We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Ranked #69 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Davisburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed one night, leaving for a cruise the next morning. We checked in late and check in was good. The room itself was dirty- the bedspread had no less than 11 cigarette burns- some were 4 and 5 inches long. The smoke smell of the room just about knocked you over when you walked in. The shuttle to the cruise port was good and the driver was very nice. I guess to sum it up the staff was good but did not make up for the rooms. The smell from the sewage treatment plant behind the hotel is not great while waiting outside. I have stayed at at least 10 different hotels in the Fort Lauderdale area and this would be second from the bottom on my list- there are much better hotels in the area, guess thats what we get for booking last minute when nothing else was available.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
"Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Given our company's commitment to superior guest service, it was great to read about your positive experience with our staff. Of course, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. You certainly have my sincerest apologies.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    94
    80
    26
    16
See reviews for
48
97
34
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I decided to book this hotel because it offered shuttle service between the airport and the hotel, and the hotel to the cruise port. I also chose it because they offered a free breakfast.

Well, the service does not accommodate incoming travelers for shuttle service from the airport from 10am-4pm because it shuttles people elsewhere. Nice. We had to take a $20 cab to get to the hotel. Our room smelled funny, but was clean, for the most part. Breakfast was a joke. They had 2 packaged muffins, a couple of apples and some coffee. I wouldn't even eat that if I was alone, let alone with my whole family.

I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Find a hotel somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin A, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
"Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina. We are committed to providing every guest with outstanding accommodations, so I was pleased to read your remarks about your room. Of course, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. For that I am truly sorry.

We know that you have several lodging options, which is why it is so important to us that we provide you with a great room at a great rate, while still giving you something extra, like our expanded coffee bar. I do certainly recognize, however, that if you are looking for a full breakfast, our coffee bar won't satisfy you. I sincerely wish we had been better able to communicate exactly what our morning service includes so that you would not have been disappointed.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

From the time we got out off the shuttle we felt as if we were an imposition on the staff. We were fumbling with the door and our luggage. Lady from the front desk had just been looking though the door and left us there without offering to help. She could have held the door open. Then there were two ladies behind the desk and they seemed put out at having to deal with us. Night shift clerk was nice enough. The room was dirty. The windows had not been cleaned seemed like years. There was a kitchen with very little utensils and dishes. One pot. Terrible. We have stayed at many hotels and this was the worse kitchen I have ever seen. There was no table to eat at. The door kept getting stuck and you had to make a very loud noise to close it. We didn't get our room cleaned as we didn't trust any of the rude staff that we encountered.
Grab and go breakfast was a piece of fruit and a power bar (which they ran out of). Coffee was only available during breakfast time.
I would never ever stay here again. Looks good from the outside but beware.
Yes, it has a shuttle to the airport and cruise port but there are others that do as well. I would recommend Hampton Inn which I stayed at during same trip. See my review of that one.

Room Tip: Can't bring myself to be able to answer this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melba13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aristides M, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
"Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience at Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina. Providing for your total satisfaction, from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, is my staff's primary duty. Hearing that we failed in your case is truly disheartening, and for that, I offer you my sincerest apology.

Our hotel prides itself on exceptional customer service. We know that you have many lodging choices in our area, so we see it as our duty to go the extra mile however we can. Not only is this my personal belief, but it is a guiding principle at our hotel. I have, therefore, reviewed with each staff member the importance of being professional and courteous to every one of our guests, no matter the circumstances.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here 1 night prior to a cruise. The location was good as it is very close to Port Everglades and surrounded by shops and restaurants. A Walgreens was very close by.
The room we had was clean and basic but very dark and the bathroom was ready for renovation. Free wifi in rooms. Free grab n go breakfast items incl muffins, granola bars, and coffee. Free shuttle to the cruise port.
Would stay again if the price was good but we felt we paid far too much .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

This place is good to stay at for a few days. I liked the option of smoking or non. The tvs are big and beds are firm. Housecleaning is very attentive here. I liked the option of being able to smoke in the room. There is good security here in fact you have to enter a code to enter the building. Plenty of good restaurants around. Overall, recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aryan122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night prior to a cruise the following day. There were eight of us and we had 2 rooms. Each room had 2 double beds. This hotel is not bad. I think it just needs a lot of up-dating. Very drab and the comforters were very old and stained.
I do have to say however.....the staff is INCREDIBLE. The two ladies at the front desk were remarkable and the shuttle bus driver.......MISS EDITH...OMG....she is amazing. What a hard working lady. I hope they pay her well.
This hotel is also in a great location. Just wish they would invest a few dollars and update. THEN it would be perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiecruiser007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
257 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Extended Stay is a basic hotel without the amenities. Rooms are clean and staff is very friendly and helpful. We were picked up at the airport in a timely manner and booked the shuttle to the cruise ship.
Hotel is well located on SE 17th, a short walk to restaurants, shops, Publix and Total Wine.
The breakfast is disappointing, only coffee, packaged muffins, energy bars and fruit. We went to the Harbor restaurant next door for breakfast.
Shuttle to the cruise ship was on time and very convenient.
We booked the hotel online and got a discount for CAA membership. If you exit the site before booking you get a coupon code for an additional $10 off.
Lack of a pool resulted in us booking a different hotel post cruise.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#39 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#33 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#14 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#19 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#32 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Property: Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Address: 1450 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1710 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Airport-Cruiseport, conveniently located within walking distance to the Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Art Institute. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring fully-equipped kitchens and plenty of work space… amenities you won't find in a typical hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina Hotel
Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale
Extended Stay Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing