We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Hotel Close to Port Everglades!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #34 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Renaissance Hotel is a modern hotel located near Port Everglades in Fort Lauderdale. We stayed at the Renaissance before and after our cruise on the Celebrity Silhouette and enjoyed it both times. From the time you enter the beautiful, spacious lobby, you can’t help, but be impressed with this hotel.

The front desk staff is friendly, professional and extremely helpful. The check-in process was smooth and efficient. Our room wasn’t ready when we got there, so the hotel staff offered to store our bags and we got to tour Fort Lauderdale. They answered all our questions and even gave us directions on how to get to the Jungle Queen riverboat on our second stay at the Renaissance.

The room was tastefully decorated and the rich, dark colors added a touch of class our room. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The first time we stayed on the sixth floor and the second time our room was on the 10th floor, which provided an even better view of Fort Lauderdale.

We enjoyed swimming in the outdoor pool and relaxing in the hot tub. I enjoyed working out on the treadmill and using their free weights in the fitness centre. The fresh fruit was a nice touch in the gym and I liked getting an apple after my workout.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Greetings,

Thank you so much for staying with us and I appreciate the detail and comments in your review. I will be sure to share all of these with my staff and look forward to your return trip!

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

581 - 587 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here for one night pre-cruise and its a nice place but rates were a little high. Rooms were good and beds comfortable but rooms are showing a little wear and were a bit smaller than I expected. Staff were friendly. If you need a ride to the cruise port they have a table set up on Sunday morning that a lot of people use but it was well organized and reasonabley priced at about 6 or 7 dollars a person. There are a few other options on 17th street to stay at pre and post cruise as we stayed some where else after. I would stay here again if I could get a good rate.

Room Tip: Check here, the Holiday Inn Express, and Embassy Suites for the best rates on 17th street hotels for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Greetings, Albert Family -

Thank you for staying with us and appreciate the feedback - I do think we have the best and friendliest hotel staff on all of 17th St!!

In addition, the hotel will be getting a full makeover, starting with the guest rooms in June - come back and see us again after October - I think you will be very pleased with the results.

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at hotel the night before leaving on a cruise on January 27. I felt that the property exneeded expectations. I read earlier reviews and found them to be very negative. In my opinion, the front desk staff was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. The restaurant was also very good with a great waitstaff. The concierge lounge was an added bonus. The room was clean and comfortable, with a great view. Yes, the parking was $25 for one night. However there other lots nearby. The property all offers a for fee shuttle to the cruise terminals. I definitely recommend this property and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyrst48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and your kind comments.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are in South Florida!

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel is in a very convenient location, the Broward County Convention Center is a short walk across the street. There are food places nearby within walking distance. The hotel is not new but they have done some renovations. Be aware that the walls are a little thinner than most "luxury" hotels I've stayed in, so this did surprise me. Over all it is a nice hotel and the employees are very helpful. There were many people staying here that were cruising. I see a previous reviewer had a problem with bugs but I never saw any indication of bugs, my room was clean and the meeting rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazelljbmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. Our location is certainly very convenient and we do appreciate the patronage.

The hotel will be undergoing a renovation of all guest rooms and public space, beginning in June of this year. We would love to welcome you back to sunny Florida in the near future!

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We always stay at the Renaissance before boarding cruise ship, usually in February. This year was no different except snow stopped us from arriving in Florida as scheduled. Hotel was very accommodating due to our delay. Front office staff was pleasant and helpful. Room was large, clean and quiet. After our over-nite stay, front desk called for a limo to pick us up and take us to cruise port ($6 PP), very reasonable. Won't hesitate to stay again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruisinggrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and I hope you had a nice time on your cruise! I am sure it was great to get out of the snow.

We look forward to your return trip in the future and appreciate you choosing our hotel.

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The room was relatively nice to look at.......the bed was very comfortable for sleeping........but we had issues with the sink leaking onto the floor anytime you turned the water on. The tub drain was not working well, took approximately 20 minutes for the tub to drain after a 10 minute shower. So you could not shower right after one another. When we complained at check out they simply said thank you for letting us know, never offered a reduction in room fee, even though we had a reduction in the quality of the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and I do apologize for the issues you had with the drain. Usually, these are quick fixes and if we had known about this before your departure, we most certainly would have either repaired the issue or moved you to another room.

Again, I do apologize for the issues and appreciate you letting us know.

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance for the 3rd year in a row. It is very close to the cruise port & located in a very nice area. It's on a busy street with lots of restaurants & shopping areas. There is a Wynn Dixie super market in walking distance & we usually stock up on soda to bring to the ship with us. Across the parking lot from the hotel is a very good Italian restaurant, called Bravo. Food excellent.
Our room was spacious & very clean. The pool area was great. The front desk was very friendly. You can take a shuttle from the front of the hotel to the cruise port for $6 per person.

We'll definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruisequeenMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our hotel and staff - I'm glad you got an opportunity to explore the area prior to your cruise - I too love, Bravo!

We look forward to welcoming you back - we are beginning a full hotel renovation in June so you will see some great changes when you return!

All the best,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,186 reviews
7.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#58 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $192 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port hotel near Port Everglades is perfectly situated in the heart of Fort Lauderdale’s vibrant 17th Street cruise district. We are located at the entrance to Port Everglades and the Broward County Convention Center, 5 minutes from Fort Lauderdale Beach, downtown Fort Lauderdale and Las Olas Blvd. Hop on the Water Taxi, we’re steps from the stop. If arriving by plane, we’re only 10 minutes from Fort Lauderdale International Airport and while renting a car is easy, the Sun Trolley is a unique way to get around. Our renovated lobby, restaurants, and guest rooms provide a contemporary coastal feel. Relax under swaying palm trees, catch a nap in a pool-side cabana, or sip cocktails under the Fort Lauderdale sun. Whether starting or ending the day, our culinary team will awaken your senses. Sip locally roasted coffee at Calusa Coffee Bar, treat yourself to a locally-inspired meal at Bistro 17, or enjoy craft cocktails and local beers at R Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing