We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Renaissance Standards!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Stayed at the hotel for one night only prior to heading out on vacation through Ft Lauderdale. Hotel is located right by the cruise pier so location is very good. That is pretty much where the good news stops for this hotel.

Check in was pretty bad. Everyone was checking in for a cruise. The check in person just assumed so was I so she just stated "Princess Cruise check in"....then I said no and she just turned away. I had to wait for someone else. Booking was messed up so that was not good either. Finally got our room. It was small but pleasant.

Bed was not comfortable and pillows were horrible. Bring your own to this hotel if you are staying more than one night!

Bar service was not good. When we went to the bar, there was no bartender in sight however people were having drinks so I knew they were open. We waited awhile and finally a rather harried bartender came and took our order. Right after that another bartender showed up but then there must have been some function so that the bar was packed to capacity and going nuts with drink orders. We were going to just eat in the bar but decided to go to the restaurant instead. This hotel also seems to have functions so it was really crazy that evening with noise and people everywhere.

Bar and restaurant are very small for this busy of a hotel. Restaurant had very good service, especially since there was only one other couple eating here. Pricing was pretty expensive but we were tired and didn't want to go anywhere else at this point.

Hotel is just ok for a pre cruise hotel but as for vacation.....not.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelNut70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,038 - 1,044 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2009

Prior to our cruise at the end of March, we stayed at the Renaissance Fort Lauderdale. This is a beautiful hotel, with great service. Our bellman brought in our luggage while giving a tour of the whole hotel, and an overview of the area. The beds are like all Marriott beds, extremely comfortable and plush. We had a great view of the canal, as well as all the cruise ships, which left from the port right across the street. How convenient is that!
The day of the cruise, we came down and had a wonderful, though somewhat expensive, breakfast and then picked up some last minute items from Walgreen across the street. The location of the hotel is wonderful. Really close to US-1 and also near other attractions such as Las Olas Blvd. All in all, great hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemgal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

We stayed her pre and post cruise and it was extremely convenient to the cruise port. The staff were absolutely excellent and they did even tell us that it was a better deal to take the cab than the shuttle. (however we were able to strike a deal with the shuttle driver and go for $20 for the 4 of us) We were given a room with a view of the channel and thus, saw our ship out of our window in the morning! Exciting! The front desk brought us little tubes of toothpaste as ours had been taken away going through security at the airport. They also handled receiving a parcel from UPS for me and reminded me that they had received it upon
check-in.

They were also very accommodating post cruise and allowed us to check in at about 10:00 am instead of usual check in time of 4:00 pm, although there were no view rooms available at that time. They let us have a late (1:00pm checkout) pre and post cruise too.

We were a bit disappointed that the "continental breakfast" was not included, as we had assumed it would be. They did serve fresh ice water with orange slices in the lobby by the elevators throughout the day which was refreshing and a nice touch.

The room we had post cruise was not that clean. The walls of the bathroom were filthy and there was a long black hair stuck to the bathroom wall. Ugh. There was also lots of dust that has collected under the glass on top of the desk and the desk was damaged and leaning to one side. We didn't complain, but we weren't as impressed with the value after noticing how unclean it was. I think they just need to talk to their cleaning staff and do some inspections of their own to get things back into shape.

I checked for bed bugs (as I do EVERYWHERE I stay) and there was NO evidence of any kind in either of the rooms we stayed.

There is an excellent italian restuarant just across the parking lot from the hotel. Not to be missed!! Marni, the server is very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lizzzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

stayed here one night precruise. Checked in late at night with no problems, booked on PL for $110, altho the web rate dropped to $149. The hotel was fairly quiet being a Sunday night, Monday morning departure. Walked to NOAH;s for bagels and then went to Publix for wine and water. The room was fine, pool area is very nice looking, smallish pool and more adult oriented.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

We arrived at hotel at 8:30am after cruise and expected to wait to 3:00pm to check-in. To our surprise, the room was available and we were able to check in immediately. Personnel at desk was extremely friendly and helpful. Provided us with area information, maps, explained how the "trolley" worked and where to take it. Room had 2 queen size beds, large bathroom and extremely clean. On check-out day, our flight was scheduled for 9:00am so we went down to lobby at 6:15am to get breakfast and get ready to leave for airport. As there was bad weather the night before in various states, we decided to check on the status of our flight at the reception desk and found out that our flight was cancelled! The representative at the desk immediately called the airline on our behalf and kept calling until he reached someone that could assist us with our cancelled flight. We were re-scheduled on a flight leaving Fort Lauderdate at 9:20pm that same day. As check-out time is 12:00noon, we were concerned as we could not deal with having to take care of our luggage and be without a place to stay for that long a period of time. The Manager of the hotel came to see us and made arrangements for us to keep the room until 4:00pm at no extra charge. Needless to say, we were extremely grateful. Our entire experience at The Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Hotel was the very best we ever had in all the years we have been travelling, If ever in Fort Lauderdale again, we would definitely stay at this hotel. Congratulations to all the personnel who made our stay a memorable one and offered such personalized service.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontrealersLarryNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We stayed here three nights pre-cruise in mid- Feb. and it was a very relaxing start to our vacation. We found the property clean and the staff very accommodating and friendly, especially Andrew the bell-hop. We requested if available, a room overlooking the cruise harbor and the staff went out of their way to grant this request. The location allowed easy access to shopping and restaurants. While the pool area was close to the road landscaping provided privacy. My wife and son loved the oversized, round, padded lounge chairs near the pool. I expect that our next trip to Fort Lauderdale will find us at The Renaissance again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan54669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

We recently booked three nights at this hotel for a long weekend. It has been recently updated to a good standard. Rooms are a good size, bedding nice (pillows were awful) and the hotel is well kept. It is also conveniently located.

Check in was long because of an error in their system, one that had already been discussed 2 days prior to arrival and supposedly resolved by in house reservations.

The initial room we were given reeked of cigarette smoke and this is a non smoking hotel. We were given a different room and upgrade to club level. This room was larger and quiet, and most importantly, smoke free.

We were really looking forward to Club access but we arrived to find a family of 5 who had apparently adopted the club as their childrens' personal playground. Shredded paper littered the floor, the kids were racing around and speaking - if you can call it that - loudly. One of the brats pushed in front of me as I was getting my coffee and picked up food then put it down again as his doting mother watched. I went to the lounge attendant to let her know she needed to throw out the food but she had already noticed.

We took our coffee to go as we were not looking for a day center environment and she followed us out to apologize. She said others had complained as well and told me I should call and report it as she could not do anything. I went back to the room and called the front desk and suggested they send a manager to check out the situation. To make a long story short, this obnoxious family continued to do as they chose for the duration of your stay.

Our room safe had been left locked by the previous occupant and we always lock up our stuff when we go to work out in the mornings. When we reported it the first night, we were told to call in the morning and they would send someone up. I did that and was told the tool used to fix it was broken. So no safe.

We decided to cut our stay here short and left after two nights.

I called when we got home and got the name and email address of two managers; I sent them emails immediately with this information. They have yet to respond or even acknowledge my correspondence.

I suppose I should not be surprised.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank caviargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#37 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#57 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,960 reviews
7.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $172 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port hotel near Port Everglades is perfectly situated in the heart of Fort Lauderdale’s vibrant 17th Street cruise district. We are located at the entrance to Port Everglades and the Broward County Convention Center, 5 minutes from Fort Lauderdale Beach, downtown Fort Lauderdale and Las Olas Blvd. Hop on the Water Taxi, we’re steps from the stop. If arriving by plane, we’re only 10 minutes from Fort Lauderdale International Airport and while renting a car is easy, the Sun Trolley is a unique way to get around. Our renovated lobby, restaurants, and guest rooms provide a contemporary coastal feel. Relax under swaying palm trees, catch a nap in a pool-side cabana, or sip cocktails under the Fort Lauderdale sun. Whether starting or ending the day, our culinary team will awaken your senses. Sip locally roasted coffee at Calusa Coffee Bar, treat yourself to a locally-inspired meal at Bistro 17, or enjoy craft cocktails and local beers at R Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing