We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, attentive, and very central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #33 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Had a wonderful three day stay at the Renaissance, enjoyed the buffet breakfast which was served with a smile and the pretty pool and hot tub in the evenings were a real treat. Staff were especially friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathrathbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

947 - 953 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2011

Internet doesn't work. Hotel not good for business trip. Check in complicated.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eduardol_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTLRenaissanceGM, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2011

As part of creating a exceptional guest experience, my executive team and I review the issues that our guests encounter on a daily basis. TripAdvisor is incredibly important to us as it provides unbiased snapshots of our business.

I understand that when you checked into the hotel there was an issue with the functionality of the internet. Please accept my personal apologies and know that we are currently working on a $75,000 upgrade to the internet system. In the next 60 days, we will have the fastest internet available to a full-service hotel.

In addition, we have also eliminated any charges associated with wireless internet until the upgrade is completed.

Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to taking care of you on your next trip to Fort Lauderdale.

At Your Service,


rps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We arrived 5 days early for our Cruise so we could explore . The hotel was wonderful,rooms were clean and large just what I needed to hold my shopping adventures. The staff was very helpful and always attentive to our needs . Parking was not bad don't remember what we paid. I will book this hotel again. Extremely clean and tidie.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Just stayed the one night before our cruise. Arrived in the evening after our flight into Miami from the UK so we didn't get to see the pool area. The room was very pleasant and the bed was extremely comfortable.

When we went for a walk the next morning, it appeared at first that the hotel is kind of in the middle of nowhere, but there is a really nice restaurant (Bimini Boatyard) just behind the hotel, where we had lunch before getting the shuttle bus to the cruise port. We also came back up to this area by taxi after the cruise when we were staying on the beach, to go to the 15th St Fisheries restaurant so this would be another option if you were staying here.

Great for the cruise ship terminal, but I wouldn't say it would be the place to spend your full holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMandyinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

I stayed at the Renaissance with my family the night prior to our cruise. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating upon our arrival and check-in was a breeze. The lobby was extrememly clean and beautifully decorated. The hotel rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean. My brother and I ordered room service for dinner, which came very promptly. The food was nothing too special, but it was definitely good enough for a nice, quick in-room dinner. A staff member even came a few minutes after our meal had been taken away to make sure we had gotten everything we needed! My family came in very late at night due to an incompetent driving service (not affiliated with the Renaissance) that we had booked to take us to the hotel. When we told them what had happened, they told us we could use the hotel driving service to be taken to the airport when we returned from the Cruise. The vehicle was waiting for us as soon as we disembarked, and we had a hassle-free return trip!
The only issue (and a very small one) was that my family had booked 3 rooms, which all ended up being on separate floors. We would have preferred to be on the same floor, especially because we were travelling with my elderly grandfather. However, the staff came to each floor with us and delivered our luggage to our rooms. Besides that, everything was great - it was a lovely stay - wish we could have been there longer!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliehansell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Got this hotel through priceline on the name your price option and stayed one night. Previous reviewer pretty much nailed it. The staff was excellent and the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The main point of this review was to enlighten anyone planning on driving to this hotel and parking. The self park is $20/night and the valet is $25/night, both very high for this area of Ft. Lauderdale. Hotel is located adjacent to an upscale shopping plaza which is owned by the same group that owns the hotel and was told by the staff that they aggressively tow any overnight cars that park in the plaza that have not paid the extortionary rate that the hotel demands the guests of the hotel pay to park. Shower pressure was not great, but very reasonable. Bottom line, this is a fine hotel to stay at, just be prepared for the additional charge if you decide to drive here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChangesInLatitudes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTLRenaissanceGM, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences in our hotel - my Executive team and I take each TripAdvisor review as a serious snapshot of our operation.

In regards to the price of parking, we set our rate levels based upon similar hotels from a market survey conducted in January 2010. As father who enjoys traveling with his family, I understand that this can be an unexpected expense. Having said this, we have chosen to not increase our prices for 2011.

Finally, I would like to share with you that this hotel is owned separately from the commercial real estate and parking lots adjoining the property. Please know that there is no intent to force anyone to park with us by threatening to tow or ticket.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to being you preferred hotel in Fort Lauderdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

The Renaissance ended up being a very good place to rest up and recover after a long flight. It is located near Fort Lauderdale Airport, check-in was fast and effecient, there is lots of hot water and Aveda amenities for a nice shower, and the beds are very comfortable. The free wi-fi is a plus and the desk area set-up is effecient. The fitness center is a place to get an adequate work out and there is food and shopping for nececities near-by. The swimming pool area was pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjb415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#57 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,305 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,873 reviews
7.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $162 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Travelocity, Splitty, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing