We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant with thhe basics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #33 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant with thhe basics”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was solid value for luxury accommodation. The room was quiet and impeccable and the bed was the best I've ever slept in - hotel or otherwise. Staff was courteous and helpful at all times.

The location is odd. It's right near the cruise-port but quite far from the beaches and downtown. I guess it's set up for the cruise line passengers and conference services more than guests looking for a resort experience.

Was really surprised and disappointed that the hotel didn't offer complimentary wireless service - even in the lobby. The business center and lobby terminals did have free access to the internet which was great. The pool was lovely but very noisy because of its location near a major roadway. Strangely, the hotel didn't offer any form of complimentary breakfast or airport shuttle. Also, there was no fridge or micro-wave available in my room. This is not what I expected from a four-star hotel. I think I might consider going for a lower star rating next time and getting these amenities included. But, If they don't matter to you, and you're just looking for premium room quality and service, this is a wonderful deal.

Room Tip: Make sure you're up high and away from the street. Corner rooms overlooking the intersection hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fireandrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    427
    186
    70
    46
See reviews for
248
419
73
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We again did a two-night pre-cruise stay at this exceptional hotel located within easy walking distance of shops, dinning, attractions, etc., and of course - Port Everglades Cruise Terminals. In addition to the beautiful accommodations at this property - what make this hotel special is the staff ... they are in a word - outstanding! Whatever your need, what questions you have are handled professionally and promptly. Although there are many great dining venues nearby - this hotel offers great restaurant & bar service .. nice pool, Club Floor, etc., all to enhance your stay.

Room Tip: IMO - a high floor harbor side is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a wonderful experience from our arrival to departure! Greeted by Friendly Staff who were very helpful with the luggage to directions. The rooms were very Clean and Comfortable! Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the other amenities. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for several days for training classes that we had to take for our business. Everybody at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice and comfortable, as well as clean. The hotel is located right across the street from the cruise port, so that is very convenient. Any time that I take a cruise out of Fort Lauderdale, I will stay at this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night before our cruise.
Our room was ready when we arrived. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable.
We did not eat in the hotel as there are many restaurants within a short walking distance.There is also a Walgreens directly across the street.
This hotel is in an ideal location - not far from the airport and very close to the cruise port terminal. Therefore a big saving on taxi fares!
We were also able to walk to the water taxi stop.
WiFi was an extra charge - we felt that it should be free considering the price we paid for our room - but it's not a necessity so we did without.
Would stay here again if going on another cruise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fargo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I am a first time reviewer. This hotel was very nice for our post cruise stay. the pool was nice, the room more than enough. the soft beds, the 12th floor breakfast and early evening snacks were great. the staff is wonderful. took care of us. felt like we were at home. we will stay here before and after our next cruise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cenexguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been staying at the Renaissance for several years before boarding our annual treck to the Caribbean. Arrived in FLL around 1PM and headed straight to the Hotel. Room was ready for us and awaited the arrival of our travelling companions. Check in was quick and simple. Room was clean and neat, but smelled a little musty.
Did have a problem with sink in bathroom not draining, reported it and was temporarily fixed. At night I discovered a very wet carpet behind the bathroom wall, again reported it.

In the morning we were transferred to another room, given a coupon for a free drink for our inconvenience. Next room we had no problems.

The morning of cruise, we took Hotel transportation to port ($6 per person) and quickly forgot our problem with the room. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisinggrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,590 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,726 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#76 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing