We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only for big families, preferably with dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East
Ranked #110 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Austria, Europe
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“only for big families, preferably with dogs”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This LQ seems to try hard to get "good" customers, but unfortunately they do not succeed. There are a lot of big families, having uneducated kids, leaving behind them a lot of trash, bringing dogs to the pool.....

The beds are much too soft, I always woke up with my back aching. The rest was working properly.

Breakfast is only till 9:00, which means that all the big families come at 8:50, take a huge amount of food to their rooms and leave nothing for the normal traveler. The employees try to restuff the buffet, but constantly they run out of cups or coffee or bagels or fruit......

We told them on the first day that the back door did not work - they gave us a new room key (why???), but obviously the door did not work with this either. We told them twice, noone cared to check. When we left 2 days later, the door would still not work.

Behind the pool there is a lot of trash (paper cups, cans....), which urgently needs cleaning. In the pool there were 2 frogs living, i.e. the pool had not been cleaned for a long time.

I would come back, not to spend the night, but just to see if they succeeded.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evaschw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    73
    64
    47
    59
See reviews for
111
47
44
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

The room was clean and quiet. Bed was comfortable. I did find it odd that the lock/latch on the pocket door to the bathroom was "fixed" with a strip of duct tape. It was obvious the door had been used previously in another location/room, as it had previously had a lock set on the opposite side of where the broken one currently is. At the electrical outlet by the vanity, someone had broken off part of the electrical plug to an appliance in the socket. When we brought it to the attention of the front desk at check-out, they were very concerned and immediately got on the phone to maintenance.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFYDumfries_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caen, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

I stayed there in 2008, very satisfied so I tried it again in November 2009; the staff is always courteous and helpful, the rooms are clean as are the fridge ,microwave and coffee maker , plenty of towels, quiet; for the price what could you ask more?
oh, and breakfast is really OK ( cereals, bagels, yoghurts, coffee, OJ, milk, apples...).
I can't say I saw a prostitute alone or with a client during my stay. I used the laundry next door to the adult video store across the road from the hotel, never been bothered by anyone.
This hotel is clean and safe.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbcParisFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Everything was great about this hotel. The staff was very friendly, Rooms very clean, and newly renovated, excellent rates. However, having prostitutes hanging around the hotel, picking up people across the street at the porn store and bringing them to the hotel truly is destructive to this hotel's reputation.

If it weren't for this illegal activity, I would have given this hotel a "4" or maybe even a "5" rating. But I personally don't like to be approached by prostitutes or watch them hang around the front desk and socialize with the staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KuyaKano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Yes, the price is right in today's economy but.....
sitting in the pool area at 9pm on a Friday night witnessing police arrest a someone at their car was NOT entertaining. Noticing from inside our room window, two police cars parked in the bank parking lot next door at 4pm the next afternoon..was that random or a stake out? Many cars driving at night through the lot with their dark tinted windows and music blaring was unsettling. Smells and smoke from marijuana coming from staircase hallway at night....not enjoyable.

Our next door room guests were having many laughs and fun at 12 o'clock midnight...we drowned out their noise by leaving the bathroom fan on all night.

My blanket had a large hole in it as well as a cigarette burn on the sheet. The bathroom shower area was not as clean as it could be and the tile floor needs to be replaced as there were many holes and cracks in it. The television had a mind of its own as it frequently would change from the program we were watching to the menu screen for video games/movies without the remote or tv being touched.

The girl at the front desk was helpful when she printed out our boarding passes for our flight home the next day.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grrr2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

I have nice memories of my stay in La Quinta Inn & Suites in Naples- the rooms were spacious, furnishings were new and bright and of good quality, and the pools big and heated. This one in Fort Lauderdale Tamarac is on Commercial Boulevard. Location-wise, it's a little far from Las Olas and the beach (about 10 to 15 mins drive).

Furnishings and ambience were the same, but the difference is the size and the service. Here they missed the personal touch and real helpfulness, the pool was heated but quite dirty, the rooms much smaller, no fitness center, and the breakfast was limited in options. For the price that we paid ($65 including tax), we've had much better.

All in all, it's a nice, clean place to stay a night or two but nothing to wow about.

One thing about la quinta: is it really so difficult for them to end the breakfast at 9.30am or 10am instead of 9am on the dot? For weary travellers who's just ended a late night, waking up at 8.30 or 8.45am for the lousy breakfast is a real torture.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittykyky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Very helpful staff, lacks a few goodies. Could use a change in the breakfest menu, not all rooms have fridges, access to a printer would be nice. Over all it was clean and the staff were very pleasent.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YYZ2LAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Lauderdale
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Tamarac
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Laud...
#67 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
395 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft Lauderdale Cypress Creek
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft Lauder...
#93 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
445 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Northeast
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Nor...
#70 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#78 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Tamarac
2.8 mi away
Universal Palms Hotel
Universal Palms Hotel
#90 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East

Property: La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East
Address: 3800 W Commercial Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, LaQuinta, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Tamarac East Hotel Fort Lauderdale
La Quinta Fort Lauderdale
La Quinta Tamarac East
Fort Lauderdale La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing