We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“If we had to, we might stay again.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Ranked #73 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If we had to, we might stay again.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

We booked this hotel online for two nights before our cruise and one night afterwards. We were told by the hotel that when we arrived in Fort Lauderdale to call and they would have the shuttle come and pick us up. Well the shuttle only runs on certain days and it was not on the day we arrived.
We booked two rooms and only one of them was what we has asked for. Having the kitchen was great as we picked up breakfast for the next morning. Beds are comfortable, showers were great. Rooms were not that clean, discovered a nasty hair ball in the corner of the kitchen the first night. Keys to the room are a bit different. Staff were ok, some were friendly and some I think needed a day off.
They do not have storage for your luggage; however, they were helpful in letting us keep it behind the desk.
Great location thou, very close to the port, we walked down and saw the ships the day before we left on our cruise, lots of places to eat, the Publix is only a block away.
Starbucks is across the street.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grover39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    94
    77
    25
    16
See reviews for
44
97
33
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

We stayed here 3 nites prior to our cruise.
Basic hotel but clean. Kitchenette handy as we went to the grocery store just up the street and got breakfast materials and snacks. No restaurant but they did have free coffee in the lobby for the morning.
The location is what counts here. Just around the block from Total Wine and a large mall and down the block from another liquor store and grocery store. Next door to a Greek restaurant with great food. Across the street from some take out food as well.
We walked to Hilton Fort Lauderdale and got on the water taxi. Something I would really recommend doing. Both for the tour it self. The narration was great and for use as a "taxi"
We did walk all the way to the beach but I guess it was about 21/2 miles so maybe not for everyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford ct
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Location, location, location!!!! I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE spending one night pre-cruise because of price and LOCATION. Don't expect any bells or whistles to come with your stay here. The rooms are spartan though they do have a kitchenette with them and a decent bathroom/shower. That being said the desk staff is warm and friendly, and once again the location is great. In any of the other hotel immediately surrounding you can expect to add $70.00+ (minimum) per night to your stay.

You are surrounded by places to eat (Einstiens Bagels for breakfast- a GREAT italian restaurant across the street, a few pubs and a great raw bar around the corner. There are stores for last minute forgotten items, and a publix for wine and champagne. Best of all youi can take a ten minute walk down the block and see your ship in the morning. Those in my group on the upper floors saw the ships from their bedrooms.

Room keys are odd and you need to get the hang of them andBe aware if you are booking via the internet, you may NOT get the bed request made so it is best to call the hotel to book.

More than one night I would recommend looking for a few more amenities.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zamgwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunrise
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

i thought this hotel was pretty good for the amount of money paid.. no it's not the best things but it wasn't dirty and didn't have bugs.. i would go again..the only thing i would recommend is to bring your own pillow because theres are flat..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank latinmama87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

I am a former "Road Warrior" who has spent many nights in Extended Stay hotels. I have not been travelling for the past few years. On a business trip to Fort Lauderdale, I decided to see how Extended Stay was holding up. If this hotel is an example of the the rest of the chain, they are doing just fine.

I was greeted at the Front desk by Tahelia who was a delight. She has been with that hotel foever and seems to make all guests welcome as they arrive.

The guestroom had been updated with new furniture, new flooring, and new colors. It was clean and comfortable. The manager, Ruben Escobar, must be doing a great job because everyone I spoke with was pleasant and accommodating.

The hotel appeared to be very busy but it was quiet and overall a great place to stay. This old "Road Warrior" was happy to return and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomgibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michgan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Stayed at the hotel pre and post cruise. Although the hotel itself was more then fine, it was very unaccomadating to us. There is no place to store luggage if you need to check out before you can get onto the cruise or if you are unable to check in afterwards. The hotel right next door was far more willing to accomadate their guests luggage, and thankfully ours.
The lady at the front desk was rude and not helpful in anyway. There is very limited times that they can shuttle to or from airport or cruise lines.
The room value is pretty good but not worth the headache of caring luggage around town and dealing with the person at front desk.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendicMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast U.S.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

This hotel provides comfort and a central location whether you're traveling for business (as I did) or are in town for fun or layover.

Front desk staff was very hospitable during check-in and at other times when I needed assistance with directions and a cab during checkout. I arrived at 10:00 am, and although I could have been turned away until afternoon check-in, a room was ready, and I could escape the outdoor heat.

I've become spoiled and accustomed to accessing an in-room refrigerator and microwave, which Extended Stay always makes available.

At first I thought that other reviews about the bed (queen sized in my room) were correct regarding extra firmness, but I think my discomfort came from all the walking I did the first day. On the second night, I was much more comfortable.

The hotel is surrounded by shops selling bagels, pizza, and sandwiches as well as a Publix market and other eat-in and take-out eateries in a strip mall that's in walking distance (put on your walking shoes, because it will take about 10 minutes to get there). This is another reason why the room's kitchen is convenient.

Speaking of Publix, bring their prepared food of lemon chicken with side orders of mac & cheese and collard greens back to your room. Fantastic.

I found no bugs or in-room problems that could have been addressed during my four-day stay. One thing that may jar you is loud talking by other guests in the hallways and door closures from other rooms that seem overly loud. Both made me jump at times, and being from NYC, not much bothers me.

The #40 bus stops on the hotel's block ($1.25 per ride or a $3.00 all-day pass at this writing) and also across the street. Banks are very close, and so is Ross for Less, Office Depot, and Walgreens. Also, make sure you bring an umbrella if you're walking; that Fort Lauderdale sun is torture, and rain showers occur without warning.

The group that booked me at this hotel had a choice of putting me in Embassy Suites or the Renaissance, which are both in walking distance from Extended Stay. I'm glad they choose this facility.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Pepper1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#28 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#37 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#14 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#38 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#56 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 3,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Property: Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Address: 1450 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1710 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Airport-Cruiseport, conveniently located within walking distance to the Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Art Institute. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring fully-equipped kitchens and plenty of work space… amenities you won't find in a typical hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina Hotel
Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale
Extended Stay Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing