We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to cruise port”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #32 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The rooms and large and very comfortable. Shopping is within walking distance and the staff couldn't be nicer. Service was good at the front desk and the bellmen were very helpful. There are restaurants within walking distance and the views of the yachts and boats are amazing. The rooms were quiet and well appointed, we will be back.

Room Tip: Request a room with a water view, it is well worth the price to view the beautiful yachts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelConnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

We so appreciate you staying with us recently. You are right about the views - our hotel is in a great location and to have a view of the boats is very nice. I often go to our top floor so I can look out on all the cruise ships coming in - it's quite a sight!

We hope you join us again in the future - thanks, again.

Regards,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

This Hotel is ideal for a night prior to getting on board your ship. Breakfast was included and the bar with food was open at night so we were able to get a bite to eat on our arrival at 8pm. Late checkout was great as we could have a sleep in as boarding the ship was between 12-3pm.
All in all a very nice little hotel with all the amenities you would require for a night or two stay.
The concierge also organised the Princess ships pickup for us and that was just a small fee of $6.00 to the driver.
Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for staying with us prior to your cruise - I hope you enjoyed your trip!

We would love to have you back if you choose to come back to Fort Lauderdale and we appreciate all of your compliments about our hotel.

Regards,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Spent a week there with my family and in-laws. Staff were fantastic and going out of their way to respond to our numerous requests about the city. They gave us good recommendations for restaurants as well. Rooms was large enough and they provided us with a fridge on request which was great for keeping our baby's food.

Pool was a plus, very nice even if it is close from 17th st. The hotel remains very accessible from airport while being close to beaches (driving).

My only recommendation, the bartender (i don't recall the name of the male bartender on Wednesday Nov 27th) should clearly mention he cannot do a real Irish coffee. A simple coffee with whiskey is not that great...

Thank you to all the team and most precisely the excellent service from front desk!

Room Tip: Facing the port, you can see the big cruise come and go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxime700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments during your most recent stay with us - we truly appreciate the feedback.

I will personally ensure that our bartender's know how to make a proper Irish coffee - as a fellow Irish, I can certainly appreciate a fine Irish cocktail.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back in the future!

Regards,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

It really annoys me when people complain about a hotel having no free shuttles, no free WIFI and no free breakfast. Surely they knew that when they booked the hotel? For the record - for once and all - the Renaissance has none of the above. If this is important to you, you should book somewhere else.

As for myself, I realized all this really was important to me after staying here!! Unfortunately this really was a good learning experience. The cab from the airport was $17. Shuttle to the port $6 each plus tip. Breakfast of coffee and muffin $12 and WIFI $12.95. So approx $60 on top of my great Hotwire rate made it not such a great rate!

There are a few nice pluses however to balance this review. This hotel is within a block or two of the water taxi - a nice way to spend a day. If you need a Walgreens there is one right across the street. The Rlounge was delicious for late night snacks and service both there and at the front desk was very prompt and friendly. We also greatly appreciated, and didn't expect,that they had a room ready for us at 11 a.m. When we checked in. Finally, the hotel is within throwing distance to the port entrance. You could easily schlep your way there yourself if you wanted to. The hotel staff will tell you that can't walk into the port- that you have to take a car or shuttle This is WRONG. Thousands of crew walk in and out every ship turnaround day. It is very feasible if you have very little luggage!

So the bottom line is would we stay here again? Not too likely. I like everything prepaid and when even McDonalds has WIFI these days it just plain bugs me to pay $12.95 no matter what my great deal was.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and your comments - it is very much appreciated.

With regards to the transportation to the port, most of our guests are leaving on a cruise and have a large amount of luggage - most people do choose to be transported as opposed to walking - at $6 is quite a good deal!

And as you mentioned, all of our costs are displayed on the hotels website so there should be no surprises prior to booking.

We would love for you to stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Fort Lauderdale.

Regards,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel has solid service and a good location and while they have updated many of the more dated part of the property, there's a lack of amenities in the rooms that should be standard for a 4 star hotel (I think this is more of a business class 3 star, honestly). The food options on site aren't too inspiring but the service is generally enthusiastic and there's an active bar scene in the evenings in the lobby. The pool need some cleaning and there wasn't a day when I wasn't aggravated by the $25 park fee ($26.50 with tax!) and $11 wi-fi. I haven't tried other hotels at this prices in the area so hopefully I'm not being harsh but I thought I'd get more value for my money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesBeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Our parking fees are quite competitive with the other hotels in the area but I certainly appreciate your remarks. Being as close as we are to the airport, shopping, restaurants and the beach, our location is ideal for business or leisure.

We do hope that you will choose to stay with us on future trips to Fort Lauderdale.

Regards,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

As with other reviewers, this hotel charges $25/self parking and $30/valet but definitely not worth it! This hotel is situated in the 'not so great area' but is a few miles from cruise port and beaches.

Felt that staff was a bit unprofessional and ghetto. For example, we checked in (we are Platinum members) and we had two reservations, one we canceled already prior to the cancellation deadline with an email to show them it was done and the other was paid on points. The clerk did not know what to do (could have been knew) so another clerk said, just cancel it then since they canceled, she still was hesitant then a manager walked by and she asked her as well and the manager said, just cancel it, they are platinum (no need to cancel just b/c we are 'Platinum') but it should have been canceled b/c we canceled prior morons!

Then the manager says loudly 'You are Welcome' as if she did us a favor!??!! Seriously??!! You did us NO favor, this reservation was canceled prior!

As with other reviews, the staff is a bit unprofessional, unorganized and ghetto to say the least. I would NOT recommend this hotel and especially the points we paid for it! Definitely makes a Renaissance brand look really bad!

Room was so small and bathroom was small. Vibe in hotel felt more like a haunted hotel than a Renaissance that you should be use to if you've stayed at other Renaissance brand. Lounge was typical lounge food. Only bonus was this is near airport and we had morning flight.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jh_traveler004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at our hotel.

All costs associated with parking are prominently displayed on our website when reserving a room so I am sorry if you felt you did not know about this prior to staying with us.


Again, all feedback is appreciated and we hope you return to Fort Lauderdale for a future stay.

Regards,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The bride and I stayed here before a recent cruise in the Caribbean. Got in very early after taking the red-eye from San Francisco and the staff made every effort to get us as early a check in as possible. The desk star were amazingly helpful in getting a dinner reservation at a cuban restaurant and even gave us a $25 gift certificate (separate review already provided). All the staff of the hotel seemed friendly and helpful; I assume it is the culture of the establishment. Clean rooms with comfortable beds and immaculate bathroom facilities. Everything I could ask for at a reasonably priced hotel. You could do a lot worse for more money in Ft. Lauderdale!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and your kind comments about our staff. I hope you enjoyed your dinner at the Cuban restaurant - it is one of my favorites!

Please come back and see us again if you are back in Fort Lauderdale.

Regards,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#56 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,861 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#43 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,933 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,173 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $179 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing