We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel is close to the airport and the cruise port so it is a pretty good location. The service was great and I had a late night meal at the hotel bar that was very good. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable but it is showing its age in places. The do have a nice lounge on the 12 th floor if you are a rewards member

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biztravr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback - it is greatly appreciated.

We hope you join us again if your travels bring you to Fort Lauderdale!

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel is in a good location if you want to stay near the airport or cruise port. It's a nice hotel with out dated but clean rooms.
Because of military benefits I got a good deal on a room on the concierge floor which included a very nice breakfast.
As I said the rooms are out dated. If they revamp them I'll be back, otherwise I'll stay at Embassy Suites next time.

Room Tip: Our room looked at the marina and we could see our cruise ship from a distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and your feedback - we do appreciate hearing about our guest experience.

With regards to the guest rooms, we are renovating the entire hotel - the rooms will be completed by October and we have a brand new look which I think you will really like.

So, please come back and be our guest again!

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

After reading a lot of reviews, decided to stay at the Renaissance because of the location near Port Everglades. Arrived in FLL by 5pm, nice welcome from the staff , really fast check-in process and in a few minutes we were in our room. Very nice clean room ; and quite a view from the port and FLL(specially at night - beautiful city - explored better when we arrived from our cruise). Quite good options nearby, restaurants,shops. We had breakfast in our fare, really good, decent food and service. We took the shuttle service to the Port, booked early morning outside the lobby. Shuttle on schedule and arrived in the cruise terminal on time. We had an issue with our bill: once when we arrived home, discovered they charged us for 2 nights instead of one. Contacted the hotel through booking.com, and the problem was solved promptly. Really recommend this property, specially if you plan going on a cruise.

Room Tip: Higher floors, east side: quiet room and nice view of the port, city and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robteix2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and your feedback - I am glad that we were able to resolve the billing issue to your satisfaction.

We hope if you come back to Fort Lauderdale for a cruise or to just enjoy the sun, you stay with us again!

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

After booking through a third party website, we arrived at the hotel for a romantic getaway. The hotel said they couldn't find our reservation and agreed to call the number listed on our confirmation page. Apparently, the third party website, despite sending us a confirmed email, didn't confirm with the hotel. The hotel was on the phone with them for over 45 minutes to try and locate our reservation. Even though this mishap wasn't the fault of the hotel itself, they went above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay at their property. Our room was upgraded, and we received free breakfast/free cocktails. Our room was beautiful, our stay was great and the service was unforgettable - I'd definitely consider coming back here! Many thanks to the staff - particularly Tabitha and Debra!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alyse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hi Alyse,

Thank you for staying with us and your kind remarks about our hotel - in particular Debra and Tabitha. I will make sure they are personally and publically recognized at our all hotel meeting this week!!

We look forward to having you back with us as a guest.

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is on a great location for an overnight pre or post cruiser but its not a destination property. Its been renovated and is very clean updated and fairly upscale but the rooms still have the popcorn ceilings and the walls are stuccoed. Looks dated. Rooms are well equipped w flat screen TV etc. Bar was crowded w 20 something crowd. Smallish pool and spa that looked very nice. Gave this hotel 3 stars based upon dated look and fairly high room rates ~ $300 got the Friday night we were there. Carried out food from bar - very good. Lots of strip malls nearby to eat shop etc and very convenient to airport and cruise port.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Kara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Greetings, Kara -

Thank you for staying with us and appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel. Incidentally, we will be undergoing a renovation beginning in June of this year - all of the guest rooms and some public space so we hope you will be back to see our new product!

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We spent one night before our cruise in March 2014. There is no airport shuttle but the taxi was only about $14. The hotel has a very large nicely kept lobby with courteous and efficient front desk personnel. We did arrive at around ten thirty in the morning and, of course, did not expect our room to be anywhere near ready. However, it was not a long wait having spent a little time in the lobby "people watching" and then deciding to have an early lunch in the Bistro. We had very nice cob salads and at around noon we received a call from the front desk that our room was ready. Front desk personnel were friendly and were very sorry not to have anything ready earlier - this was no problem for us. The room was what we had expected - two double beds, a nice clean bathroom and the room in general was neat and clean. The partial view of the bay was pretty and we could see the cruise ship port from there and could watch them sail out later in the day. We were on a higher floor and it was very quiet and we could not hear noise from rooms around us. We were not interested in an internet connection - this was just a place to spend the night before a cruise. the bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. The bathroom was a nice size and clean with lots of towels. There was the usual flat screen television and the remote for a change was easy for me a non technical person to use. There is a small desk, a chair and a small loveseat type sofa. The hotel is on a street which is actually a busy, busy four lane highway, but when we went out later, we found it was not hard to get across. Lots of places to shop and plenty of restaurants nearby. There is a Walgreens directly across the street. We arranged for transportation to the pier the next morning for just $6.00 per person. This shuttle is run independent of the hotel. All in all we were very happy with this hotel and would recommend to anyone and would stay there when we sail from Fort Lauderdale again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greeneyes084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and your detailed review! I am sure this will be so helpful to future travelers - I know I always like the detailed reviews when I am traveling to an unknown location.

Thanks, again and we look forward to seeing you on future trips to sunny Florida!

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here one night before a cruise for the first time. I found the customer service from all staff outstanding! Everyone at the front desk provided great service (can't remember names, but it doesn't matter as everyone was equally great in their service skills). I also had great service from the Bell Men; and the housekeeping staff; and the room service dining staff. The rooms are very clean, bed very comfortable, shower (rain shower head) was incredible. Quiet for sleeping. Loved the little outdoor pool - the closeness to a few restaurants - recommendations provided by the front desk staff. I've stayed at hotels in Ft. Lauderdale with 'bigger names' and bigger prices - and they come no where near competing to this hotel. Customer service goes a long way - and the staff did an outstanding job! Way to go! I'll definitely come back - hopefully for a longer stay - and highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The room I had was on the higher floor - not facing the cruise port - but that didn't matter. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calvin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Greetings, Calvin-

Thank you for being our guest and really appreciate the compliments regarding our hotel and staff. I read your review to my team this morning at our meeting - it made everyone's day.

We look forward to you returning to our hotel and again, thank you.

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#37 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,181 reviews
7.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#57 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $195 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port hotel near Port Everglades is perfectly situated in the heart of Fort Lauderdale’s vibrant 17th Street cruise district. We are located at the entrance to Port Everglades and the Broward County Convention Center, 5 minutes from Fort Lauderdale Beach, downtown Fort Lauderdale and Las Olas Blvd. Hop on the Water Taxi, we’re steps from the stop. If arriving by plane, we’re only 10 minutes from Fort Lauderdale International Airport and while renting a car is easy, the Sun Trolley is a unique way to get around. Our renovated lobby, restaurants, and guest rooms provide a contemporary coastal feel. Relax under swaying palm trees, catch a nap in a pool-side cabana, or sip cocktails under the Fort Lauderdale sun. Whether starting or ending the day, our culinary team will awaken your senses. Sip locally roasted coffee at Calusa Coffee Bar, treat yourself to a locally-inspired meal at Bistro 17, or enjoy craft cocktails and local beers at R Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing