We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and value for your moeny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Ranked #76 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
The Woodlands, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff and value for your moeny”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Everyone on the staff was very friendly and helpful, which is hard to find in Fort Lauderdale. The room is nothing fancy but it's a great value for the dollar. Having a kitchenette is really nice, whether you are staying for a long time or just a night or two. The hotel is recently renovated with a new color scheme and fixtures. Certainly not a fancy place, a curtain on the closet instead of a door and obviously cheaper bathroom fixtures, etc. But it's clean and safe and the staff more than make up for anything it lacks in décor. Very quiet, I never heard another guest even though the hotel was full. Well within walking distance to the convention center, shops and numerous restaurants. No restaurant but a grab-n-go breakfast is free and there are many restaurants close by. Did not try the fitness center so I can't say anything about it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathyfed2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    107
    92
    34
    28
See reviews for
60
117
39
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
188 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night prior to our cruise. You do have to call the hotel directly for the complementary shuttle pick up. The hotel shuttle pick up area was about a 5 minute walk from baggage claim. We travel light, so this was not a problem. We had about a 30 minute wait before our wonderful driver, Edwin, arrived. Traffic was quite busy due to weekend air travel, cruises and the BCS Championship game. Edwin provided us with a lot of information about the area as well as information on restaurants close to the hotel. Check in was fast and easy but the lobby area is small. The clerk, Cindya, was very friendly. We were thankful to be able to check in a little early. Our room was very large and included a small kitchen, bathroom, comfortable king bed with a flat screen TV and a separate living area with a sofa, chair and another flat screen TV. There were quite a few restaurants and shops within walking distance. In the evening, we were able to walk to the causeway bridge to watch the cruise ships depart. Do ask to be added to the cruise shuttle list to transfer to the pier when you check in. Transfers were only $4.00 per person. What a bargain! We chose the first shuttle in the morning and arrived at the pier security entrance within a few minutes. Would definitely stay here again before a cruise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IWork2TravelUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I booked this hotel because of the location. On the weekend we were leaving for our cruise there were no real deals to be had, so we ended up paying $185 for one night at this hotel. Steep for this level of hotel but the other prices for the first weekend in January were even higher at the other places on 17th street.

We took a taxi from the airport rather than wait for the shuttle. Taxi cost $15. When we arrived the check in process was fine, but there was a really bad odor in our room. It was late and we were hungry so we just opened the windows and had dinner next door. The smell was bearable when we returned.

The room was smaller than I expected, the stove was clearly broken (loose element and removed knobs) and the overall quality of the room was in the 2 star range.

The next morning the hotel had problems getting us a taxi to the ship and their shuttle was fully booked until mid-afternoon, an indication of how busy the port was. Eventually we flagged down a cab and got to the port. Taxi cost $10 - the shuttle would have cost $8.

Overall the only thing this hotel has going for it is location. If any other choices are available in the area for a reasonable price pick them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nepean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a good pre-cruise hotel for a day or two, but could be so much more. The one drawback is the beds – very uncomfortable. That said, there are lots of things that make this a place to stay.

We arrived after midnight so the free airport transfer was not available which was understandable. Upon arrival by taxi the front lobby was locked and the phone wasn’t working. A quick minute and an employee saw us and let us in. To their credit as soon as they knew the intercom phone was out of order they immediately placed a sign on it. This is where the recommendations by friends became evident. One in the morning and the staff couldn’t have been more helpful or friendly. We were greeted like old friends and although it was late they made sure we had everything in order.

The room was great, had been refurbished, and included a little kitchen. The only downside was the bed – almost seemed to be like a hide-a-bed – very uncomfortable and noisy. For one or two days, when coupled with the pricing and location near the port, this was a good value hotel.
In the morning they have a very small continental breakfast in the lobby – packaged muffins, bars and coffee. You also have a coffee maker in your room. Front desk staff set us up with a shuttle which we don’t usually take, but this is the hotel’s van not a private contractor. For $4.00 per person they delivered us to the ship and it was on time with a very friendly driver (actually the front desk clerk who checked us in at one in the morning).

The hotel is in a great location – a short walk to the port, Total Wine and Publix, with several restaurants and bars close by.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlk33853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights before cruising out of Fort Lauderdale. Had to wait about 30 minutes at the airport for the free hotel shuttle; perhaps that was due to us arriving around 11 pm. There was some heavy wind the first night which rattled the window facing 17th Street. Slept fine after turning on the room's fan to drown out the noise. The free breakfast consisted of granola and cereal bars so we walked to a nearby restaurant for a real breakfast. Great location for walking to nearby eating establishments and shopping as well as an easy 20-30 minute to Fort Lauderdale beach. Arranged to have the hotel shuttle take us to the cruiseport. Not impressed to find out upon checkout that we would be charged $8 per person to travel such a short distance when the free trip from the airport was a longer ride.

We had a great rate that was much cheaper than the Holiday Inn Express next door. However, since we had to buy breakfast both mornings at nearby restaurants and had to pay to ride the shuttle to the cruiseport, I recommend staying at the HI Express (especially if you get a rate similar to Extended Stay America).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for the review of your stay at our hotel. We are happy that this was a great location for you and that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary ride to and from the airport. I sincerely apologize for the long wait for our shuttle as well as the miscommunication regarding the fee for rides to the cruiseport. This amenity, as well as our Grab - N - Go breakfast, should have been properly explained during the reservation process and at check in; I have already addressed this with my staff.

I will be sure to pass along your feedback as we are constantly striving to improve. Thank you again, please feel free to contact me at fls2@extendedstay.com if you would like to discus this further. We hope we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Typical two star hotel: limited services, average bed, reasonable rate. Easily the best feature is the location. The hotel is a short distance from the airport and beach just off US1. Several drug stores, supermarkets, fast food, chain and upscale restaurants, post office, and library are within an easy walk. Giorgio's take out across the street is recommended. Business center is inadequate - plan to use adjacent hotel for boarding pass. Skip the coffee available in the morning and walk to Panera or Starbucks a block away. No maid service unless longer stay. Ask for a room away from entrance and elevators to minimize noise.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Neponset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to know that our location was a benefit. I will pass along your comments about the breakfast and business center to upper management, as we do strive to improve our hotel as much as possible.

Again thank you for choosing Extended Stay America and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed, like many, before our back-to-back cruises in May. The hotel has a shuttle for the airport and cruise port! Hotel is near many restaurants and shopping areas, all within walking distance! Our room was spacious and clean. The bed was a little hard, but, tolerable. We were even able to catch a trip to the Everglades right from the parking lot. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with directions to a local drugstore. Thank you! We would definitely stay here again for our next cruise out of Fort Lauderdale! We love this town!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
It is so rewarding to read that you had a wonderful stay with us, thank you for your comments. We appreciate you letting us know that our staff was friendly and helpful, however we are sorry for this issue with your bed. We are pleased to hear that we provided you with a comfortable stay.

Our staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#35 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#50 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,985 reviews
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#29 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Property: Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Address: 1450 SE 17th Street Cswy, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1710 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Airport-Cruiseport, conveniently located within walking distance to the Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Art Institute. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring fully-equipped kitchens and plenty of work space… amenities you won't find in a typical hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Extended Stay, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina Hotel
Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale
Extended Stay Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing