We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simpy Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simpy Wonderful”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. It is clean, the rooms well appointed. Everyone working there were friendly and helpful. We had some amazing meals in their restaurant. I took a fall the first day and when I got back to the hotel they were right there to help. I would definitely recommend staying here. A wonderful boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnamadonna6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    121
    35
    21
    9
See reviews for
90
674
34
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place is great. In the middle of the high, huge buildings, there is this little place, hidden between trees and plants.
Reception area was nicely decorated, staff was friendly and efficient.

We booked a 'run of the house' and we have been given a great separate bedroom suite.
There are rooms with -in our point of view- a less interesting location (for example right next to the reception). However, your stay in this hotel will be great if you want to relax and enjoy good food.

We had breakfast, which is a la carte, at the dock each morning. A delivery fee of USD5 will be charged, but it was absolutely worth it. All the staff were friendly and caring.

At night you can have dinner in the hotel restaurant 'the secret garden'. We reserved a table outside at the dock and enjoyed the nice service and delicious food.

The beach is only a couple of minutes walking away.

During our stay there was a room renovation going on; the hotel management did what they could to keep the inconveniences down to a minimum.

Our room could not be kept for a late check out, but a small "cabana" with shower was available for us prior we had to leave to the airport.

This hotel made our 'roadtrip holiday' end with a good, relaxed feeling and we will consider going back to The Pillars whenever we plan to visit Ft Lauderdale again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l1eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

The place was a complete surprise. As we drove down Birch we were getting nervous, but then an OASIS appeared. From the moment we walked in through the front doors we knew this would be special. The grounds are beautiful, with orchids and gerber daisies everywhere. The rooms although small are very cozy. We wished we could have stayed longer. There were a couple of hickups with our room service breakfast, forgot a side of bacon, no tea cup or cream on the first delivery, but The Pillars made up for it in romance. We will definitely go back. Next time we want to have dinner and then enjoy breakfast on the dock and lounge around the pool! We found the staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Schmedley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just returned from a weekend at this relaxing hideaway. Needed to get away and just rest, nothing else. Our room was lovely with design attention paid to every detail imaginable. Small but that is what should be expected of urban “boutique”. We were told that the room was recently redone and it was obvious (room 113 on second floor). We bought the package including dinner and continental breakfast for two for $100. Worth every cent! The dinner was exceptional, have the grilled peaches! The staff is attentive but not intrusive. They let you be. They accommodated out requests for early check in and late check out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a very attractive boutique property backing onto the Intracoastal with a nice dock on which to relax in the evening (after dinner service has been cleared). Sit back and watch the fish swim by! The rooms may be a little compact (at least in terms of the bathroom and closet space) but for a short break (or overnight as in our case) this should not present a problem. Much care has been devoted to the appointments (Frette sheets and towels; Moulton Brown products and a nice TV and DVD system - albeit a sheet of simple operating instructions would have been useful!). The only draw back of the room (a King Superior Poolside room) was the low shower head which was only just sufficiently elevated for a 5'9" person to fit underneath and the lack of any appreciable way of regulating the water temperature of the shower once you were inside. Also, there was no Nespresso machine as the advertizing on the hotel website states. The restaurant proved a big hit: excellent food and courteous, attentive staff. I suppose the only disappointment in this regard was that I was hoping for some Moroccan influence given the nationality of the chef...nonetheless the dishes were very well executed and the portions were very generous.

My only significant complaint about the hotel, however, stems from the customer service experience from the front desk. After all, when one selects a boutique hotel over a good chain (such as the Ritz-Carlton) there is a certain expectation that the service will also prove a little more personalized. Unfortunately, this was not really borne out. We had checked in to celebrate a birthday and the hotel had been pre-warned about this. My partner was to have had a candle with his dessert (I hate this sort of thing but he rather enjoys the fuss so I have to put up with the rigamarole every year) and we had also enquired about the possibility of late check out to which the answer on the phone had been "we have to check availability on the day but there shouldn't be a real problem with it". When we arrived our check in proved quite soul-less. No introduction to the hotel, no use of our names, no confirmation that we would be dining with them that evening. I'd expect a little more than the standard approach to check-in at a Marriott Courtyard. Jessica, the assistant manager was kind enough to offer us a complimentary glass of wine, however. Sadly, though, there was no candle at dinner or any other indication of the celebratory nature of the occasion. When we phoned in the morning to inquire about late check-out (as Jessica had told us to do the previous evening) we were told that there was no possibility of such accommodation - the 12 noon departure deadline had to be final. This was a shame as a simple extra hour would have made all the difference to the pacing of a leisurely morning and the hotel was hardly full. Even if the place was going to be packed that evening, official check in isn't until 4pm giving them three hours in which to 'clean' the room after a 1pm departure. However, the worst part of the experience was that when my partner (a training manager for a five-diamond hotel) queried whether a short extension might not indeed be possible he was told quite brusquely "well if you DO work in the industry you should know that this is always subject to availability". This sort of response to a guest is simply not acceptable. When we did leave (c. 10.15 as we were no longer in the mood to relax) there was no inquiry as whether or not we had enjoyed our stay or indeed, any expression of a hope that we might like to return in the future. Again, no attempt was made to use our names...'Room XXX, right?" was the way in which I was addressed.

Ok...I know I'm being picky, but attention to detail is important, and unfortunately the lack of attention to detail here rather sabotaged the otherwise favorable impression of the establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yotbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PillarsManagement, General Manager at The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the good things you said about The Pillars. Just as important we appreciate your critique of service. As illustrated by past comments in these pages the hallmark of our reputation has been high level of service. Obviously we were off on your visit. All our staff are taking your review to heart and will be striving to stay on track 100% of the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I had a brief stay at The Pillars and will definitely be back! I arrived early and as my room was available, i checked in with no fuss. The property is like a small piece of paradise well located - close to the beaches; shopping malls and the trendy Las Olas Boulevard. Due to my short stay, I did not have time to dine there or swim in the sparkling pool, but look forward to that in the future. The room was well appointed with a Nespresso coffee maker, a nice selection of snacks and drinks, but sadly no milk or creamer could be found. The bathroom included Molton Brown toiletries and the bed was very comfortable.
A couple of minor quibbles: while the Front Desk arranged to have my jacket collected and pressed in a couple of hours, it was not possible to get my shoes cleaned! Possibly a small shoeshine kit in the room would be nice if Housekeeping cannot provide this service. And the bathroom towels need to be replaced - not soft and fluffy as one would expect from a property of this calibre.
Overall I was impressed and I look forward to trying the restaurant and the small, but interesting wine selection.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaymanBacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have stayed at The Pillars only once, but love it since at first sight. Very small hotel, only 18 rooms with nice area, deep swimming pool. The location along the Intercoastal and within two blocks to the beach affords convenience yet privacy away from main road. The staff is very welcoming and always willing to assist with whatever need you may have.The rooms are nicely furnished, comfortable and well appointed. bed is very high, and VERY comfortable :). Large bathroom with perfect amenities. Nice thing that water taxi can stop exactly to hotel pier, after phone call from reception, on reception also available tickets for watertaxi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,546 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,094 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,726 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,239 reviews
Central Beach
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
#5 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on New River Sound, a block from the beach, the Pillars Hotel is a beautiful mix of classical British Colonial architecture and 30's "Art Deco". Well-known for its magical sunsets, unpretentious service and its special dining experience, the hotel caters to travelers looking for a sophisticated intimate venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing