We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the canal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“On the canal”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Small and cozy hotell on the waterway and just a block from the beach. Very peacefull and perfect for a romantic gettaway. Highly recommended, and we will return ASAP!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ghostviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    118
    35
    21
    9
See reviews for
89
653
34
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed for too short a time at The Pillars having stayed up the road for a few nights in a chain hotel.

The staff were incredibly helpful in assisting us in light of supplier failures for our wedding and through their contacts we received in turn great service.

The location of the hotel is ideal, with the water taxi stopping right at the hotel upon request, providing ease of viewing Fort Lauderdale from the water. It is close to many amenities and the beach too.

In all, highly recommended and we would love to have the opportunity to revisit in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKingWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale, fl
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Lovely hotel reminiscent of Key West. Quiet, quaint and perfect for a quick getaway. The Secret Garden restaurant was excellent, with a beautiful view of the intercoastal, especially at sunset.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicacollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed here at the beginning of a week-long visit to the area. The hotel is perfectly located on the intracoastal waterway with its own water taxi stop. Its also only a few minutes from the strip. Rooms were well furnished and very comfortable. Very pleasant to lie by the pool and plenty of towels provided. We had dinner one evening overlooking the waterway which was excellent. Service and food very good. We would definitely visit again.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CarrotCakeMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

My husband and I spent the night at the Pillars and immediately wished we had time to spent a second night. The hotel was quiet and romantic, yet had a great central location. We walked to dining spots and were picked up at the docks by the water taxi. Loved the room (although it was not large, it was really nicely done). Food, not so great. Very basic, but we didn't go there for the food. Service at breakfast was not great. They seemed to be understaffed. Can't wait to return though. It's a really lovely spot.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfernathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We chose The Pillars because we appreciate quaint, intimate places. It was a relaxing mini vacation. We arrived early and the staff was very accommodating to let us leave our luggage at the front desk while we went to lunch. We came here with our 8 month old and she was welcomed 100%. (but she is a really good baby). We dined by the water for dinner and had the most amazing food! We were so impressed with The Pillars that we are coming back in a month with my husband's parents. Can't Wait!!! Thank you for a great time!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the ADA room unless you need to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanibelfavorite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful long weekend at The Pillars. The pool area is serene, the water view never gets old, our room's decor was beautiful, and the staff was extremely accommodating. I would classify this boutique find as casual elegance. The water taxi stop right at the hotel is a nice bonus as well. This place is great for adult couples who want a quiet, relaxing stay. We are in our early thirties, and it was just what we needed for an early spring getaway to warm weather.
Expedia and similar sites had the same rate as the hotel's website and so we booked a "run of the house" room through the hotel's site. This type of room is less expensive, and a bit of a gamble because you could end up in their nicest rooms or least nice (although I can't imagine that being too shabby). The gamble paid off for us because we were put in a gorgeous suite with a living area and private balcony.
Overall, we couldn't have been happier with our experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,703 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on New River Sound, a block from the beach, the Pillars Hotel is a beautiful mix of classical British Colonial architecture and 30's "Art Deco". Well-known for its magical sunsets, unpretentious service and its special dining experience, the hotel caters to travelers looking for a sophisticated intimate venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing