard to find free parking and free internet in which The Pillars offers.

Location: 2 blocks from the beach and all bar and restaurants on A1A-where all the action is at. If you don't plan to go out of Ft. Lauderdale, you won't need a car. Although, if you do have a car, the parking at the Pillars is either right in front or to the side of the hotel on a short residential street.

The hotel is overall very peaceful. Even if you do have the only room that is in the front of the hotel with the private courtyard, I found it quiet unlike the review from the members in Scotland. As for the private courtyard, anyone can see you from high above albeit if you are on your balcony in any of the other rooms, you can be seen as well. I would only caution that indeed this room does have a small bathroom with a shower only. If you ask what you are getting beforehand and express what you need in a hotel room, you can make an informed decision hence no disappointments.

You can sit on the dock area and watch the yachts go by on a comfy lounge chair. You can also dine in this same area which is very romantic in the evenings. For a great convenience, the inter-coastal water taxi stops right at the hotel dock.

Staff: Friendly, personable and outgoing! You will get far better service and more for your money here than at any chain hotel. They bend over backwards for you as they feel you are a guest in their home, not a nuisance at their workplace.

This is a wonderful hotel if you are looking for tranquility, free internet and parking, friendly service and more personal attention than any chain hotel can ever offer!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
24  Thank SavvyTravelChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,593 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,149 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,816 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,356 reviews
Central Beach
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
#5 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $240 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on New River Sound, a block from the beach, the Pillars Hotel is a beautiful mix of classical British Colonial architecture and 30's "Art Deco". Well-known for its magical sunsets, unpretentious service and its special dining experience, the hotel caters to travelers looking for a sophisticated intimate venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing