We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend a great night before you cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Great location to stay the night before the cruise. Friendly staff, check in was a breeze, nice clean rooms, comfortable beds, great breakfast. The view was nice. Easy to get to and very convenient to the port. We would stay here again. Also, if you've forgotten anything, there's a Walgreens across the street. Lounge bar was nicely decorated and bartenders were friendly and efficient. I only wish parking was free and there was a shuttle to the port. Take a walk to the Bimini bar and admire the boats nearby.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have better views. Facing west would overlook the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Hi Lorrie -

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel and vicinity - we appreciate you staying with us and hope you return to South Florida very soon!

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

Had the absolute pleasure to overnight in Renaissance Ft Lauderdale.
Hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean, staff very friendly and helpful, decor is beautiful.

We were surprised to have such big comfortable rooms, the most amazing beds we ever slept on and an added bonus the lovely view from our room. Big tv's with HD.

Breakfast the following morning was fresh with a wide variety to choose from. We encountered a plumbing problem in our room, I phoned down to reception and they send somebody up within a minute! We werent even out the door when he arrived and fixed it.

Wifi is available in the lobby. Couple of shops and restaurants (Wallgreens / Electronics store / clothing stores etc) located within walking distance from Hotel.

Well worth it! This hotel gets 10/10 in my book!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 505 and had a beautiful view of the hotel pool and garden as well as part of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnT0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Greetings!

Thank you for staying with us and all of your kind comments - we really appreciate it!

Look forward to your return trip to sunny Fort Lauderdale!

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very nice Renaissance hotel, slightly off the road and easy to miss if driving too fast. Concierge level is nice, slightly small room for the size of hotel and with two 2 floors for Gold and Platinum members. Service was good and breakfast was ok, Oatmeal was lukewarm to cold 3 days in a row. breakfast was not much more than most hotels offer for free, standard faire - cereal, toast, fruit but the evening snacks were good. Had a hamburger in their restaurant for lunch it was tasteless and dry - lettuce was wilted (overpriced) All minor hiccups -- Overall, good hotel, clean, well maintained and good value - would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us recently while you were visiting Fort Lauderdale. I am terribly sorry about your experience with our food - we are normally on point and have such great chefs. I will ensure they receive this feedback and are able to address the short comings.

Thanks, again and we hope to see you again in the future when your travels bring you to sunny Fort Lauderdale!

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed here a few nights ago with a friend and had a great time. The Tall gentleman that checked me in David I believe was very knowledgeable about the area and local things to do. Very friendly and pleasant. The Front office team really tries their best to go above and beyond to fulfill and request you may have. (within reason of course) I was glad to see Nanad who I met 2 years ago when I first stayed at this property. Amazing young man with a great attitude, great at what he does. Apparently he only works part time now which is a shame. Tishayla and Debra were also great and very friendly. The rooms were nice very clean and the bathroom remodel came out great. If you stay here try and as for a higher floor facing east. There are a lot of great places within walking distance but the food at the hotel is perfectly fine. Keron who was our bartender for the night was great. very hard worker who pretty much runs the show by himself with one person helping. who was also great!!! love it here. very close to the cruise port and airport!! I will definitely be back!!! thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor facing east if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Hi Jason-

Welcome back! I wish I had an opportunity to meet you while you were our guest - perhaps next time. Thank you for the kind remarks about our team - I really appreciate you taking the time to recognize them - they are rather spectacular!!

Look forward to seeing you on a future trip to Fort Lauderdale.

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I traveled to Fort Lauderdale on business this past week, the entire staff at the hotel couldn’t be more pleasant. I was on a club floor and enjoyed breakfast in the club room. My room was a decent size, although the bathroom was on the small side the Aveda amenities made up for the size. Water was replenished and the bed was comfy. The hotel location was perfect so close to restaurants, shopping, convention center ,cruise port and airport. The hotel offers a flat rate shuttle to the airport and cruise port for $15.00 each way. Food was really good and I though reasonable. I enjoyed my stay and will return.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review - I am so glad our staff took great care of you and you were able to enjoy your time here in Fort Lauderdale.

We look forward to your return trip when your travels bring you our way!

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights for a convention. Close by the cruiseport, clean and convenient. Typical Marriott style with its limitations. Staff very eager to help and friendly. Limited room service. Comfortable room and beds.

Would recommend to those spending the night pre/post cruise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siciliangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I hope that if you are back in Fort Lauderdale you will join us again!

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The hotel itself was nice and the staff were all very helpful. However, did not provide any type of shuttle service and had to pay to park my car at the hotel that I had already paid a large amount to stay at.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri7067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Hi Sherry-

I hope you enjoyed Tortuga! I seems like they had a great crowd this year! And thank you for staying with us while in Fort Lauderdale. We hope you come see us again if you are back in the area.

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#37 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#57 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,960 reviews
7.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $172 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port hotel near Port Everglades is perfectly situated in the heart of Fort Lauderdale’s vibrant 17th Street cruise district. We are located at the entrance to Port Everglades and the Broward County Convention Center, 5 minutes from Fort Lauderdale Beach, downtown Fort Lauderdale and Las Olas Blvd. Hop on the Water Taxi, we’re steps from the stop. If arriving by plane, we’re only 10 minutes from Fort Lauderdale International Airport and while renting a car is easy, the Sun Trolley is a unique way to get around. Our renovated lobby, restaurants, and guest rooms provide a contemporary coastal feel. Relax under swaying palm trees, catch a nap in a pool-side cabana, or sip cocktails under the Fort Lauderdale sun. Whether starting or ending the day, our culinary team will awaken your senses. Sip locally roasted coffee at Calusa Coffee Bar, treat yourself to a locally-inspired meal at Bistro 17, or enjoy craft cocktails and local beers at R Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing