We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Stay, Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Ranked #73 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Northeast U.S.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

This hotel provides comfort and a central location whether you're traveling for business (as I did) or are in town for fun or layover.

Front desk staff was very hospitable during check-in and at other times when I needed assistance with directions and a cab during checkout. I arrived at 10:00 am, and although I could have been turned away until afternoon check-in, a room was ready, and I could escape the outdoor heat.

I've become spoiled and accustomed to accessing an in-room refrigerator and microwave, which Extended Stay always makes available.

At first I thought that other reviews about the bed (queen sized in my room) were correct regarding extra firmness, but I think my discomfort came from all the walking I did the first day. On the second night, I was much more comfortable.

The hotel is surrounded by shops selling bagels, pizza, and sandwiches as well as a Publix market and other eat-in and take-out eateries in a strip mall that's in walking distance (put on your walking shoes, because it will take about 10 minutes to get there). This is another reason why the room's kitchen is convenient.

Speaking of Publix, bring their prepared food of lemon chicken with side orders of mac & cheese and collard greens back to your room. Fantastic.

I found no bugs or in-room problems that could have been addressed during my four-day stay. One thing that may jar you is loud talking by other guests in the hallways and door closures from other rooms that seem overly loud. Both made me jump at times, and being from NYC, not much bothers me.

The #40 bus stops on the hotel's block ($1.25 per ride or a $3.00 all-day pass at this writing) and also across the street. Banks are very close, and so is Ross for Less, Office Depot, and Walgreens. Also, make sure you bring an umbrella if you're walking; that Fort Lauderdale sun is torture, and rain showers occur without warning.

The group that booked me at this hotel had a choice of putting me in Embassy Suites or the Renaissance, which are both in walking distance from Extended Stay. I'm glad they choose this facility.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Pepper1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    94
    77
    25
    16
See reviews for
44
97
33
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

We stay 2 nights pre cruise. Rooms very clean and staff was friendly. Booked online with a special and the rates were almost 1/2 of neighboring hotels. With that said it is a "no frills" hotel. Great location close to Pt. Everglades. A couple of restaurants close by. The water taxi and a publix grocery store were within walking distance.
Would stay there again.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank snowtosea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, MI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

My husband and I along with another couple were looking for a reasonable priced hotel that was close to restaurants, stores, etc. for a one night stay prior to our cruise. We were very happy with the location and condition of this property. Coffee and bagels were right across the street and a grocery and wine store were just a short walk away. Coffe was provided in the lobby in the mornings but they were a bit stingy on the cream and sugar.

Front desk staff was very friendly and even provided a free dessert coupon fro the Italian restaurant next door. (which was very good). Beds were a little hard and appeared smaller than stated as we were in a king room but the bed was much closer to a queen. Overall the room was very basic but most importantly it was very clean. We would certainly stay here again for a pre-cruise night.

  • Liked — the location. price, and cleanliness
  • Disliked — hard beds and pillows
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lesilek48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

Several neighboring hotels were already booked, and we wanted a location close to Pt. Everglades.

This hotel provided a decent night's stay as our pre-cruise stopover before boarding our cruise ship the next day.

We booked directly at the hotel website for the lowest rate we could find compared to other travel sites.

While the beds are small, and it's a pretty standard hotel, it is very, very close to the Port. You could walk there, but they don't allow it--you must be driven in, so get a taxi and pay $5 or so for the ride of a few minutes.

Convenient location: a popular bagel store is across the street, a Walgreens is down the block (heading toward the Port), while the Publix supermarket and shopping complex is within a ten minute a walk going the other direction toward the Embassy Suites hotel.
Overall a great value for the same type of lodging you'd find elsewhere.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Bed could be larger. Supposed to be a queen; feels like a slightly larger full-sized bed.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bikinghiking123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

We stayed at the hotel for one night both before and one night after after our cruise on the Carnival Miracle in December. Excellent shopping within walking distance - the nearby Total Wine store was awesome! The rooms were not fancy, but overall the hotel offered excellent value. We used a $10 off coupon on the hotel's site, bringing the cost of a one night stay to under $100, including taxes. At this price, the othel is definately worth considering.

  • Liked — location, price, friendly staff
  • Disliked — the cooking smells in the hallways
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave0764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

The hotel was a pleasant surprise. We were staying for one night pre cruise. The rooms were clean, spacious and had new carpet and bedding. The cost was much less then any of the hotels in the area. The only drawback was there were no amenities. No ice, breakfast, etc. The hotel is located conveniently to shopping, grocery stores, drug stores and restaurants. All within short walking distance. The air conditioning worked well and we had lots of hot water for showers. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — no amenities
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank phaze06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demorest, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2007

We stayed for 1 night precruise at this hotel. I was a little apprehensive because of lack of reviews for this hotel. But I did not have anything to worry about. We were greeted by a very friendly woman who checked us in very quickly. The hotel was going through some renovations/redecorating, but that did not interfere with our stay. Room was large and comfortable, with small kitchen facilities. Bathroom was good size. We were within walking distance to Publix where we bought some last minute items and water for our cruise. Lots of restaurants in area to choose from. We ate at a Thai restaurant that served wonderful food.

After a good nights sleep, we walked to a little diner nearby and had a great breakfast. We asked the desk clerk when we returned if she could get a cab for us. We came down at agreed time, checked out, and cab was waiting outside to take us to the Port. I would recommend staying here...it is no frills, but for one night, I cannot complain. Clean, comfortable stay.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — No frills...just basic room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank mtinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#28 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#37 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#14 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#38 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#56 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 3,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Property: Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Address: 1450 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1710 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Airport-Cruiseport, conveniently located within walking distance to the Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Art Institute. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring fully-equipped kitchens and plenty of work space… amenities you won't find in a typical hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Extended Stay, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina Hotel
Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale
Extended Stay Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing