We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“can't wait to go back”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I hate to tell everyone how great The Pillars is, what a gem of a hotel, because I want there to be room for us when we go back. The service is impeccable, the dining at Secret Garden good enough for even the neighboring Ritz to recommend to its guests (as we were told by a Ritz employee), and the ambience beyond compare. If you want to relax, this is the spot and it is located so near to the beach if you want some action. The staff is beyond compare, always trying to make your stay perfect...and they did ours.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    119
    35
    21
    9
See reviews for
90
665
34
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room we stayed was near the front door. It was a bit noisy as we could hear the people taking outside of our room.

There was an incident that the sewage line backup from the shower drain during our last night stay. We smelled something funny at middle of the night and didn't know what happened until we saw it in the morning. The front desk lady did everything she could to make us more comfortable for the rest of the morning though.

Overall it should be a 5 star stay if we stayed in a different room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Had a one night stay here on our way to the Keys from Orlando.
The hotel is quite small but very nicely decorated and has a really nice atmosphere with nice efficient staff at the check in desk. We were given a ground floor room by the side of the pool which was perfect for us. The bed was comfortable and the room had many amenities.
After a prefect nights sleep we had breakfast on the dock overlooking the waterway and several huge homes. The breakfast was continental style and was very good, not cheap but definitely worth it. It was very nice to sit on the dock in the morning sun and watch the boats go by.
The pool was fairly small but perfectly adequate as we were the only ones in the pool that morning.
The hotel is great for couples, my wife was impressed :)

Would I go again? Yes, already booked for August this year :)

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room but a pool room is great as you also get a view of the waterwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Unforgiven2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We live and work in Fort Lauderdale and, for many years, have recommended the Pillars to friends and family visiting us. Their expectations were always exceeded and we heard rave reviews. While we have enjoyed the outstanding dining at the Secret Garden many times, this was our first stay at the Pillars.

Our mini-vacation at The Pillars was truly exceptional. The staff members were uniformly friendly and helpful making us feel warmly welcomed. They went far out of their way to be attentive to our preferences. The room was luxurious and elegant with great attention to detail evident throughout. The linens, bedding and towels were of the finest quality. The room was quiet and comfortable. We were greatly enjoyed a peaceful cocktail in the lovely pool area overlooking the intracoastal waterway. Overall, our experience at the Pillars could not have been better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Our second 3 day pre-cruise stay at The Pillars was comfortable but not as personal as last year. There appears to have been a change in the senior management. Whilst the front desk service was very professional it was not as friendly and engaging as last year. The room was great and any problems were dealt with speedily and to our satisfaction.
On the negative side - pool service bar costs were really high. The same 3/4 measure glass of wine that we received free of charge on arrival was $16 + gratuity by the pool. That can't be right!
The Pillars remains our favourite boutique hotel in FL, however we didn't come away with that "wow" feeling this year
From - David W

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 953David1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landrytrebbi, Owner at The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hello David,

Thank you for your comments. We are very happy with the high marks you gave us in each of the 6 categories but 1. Overall this was an average of over 4. It is disappointing though that you rated us a 3 overall.

Most important we are very sorry that your experience was less than that of your previous stay. By way of an explanation (which I hope does not come off as an excuse) we were in a training mode in January. Unfortunately last year a few important people on our staff made important life changes and moved on. In a small hotel just a few people leaving can create a big short term management challenge. We did however, move quickly to bring in replacements. Our new additions are highly professional and most have hospitality degrees. These people have now come into their own and have gained the confidence required to serve and please the high end nature of our clientele. This is reflected in the reviews of guests who have stayed with us more recently.

And of course, thank you for still considering us as your number one hotel in the area. I hope when you return you will enjoy an experience even greater than your first stay with us. I promise you that. We have nude great strides since opening up 15 years ago and we know we cannot stand still!

For the information of readers of this review, currently our most expensive serving of wine by the glass is $12.00 plus tax and gratuity. This would be in the lower end of our competitive universe. The service fee for all beverages on the property was recently eliminated and probably should have never been there in the first place.

Have a great summer David. We hope to see you again next year.

Courtney Huynh
Operations Manager / Owners Representative
T (954) 837-6516
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed for a 3 night pre cruise holiday with 2 other couples for my 50th birthday. Great staff and food although it's expensive you get what you pay for. Fantastic location and has a real personal touch to it as I think they only have 13 standard rooms plus a couple of suites. Highly recommended for a short stay in FL.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Pillars because we knew about its high Conde Nast ranking. Although we had eaten at their Secret Garden dining venue on many occasions we had never stayed in the hotel itself. We arrived in the early afternoon and were greeted with a choice of welcome drinks which ranged from classic bubbly to just plain old water.
Once unpacked we took advantage of the good weather to be real tourists. We swam and sunbathed all afternoon. We followed this with dinner on the dock where we were served up the good wine and good food that we had become used to in the past.
All in all it was a great decision. The Pillars is a small hotel, old by Florida standards, and completely renovated. You can tell from the detail work how much time and effort went into making it such a special place. The staff is very knowledgeable and helpful. In this day and age to be served by people where it is obvious that they genuinely want to please is a real treat.
There is no question that we will be doing this again. It is so nice to find such a top property in our own backyard. We enjoyed a very special get away without the hassle of busy airports and crammed planes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nik285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,518 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,777 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#18 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,970 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
806 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on New River Sound, a block from the beach, the Pillars Hotel is a beautiful mix of classical British Colonial architecture and 30's "Art Deco". Well-known for its magical sunsets, unpretentious service and its special dining experience, the hotel caters to travelers looking for a sophisticated intimate venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing