We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pre and post cruise accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent pre and post cruise accommodation.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

For us as Australians, this hotel was close to the cruise port and we stayed for 4 nights prior to and 1 night post our cruise to the Amazon. We had heard how busy the breakfast area can be and chose to purchase the Club Level package as it included Club lounge access
Complimentary food:
- Continental breakfast - including scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon etc
- hors d'oeuvres
- dessert
Cocktails, for a fee
Complimentary non-alcoholic beverages
Honor bar
Our room was fantastic, overlooking the main street. My husband went across the road and purchased some bottles of wine only to find there wasn't a fridge in the room, no problem a bar fridge was delivered before I got back up from requesting at reception.
It was an easy walk to the end of the street for the water taxis which we took daily. Excellent pre and post cruise accommodation. Cost was AU$190 per night inclusive of Club Level.

Room Tip: Taxis to and from this hotel to the port are a flat rate of US$10 + tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTravellers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    439
    190
    72
    48
See reviews for
262
424
75
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great location for airport, stayed over one night on route overseas. Room was clean, comfortable and staff was very helpful. The evening concierge was the best...helpful, got our airline passes, gave us great suggestions for dinner and had a fabulous attitude. Only downfall was the taxi ride from the airport, both coming and going...could not wait to get out of those taxis...and this certainly had nothing to do with the hotel, other than they do not have a shuttle service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have stayed here many times over the years - especially when my industry trade shows are across the street at the Convention Center. This use to be a buinesss-oriented property that was a good choice for not overly price conscious business folks. Well, it been a few years for me, and I suppose the name change to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale "Cruise Port Hotel" should have been a tip-off. This hotel has total thrown itself at the cruise crowd that results in a very unsatisfactory experience for others. Loud, partying groups of cruisers roaming my floor and adjunct rooms kept me up till nearly 2am. There was a long wait to get into the breakfast restaurant. I understand these folks are vacation, but this 100% focus on them has ruined this. I will NEVER EVER stay here again and suggest unless you are cruise-bound you stay away also,

Room Tip: Bring ear-plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IGCman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTLRenaissanceGM, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor. My team and I take each response seriously as they truly reflect our ability to serve.

Although you feel that our hotel may not be ideal for business travellers, please know that last year, the Marriott Business Traveller rated us at 86% satisfaction. In fact, the majority of our revenue is generated from both large and small corporations

As to your comment about the use of the "Cruise Port" in our name, please know that we use this as a locater designation for our guests. This helps prevent confusion with similar hotels, such as the Renaissance Plantation or the Renaissance Eden Roc.

Again, thank you for your feedback and if you would like to discuss further, please contact me in my office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Renaissance Ft. Lauderdale is a great choice for a pre or post cruise overnight. The front desk was extremely helpful (thanks Kelly). The rooms are spacious and the air conditioning is excellent. The beds are hard (not firm), and feel cheap. Pillows are rubber and uncomfortable. The bathrooms, furnishings, and TV are excellent. The hotel does not provide shuttle service to the airports or the cruise port. Parking is very expensive. Internet service is available in the lobby without charge, but wi-fi in your room is spendy. the location is great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlympicWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

2nd time staying here, prior to catching a cruise ship. Very good location only blocks from Port Everglades, with lots of dining options and conveniences close by. Room was clean and comfortable with a view of the ships coming into port. Morning transfer to the ship is well organized at the back patio, and there's comfortable seating at the front of the hotel that even has ashtrays!! We did have a few cocktails in the lounge, friendly staff and lots of tvs to follow sports & news. All in all a good value and we would definitely stay there again prior to a cruise.

Room Tip: Try to book 7th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stay here on frequent business trips to Fort Lauderdale. The service is always good, the location is very convenient to the airport, restaurants, even the beach. The Concierge lounge attendant in the evening is super friendly and helpful and makes you feel welcome. The fitness center equipment is a bit dated and could use an upgrade, but the rest of the hotel is very well kept. Little touches like the ice water available by the elevators and cookies at the front desk in the evening add a nice touch.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_in_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance for two nights prior to departing on a cruise. We were looking for a reasonably-priced, modern, clean hotel that was close to both the airport and cruise port. We were satisfied with these aspects. We took a shuttle from the hotel to the cruise port - very efficient, clean vehicle and pleasant driver. On the downside, I found the hotel a tad noisy - on both nights our sleep was interrupted by hotel guests talking loudly in the hallways.

Eating options are within easy walking distance from the hotel - range from fast food to reasonably priced restaurants. You can also find stores to supply basic items you may have forgotten. The Fort Lauderdale Galleria mall is a short taxi ride away. We walked to the Fort Lauderdale beach - It took about 30 minutes (each way).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slowcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,767 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,255 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, TravelUp, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing