We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #35 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for several days for training classes that we had to take for our business. Everybody at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice and comfortable, as well as clean. The hotel is located right across the street from the cruise port, so that is very convenient. Any time that I take a cruise out of Fort Lauderdale, I will stay at this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    430
    187
    71
    47
See reviews for
251
421
73
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night before our cruise.
Our room was ready when we arrived. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable.
We did not eat in the hotel as there are many restaurants within a short walking distance.There is also a Walgreens directly across the street.
This hotel is in an ideal location - not far from the airport and very close to the cruise port terminal. Therefore a big saving on taxi fares!
We were also able to walk to the water taxi stop.
WiFi was an extra charge - we felt that it should be free considering the price we paid for our room - but it's not a necessity so we did without.
Would stay here again if going on another cruise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fargo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I am a first time reviewer. This hotel was very nice for our post cruise stay. the pool was nice, the room more than enough. the soft beds, the 12th floor breakfast and early evening snacks were great. the staff is wonderful. took care of us. felt like we were at home. we will stay here before and after our next cruise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cenexguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been staying at the Renaissance for several years before boarding our annual treck to the Caribbean. Arrived in FLL around 1PM and headed straight to the Hotel. Room was ready for us and awaited the arrival of our travelling companions. Check in was quick and simple. Room was clean and neat, but smelled a little musty.
Did have a problem with sink in bathroom not draining, reported it and was temporarily fixed. At night I discovered a very wet carpet behind the bathroom wall, again reported it.

In the morning we were transferred to another room, given a coupon for a free drink for our inconvenience. Next room we had no problems.

The morning of cruise, we took Hotel transportation to port ($6 per person) and quickly forgot our problem with the room. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisinggrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had business in town and stayed here for two nights. The total bill was US$486.18 just for a room. Ouch! And then I had to pay for WiFi on top of this. That is really not acceptable, especially at these rates.

The room was clean. Two Queen beds, desk, ergonomic chair, large plasma etc. I am sure that a smoker had stayed in the room before me. There was a definite undertone of tobacco in the air.

Another Tripadvisor remarked on the parking prices - 'stayed one night for business, parking garage a bit $much$'. I would concur.

This hotel is 'ok'. If I was paying US$100 a night for this, then it would be a nice hotel and I would be a happy camper. For US$200+ a night I expect far more bang for my buck, and frankly I feel ripped off.

I didn't eat or drink in the hotel. Breakfast was grabbed from Einstein's Bagel shop / cafe and dinner at the Siam House. Both are a short stroll away from here.

The one good thing I would highlight about this hotel is it's location. It is ideally placed for the Broward County Convention Center. I would say it is a pleasant five minute walk from the hotel to the Convention Center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Le_Scribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

After a not so good experience on our precruise at another Hotel chain, we cancelled out post cruise plans with the precruise hotel chain and booked 3 rooms at the Renaissance. We checked in at 11:00am, after coming off the ship and the rooms were ready and the front desk quickness and friendliness were superb. The location is great and in walking distance to all kinds of shopping and restaurants. The rooms are nice...the restaurant was good and the overall experience for the price is great. I would 100% return to this property on our next pre and post cruise experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for business, parking garage a bit $much$, could of used a small table to go with mini sofa in room, seemed like room was missing a piece of furniture, otherwise good stay, concierge breakfast great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing