We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location For Convention Goers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #38 of 136 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbia,TN
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Location For Convention Goers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed 6 nights and were satisfied with the room and service. You have to request a mini-fridge at check-in. We requested one when the reservation was made, but they won't bring it to your room until after you check-in. Hotels in this price range usually have a mini-fridge and microwave as standard room décor items. The location was what made us to decide on this hotel. We were busy daily at the Convention Center, therefore did not use the pool or restaurant.
Exercise center was nicely equipped. There are several nice local restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djrmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    381
    177
    62
    43
See reviews for
220
380
71
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Outstanding Front Desk Staff! Followed by a wonderful clean crisp awesome room. This hotel is very well done, the lobby is gorgeous, there's a bar in the lobby that you can hangout have a drink n meet ppl from around the world, or just ppl watch

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

In the middle about the renaissance ft lauderdale. I stay in lots of hotels. Have def had my share of the renaissance. I don't normally stay in them as the prices are high. This one in FLL at the off season is affordable at under $100, but it's no frills. Just the average run of the mill nice, clean hotel atmosphere. I may or may not come back. The staff is great, location is awesome especially if your heading out on a cruise from this area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel. We got club floor with partial view to fort lauderdale downtown
Club lounge is allright. Seen better in europe or Asia but it seems in USA its different. Breakfast is ok... You find scrambled eggs, milk, coffee, kellogs, Toast and bagels... Very American but nice.
Afternoon snacks Varies every day and alcohol is not included as in europe or Asia.

The staff in this hotel is super super friendly! They help you with all belongings and we appreciated their help

If you dont have a car you can catch the sun trolley for 50 Cents for going to fort lauderdale beach. We did this the first day however we recommend car. We have now a car and we got every where with that, miami, sawgrass, key west... Good location

Parking of 25 usd per night is quite high i think. We didnt parked at the hotel. If you want to Save money Park at starbucks just 2 blocks away.

Internet (wifi) was very Slow and they do Charge about 14 usd per day. Thanks god I am platinum card holder so its free of Charge. If i would pay i would expect a good connectivity and higher Speed.

All in all a nice hotel and would stay there again

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is beautiful from the outside but it could use a little updating. It seems as though the rooms haven't been updated in quite some time. The wallpaper in the bathroom was pulling away. The huge cockroach in the bathroom definitely ruined it for me though. The front desk did come up and kill it but they tried to say it was a little beetle which I knew it was not. After reading some other reviews, it appears as though I am not the other one that has had this experience.

They also are very expensive in the bar/restaurant. I stayed in this hotel on business for 4 nights and decided to eat there one night with a coworker and was really disappointed in my total for a few drinks, a burger, and a Rueben sandwich.

This hotel is definitely a place I wouldn't stay if I were using my own money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skells716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay with us. I do apologize for the bug incident and can assure you, this has been addressed.

I hope that if your travels do bring you back to South Florida, you will give us another chance.

Regards,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel looks so nice from the outside, but unfortunately my experience with a king sized cockroach killed the experience. I got the heeby jeeby's the whole stay. Front desk people were super nice and it is walking distance to the conference center where I had my trade show. They did respond super fast to my call about the roach. A guy came within 5 minutes with a can of Raid and killed the thing. The room after that smelled like a can of Raid. Needs some updating, the bathroom was looking really old...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ai10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We are very sorry for your experience while a guest with us, recently. Any unpleasant experience gives us an opportunity to improve our services and we certainly appreciate the feedback.

In addition, the bathrooms are being renovated this summer and will be completed by the end of September.

We hope that if your travels bring you to Fort Lauderdale in the future, you will stay with us again.

Thanks, again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very convenient location if you're cruising, and a reasonable 6 dollars/person shuttle to your ship.

Only 2 points in the "better if" column: dear friends at housekeeping, please go easy on the Air Freshener... The room has that fake "morning Dew" smell :) And consider softer towels in the bathroom. Sure, the current one are effective... especially if you're looking for a complimentary body scrub.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allard1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#37 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 3,982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#36 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 2,535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#57 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 4,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#18 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#12 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#30 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#35 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing