We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would not stay here again”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The room was relatively nice to look at.......the bed was very comfortable for sleeping........but we had issues with the sink leaking onto the floor anytime you turned the water on. The tub drain was not working well, took approximately 20 minutes for the tub to drain after a 10 minute shower. So you could not shower right after one another. When we complained at check out they simply said thank you for letting us know, never offered a reduction in room fee, even though we had a reduction in the quality of the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and I do apologize for the issues you had with the drain. Usually, these are quick fixes and if we had known about this before your departure, we most certainly would have either repaired the issue or moved you to another room.

Again, I do apologize for the issues and appreciate you letting us know.

All the best,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    439
    190
    72
    47
See reviews for
262
423
75
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ma
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance for the 3rd year in a row. It is very close to the cruise port & located in a very nice area. It's on a busy street with lots of restaurants & shopping areas. There is a Wynn Dixie super market in walking distance & we usually stock up on soda to bring to the ship with us. Across the parking lot from the hotel is a very good Italian restaurant, called Bravo. Food excellent.
Our room was spacious & very clean. The pool area was great. The front desk was very friendly. You can take a shuttle from the front of the hotel to the cruise port for $6 per person.

We'll definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisequeenMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our hotel and staff - I'm glad you got an opportunity to explore the area prior to your cruise - I too love, Bravo!

We look forward to welcoming you back - we are beginning a full hotel renovation in June so you will see some great changes when you return!

All the best,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were extremely please with the friendly services, the clean and inviting hotel room, fresh coffee in the lobby, cookies or treats when you returned in the evening and overall feeling of making us feel like we were on vacation. We have never stayed with Renaissance, but believe me we will be back!

Room Tip: very friendly, welcoming staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenL702NX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Greetings, Karen-

Thank you for staying with us and I am so pleased that your first experience with The Renaissance brand was with us in Fort Lauderdale!

We hope you come back and see us again, very soon.

All the best,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights pre-cruise and it's in the perfect location. You can see the ships coming in and out of port. We had a wonderful corner room on a high floor which was very light and airy with a great view. We also had two other rooms for the rest of our family on the second night and had also requested port views so our grandkids could enjoy seeing the ships. Although we were already at the hotel prior to their arrival early before others checked in, we were told that they couldn't accommodate us with a port view. I spoke with Verodita at the front desk who was wonderful and came through for us. Although we had Club Level reservations, it is closed on weekends and we were given certificates for free breakfast downstairs. However, we had 10 people in our party and each certificate was only good for 2 breakfasts which meant we had to still buy breakfast for 4 people which was unexpected. Breakfast was good with omelets and waffles made to order. There's a shuttle to the port, but beware of Saturday traffic in the direction of the port. There are also nail and blow-dry places directly across from the hotel if you need to "polish" up before your cruise.

Room Tip: Ask for a large, sunny corner room on a high floor, but they are only king rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and your kind remarks about the hotel - it sounds like you had a nice time and were able to enjoy Fort Lauderdale!

We hope to see you back in the future.

All the best,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We arrived at 10pm (February 26) to check in into our room... The front desk people were very aloof. No recognition of my Gold Marriott Status, no explanation of the benefits and a "you are lucky we have a room for you" attitude.
The guy that checked me in, young and tall guy was a prick...so I went to ask a nice young Asian girl who was at the front desk about breakfast next morning. No breakfast she told me, even though Gold Marriott Rewards members get breakfast at the lounge or at the hotel restaurant if the lounge is not available.
First room in the Club Level, 11th floor... REEKED of smoke, awful... Then moved to an accessible room in the 9th floor because "that's all we have left". This room smelled of smoke also but since it was that, or sleeping in the car, then we stayed.
I paid $250+ for this dump, that means I could have paid $300-$350 also to stay in a real hotel and not have to deal with the front desk attitude and motel-quality rooms. But I choose to stay at Marriott for 60+ nights a year because I do not want to encounter properties like this.
NEVER AGAIN. $250 for a Motel 6 like experience...

Room Tip: It's a choice between a view of the parking lot, or a view of a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranger22SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay with us - I will share your concerns with my team and ensure there is follow up with the issues that you mentioned.

All the best,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

While you probably could walk to cruise terminal, we opted for a shuttle from hotel. Very friendly and helpful.

Hotel is well maintained and the breakfast was very good. It was a buffet but would prepare eggs and omelets to order.

Staff pleasant and hotel very inviting. Pool well tended and chairs with covers if you chose to sit out of the sun. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iahmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for being our guest during your stay in Fort Lauderdale - we hope you join us again if your travels bring you back to our area!

All the best,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here prior to our cruise and we had a very pleasant experience. The check-in was efficient and we were able to do so prior to the 3 pm guideline. The room was large, quiet, and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet the next day was adequate, but not extensive. We took the shuttle to the port ($6 per person) which was efficient and only a 7 minute drive away. The pool was quiet and beautifully laid out. Restaurants were available adjacent to the hotel. Because we were enrolled in the Marriott member program, wifi was included. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the cruise ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugabtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for your kind words and am glad you enjoyed your stay - I hope your cruise was just as enjoyable!

We look forward to seeing you on a return trip to sunny Fort Lauderdale!

All the best,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,254 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing