We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Pillars a few days ago and we really couldn't fault it. The service was excellent and all the staff very helpful. Our room was right beside the pool and only a short distance to the dock where we had a fabulous meal. The only small complaint that anybody may have is that the ensuite was very small but this didn't bother us at all.We would definitely stay here again if we were ever in the area it was just perfect.

Room Tip: We asked for a convenient room as my husband can't walk very far and that is exactly what we got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    121
    35
    21
    9
See reviews for
90
674
34
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
detroit michigan
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We just returned from a 3 day stay at the Pillars Hotel. This boutique hotel was wonderful in every way. The rooms are beautifully furnished with wonderful beds and bedding. We ate at the restaurant and had a delicious meal. We particularly loved the dock overlooking the intercoastal waterway. To sit out there with a drink and watch the boats going by was really enjoyable. We travel a lot and find this hotel to be among the top for amenities and service. if you want a peaceful stay with wonderful amenities this is your hotel. A special thanks to Morgan who was extremely helpful. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband & I recently spent the night at the Pillars to celebrate our anniversary. Our *only* complaint is that we didn't stay longer! The property is within walking distance of the beach and nightlife along A1A, yet we had no desire to leave our slice of lushly landscaped paradise. The atmosphere is so peaceful and relaxing. Upon arrival we were offered a glass of wine and shown to our room which was located on the first floor. Each room has a table and two chairs outside the front door - and just steps from the comfortable chaise lounges around the pool. The room was well furnished - including in-room safe, iron, iDock and DVD player. Loved the Molton Brown bathroom amenities and super comfy bed. We were able to watch the preparations for a sunset wedding - the Pillars is the perfect spot for a small outdoor wedding and the staff takes care of every detail. One of the highlights of our stay was the fabulous dinner on the dock, overlooking the Intracoastal at sunset. We enjoyed a pureed pea soup topped with watercress, fresh salads including a fantastic watermelon and feta salad, followed by tenderloin and divers scallop entrees. We were too full for dessert, but the selections sounded amazing. Very nice wine list. The Pillars is a perfect spot for a romantic weekend; it's a small, intimate property and the staff is incredible. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Recommend first floor for direct access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prlcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Pillars is a charming, romantic small hotel. The service is friendly and professional. Our room on the 2nd floor was small but beautifully furnished, very clean, and very comfortable. There is a table on the patio outside of each room and we had breakfast delivered one morning. We relaxed at the pool and enjoyed sipping wine in a lovely, secluded patio area. Dinner at the restaurant was wonderful. This was our first stay at the hotel, but our 2nd time dining and I was so happy to celebrate our anniversary here. We have stayed in many boutique inns and small hotels and the Pillars is absolutely at the top of the list. We hope to return and we thank all the staff for making our special anniversary even more so!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollis141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Pillars continues to be one of the loveliest places I have visited. My 15 year old daughter and I have been coming here for years, and it just gets better and better. I don't think there is a more relaxing place on earth than sitting on the dock with a cup of coffee and the paper early in the morning! The staff are wonderful, especially Caroline who is a gem. Kudos to the owner for doing such a great job in making this such a special place for visitors!

Room Tip: all of the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckmgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island,NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My sister & I do a lot of traveling...Europe,many parts of USA & many yrs. of travel throughout Fla...we know the Ft Lauderdale area well....it's had its Ups & Downs over the yrs.(including. las Olas which is on the downswing these days)..this is a most delightful find tucked away in a private setting ...yet short walk to heart of things & near Beach...rooms very clean..somewhat small..garden/pool area like an upscale private home...lovely dining inside hotel or out by the waterfront...food fresh,seasonal menu..public areas very old world with a modern twist..well appointed & welcoming...help responsive but not overbearing..great guest parking along perimeter...also love that water taxi stops right there for you! local friends of ours in the area treasure h Secret Garden Restaurant...available only to hotel guests or members who pay a fee to join...def worth at least one stay...pricey but a respite if you need tranquility in a boutique
Setting.

Room Tip: Avoid being too close to office..lots of activity in. & out...lots of ground floor rms surroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpscaleGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

very nice boutique hotel in fort lauderdale. Calm, with a nice open air restaurant, watertaxi stop but very close to the beach and other attractions. We can recommend as well the restaurant ( for guests only) . Free parking which is unusal in this area

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huggenberger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,546 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,099 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,727 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,242 reviews
Central Beach
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
#5 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on New River Sound, a block from the beach, the Pillars Hotel is a beautiful mix of classical British Colonial architecture and 30's "Art Deco". Well-known for its magical sunsets, unpretentious service and its special dining experience, the hotel caters to travelers looking for a sophisticated intimate venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing