We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cruise Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #31 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. John
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cruise Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Chose it since it was close to cruise lines and was newly remodeled. Everything was great; service excellent and a restaurant walking distance. Would recommend this hotel to anyone heading for Ft Lauderdale for a cruise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    420
    186
    70
    46
See reviews for
246
416
73
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We chose this hotel for its close proximity to cruise ship port and Ft. Lauderdale airport. Our room was clean and bed was comfortable. Staff was excellant. many good places to eat within walking distance. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petersrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel prior to our cruise. Hotel location is perfect for cruising-close to port, close to shopping and other amenities. All the staff we worked with were wonderful, accommodating and knowledgable. Bar and bar food and service were great. The workout room is small but clean and convenient. Rooms are somewhat small and a tad out dated, but ours was clean and fresh. Bathrooms need to be updated. As a platinum member, asked to be upgraded but was told they didn't accommodate upgrades for party of 4..... Seemed odd. We were on 11th floor with good view of port area. We also returned after the cruise and spent afternoon at pool before flying home. Accommodating and easy way to travel. We will stay at this location again. We also ate at Bimini Boathouse located in the mall area, but we found it expensive for average quality food and drink. Hotel food was better quality and better value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnedw19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We chose this hotel for a pre-cruise stay because It is several blocks from the port and we enjoy certain privileges as Marriott Elite members. We arrived at 11:30 AM and rooms were not ready. Polite Reception staff, took our cell phone number and said that we would be called when rooms were ready. Time frame was uncertain because check out time was not until 12 and rooms had to be cleaned.

Lunch in Bistro: Service was good, reasonably priced and service adequate. Food was quite tasty with large portions. We wanted to put the lunch tab on our room bill because of wanting to earn extra (5X) reward points, but waiter did not offer that as an option. A short walk to the front desk resolved that issue.

The lobby bar was our next waiting area. It was comfortable and rather active; good bartender who was cheerful and efficient.

Check In: At 1:30, after seeing several people get immediate check-in, I approached the desk and was advised that they were just getting ready to call our cell, because the room was ready. We thought that the wait was worth it because they were able to upgrade us to a corner room (1102), Concierge Level. Upgrades (if available) are part of the Marriott Platinum Elite level.

The room was bright & spacious, had a pleasant decor and a nice view of the five ships that were in port; however, it was on a main road and was quite noisy. Tried to nap and that didn't work because of the traffic noise. While we appreciated the upgrade, we did not want to seem ungrateful, so we decided to live with the noise for the one night, knowing it would eventually die down. We also did not want to go through the hassle of changing rooms. Unfortunately, that was when things started going awry.

I attempted to take a shower but water would not drain from the tub. Called the front desk and maintenance responded within 10 minutes. A very polite and apologetic technician worked for 45 minutes trying to correct the problem , but he had to return to the equipment room three times before resolution.

The drainage issue made me wonder how housekeeping could properly clean the tub without figuring out that there was some kind of drainage problem. I also noticed that there was a layer of dust on the dresser and the counter tops were extremely dusty. I now question the turnover rate for that particular room and the last time it was inspected by housekeeping. Wonder if the code "pink" murmured by one desk clerk to another had anything to do with the potential problems that existed with that nice corner room.

We visited the Concierge Lounge at 5 PM for cocktails and hors’dourves. A friendly and very chatty hostess was available. Snacks (veggies, chips, dips, cheeses, chicken wings) were offered in a small buffet area. The room offered a Wi-Fi/computer area, a TV lounge, and an interesting view. Alcoholic beverages were served or wine poured at a per item charge. Coffee/dessert was available later in the evening, and a full and quite good buffet breakfast was served in the morning.

The next day we were prepared to take a taxi to the cruise port, but we chose the shuttle service for $6 each. There was another couple joining in the trip so we did not have to stop at other properties. There was some kind of a search going on at the entry to the port, so the five minute shuttle turned into a 15 minute ride. Still, the shuttle was perhaps the better option because the taxis are not in a queue and had to be called.

Positives for this property include: On a good day, the view of the sunset from the Concierge lounge is supposed to be spectacular; buffet breakfast in Concierge is quite good; Cuban sandwich and Cobb salad in the Bistro are noteworthy; cookies available at the front desk in the evening; several national newspapers available in the AM; a pool; a Walgreens across the street; and restaurants and strip malls nearby. Concierge lounge offers some perks, but be prepared to pay for your drinks. The convention center is across the street, so if your business is there, it is convenient.

Other things: Valet parking is $30; self parking is $25.

Bottom line: Would we stay there again? Yes if going to the cruise port, but we have learned to inspect certain aspects of rooms before getting settled in.

Room Tip: After booking your hotel, continue to check the rate. Marriott always honors lower rates if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CiaoBellaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

For one night pre-crusie it was perfect. Lobby is quiet & sedate after the hot sun. Room is small but clean & furnished well. Staff was very attentive to our needs. There are nice places to sit & relax-the pool, the lobby, the seating area at the front door. Unlike other hotels, there was no mob scene when many of us left at the same time to head over to the ship. Best location for both cruises & the airport. There is a Walgreens across the street. In easy walking distance is Starbucks, Einstein bagels, restaurants ranging from burgers to chinese food to steaks, and the Ross store. Also an easy walk to the water taxi. Don't miss Bimini Boatyard at the end of the driveway-a great place for lunch/dinner right on the water.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liz6843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hotel was very clean and rooms were emaculate. Starting at the front desk to the end of my stay, the sfaff were all very helpful and very pleasent. They had a I care attitude. Would recomend. Wallgreens is across the street to pick up last minute items you may need as well as several places to eat. Breakfast Buffett was nice with made to order omlettes. I stayed here the night before I went on a cruise. They offered Shuttel service to the Port for $6 per person. This was a bargin !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night and while the room itself was nicely decorated and comfortable (the gentleman helping us with luggage told us about the recent remodeling done at the hotel) the bathroom (specifically the bathtub) was a bit disappointing. During check-in I verified with the desk clerk that the room did have a tub as I was looking forward to a nice bubble bath, but the stopper for the tub was not the correct size and I had to jury-rig it to get it to work. There was black mildew/mold visible around the tub fixtures and the tile walls had not been cleaned very well or very recently. Overall, the hotel was quite nice and in a good location, but the whole experience would have been much better if the bathroom had been fully functional and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchienut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#53 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,616 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,888 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#83 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 1617 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing