We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay pre/post cruise!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Ranked #73 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to stay pre/post cruise!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent night there 1/4/13 prior to boarding cruise on 1/5/13. Was a bit skeptical of the hotel when I booked because of the great rate, free transporation from airport and to ship. Boy was I surprised!!!! Met wonderful people at front desk, check in quick. (we got there early, they put us in our room right away) Room, nice, CLEAN, efficient. Had everything and more we needed for the 1 night. Restaurants within walking distance (try Duffys!) Signed up right away for our van to the cruiseport. They were prompt and did I mention FREE??? H.I. Express next door double the price and you pay to go to the cruiseport. No pool though but no big deal, for 1 night. I am very picky about hotels but boy this one exceeded my expectations!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Luvtheoceandjtx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write such an outstanding review. It is great to know that we exceeded you expectations and that you were pleased with our rooms, staff and location. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America and we look forward to having you and your family as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    94
    77
    25
    16
See reviews for
44
97
33
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago suburb
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Free airport shuttle was prompt. Room was ready for check in about noon when we arrived. The room was very clean. Front desk was helpful and courteous. I would stay there again before a cruise. The location is good for taking the city bus or the water taxi. You can walk to many restaurants and two large grocery stores and two large liquor stores.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cschultz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your terrific review of our property. I'm ecstatic that you thought our rooms were very clean and that the front desk was helpful and courteous. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Adequately clean, but needs a douche. Additionally both my husband and I woke up with some bug bites. Don't know if pets were allowed an they were fleas. Sheets were scratchy and the mattress was too noisy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelleygirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am so disappointed that you had issues with pests during your stay. Please accept my apology. My team and I are launching an investigation to ensure this never happens again. I hope that you will contact me directly, at fls@extendedstay.com, so I can gather additional details. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here the night before our cruise. This place is close to both the Fort Lauderdale airport and the cruise terminal. Its very clean and in excellent condition. The location is nice--coffee shops and restaurants all around. The price was very competitive, actually better than comparable properties.

There is a free shuttle from the airport and to the cruise port. We were disappointed that there was a 45 min wait for the shuttle on the day our flight came in. We ended up taking a cab ($16 including tip). But the shuttle to the cruise port was very efficient.

Be sure you understand this is not a full-service hotel. There is no pool or restaurant. And teh breakfast is a "grab and go" with fruit, energy bars, coffee and juice--just enough to get your morning started.

Would I stay here again? Yes, for sure, without any hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogueMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the hotels location and we apologize that you were disappointed with the hotels airport pickup service. Please know that we are continually working to provide our guest with the best experience possible. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We got there and checked in very quick.

Room was very clean, no problems at all. Shuttles to the cruiseport were often enough and had zero problems. Would stay there again!

It's in walking distance to a Walgreens, right across the street from a Chipotle, Starbucks & Einstein Brothers for breakfast. Liquor store 2 blocks away as well!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FightOnTrojans5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to thank you for such a delightful review. I'm glad that you found the hotel clean and comfortable, as we want every guest to consider Extended Stay America their “home away from home”. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for one night. The entire staff were efficient and helpful. Only complaints were that the sink was getting a crack rm 112 and the bed spread kept sliding off of the bed. There are great restaurants in the area. We ate at the Southport Raw Bar which has great seafood and is only two blocks. I would return .especially since it is so affordable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review . It's great to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have stayed here twice, once back in 2009 and again in 2012. We needed a place to stay before our cruises and this hotel fit our needs perfectly. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the staff were pleasant and the hotel is in a fantastic location. That was all we were looking for.

The room had a large refrigerator and a small kitchenette which we did not use, but would definitely be useful for a longer stay. The hotel was not very large, which made it easy to get around and easy to exit. This is where this hotel pays off. Location..location...location.

This hotel is within easy walking distance to a grocery store, a Walgreens, a liquor store and several restaurants (we eat at Duffy's). We were able to buy all of our cruise supplies and walk them back to the hotel (we used the alley behind the hotel because it is much faster).

We had coffee and fruit from their free continental breakfast before the shuttle (Included free, must sign up) took us to the cruise port. The hotel also offers a shuttle from the airport, but we did not use it. We will definitely stay there again if cruising from Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm thrilled that you found our hotel as a perfect fit for you cruise. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#27 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#36 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#14 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,023 reviews
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#38 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#56 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Property: Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Address: 1450 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1710 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Airport-Cruiseport, conveniently located within walking distance to the Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Art Institute. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring fully-equipped kitchens and plenty of work space… amenities you won't find in a typical hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Extended Stay and Expedia so you can book your Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina Hotel
Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale
Extended Stay Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing