We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I always enjoy my stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
575 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“I always enjoy my stay here.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great hotel. Staff is very nice. They always go out of their way to get me a refrigerator no matter what time I check in. The hotel rooms are big and bright and very clean. Great gym and pool. The hotel restaurant and bar are good and there are numerous dining options within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JetBlueDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    439
    190
    72
    48
See reviews for
262
424
75
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel pre-cruise on October 13, 2012. It is a very nice hotel – a nice mix that would appeal to both the business and/or pleasure customer. We had requested a room on a higher floor with a view of the cruise port. Our friends who arrived a day ahead did the same and had a great view in room 1102. We were in 1008, and from just a few doors down the view wasn’t as nice, but since the hotel isn’t really known for the cruise port views, no problem. We enjoyed the bar in the lobby, and ordered lunch while waiting for our room. Prices were high though typical for a nice hotel, and our food, drinks, and service were all excellent.

Room was clean and well appointed, pool and hot tub were very nice, and service was friendly. I’d stay here again.

The only gripe I had was that some of the amenities I’ve enjoyed during previous stays at other Fort Lauderdale hotels – Internet, Parking, Breakfast Buffet and shuttle to/from Airport or Cruise Port are no longer free. However, this seems to be the trend for many Fort Lauderdale hotels now, so we dealt with it.

Within walking distance we found the Bimini Boatyard, Walgreens, the Water Taxi, and the overlook on the 17th Street Causeway to watch the cruise ships sail away on Saturday afternoon. They sub-contract out a shuttle to the cruise port, and it was very reasonable ($6pp), fast and efficient.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank delacruzzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel was nice. What you expect from marriott. The value was good for the great location in the heart of Ft. Lauderdale. Staff were all very friendly and accomodating. The rooms and beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for waterview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasonf1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My family stayed at this hotel for a pre-cruise trip to Eastern Caribbean. The location is perfect for being closed to the cruiseport. It took about less than 10 minutes to get to the cruise port. The room is small comparing to other Renaissance Marriott Hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paradise93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I booked this hotel through Priceline bidding for $75 a night for one night in mid October. It's very close to the Cruise Port and fairly close to the airport, although we couldn't hear any noise from the outside. All in all, it was a good value for the price. The hotel is a little old and will need to be remodeled soon. There was road construction outside of the hotel which made it a little hard to access the parking garage. Self parking normally costs $25 a night but the gate was up and we were not asked to pay when we left, which was nice.
The room itself is fairly nice and spacious. The king-size bed we asked for was comfy and the shower was great. I have no complaints about the room except for the loud AC which kicked in every now and again, although we got used to it. The pool area looked really nice, as well, even though it's right next to a major road.
The staff was very friendly. We asked to check in late and for a room on an upper level and both requests were granted. Even though the bill said checkout was at 11AM, I called the front desk and they assured me checkout it at noon.
I would recommend this hotel to travelers passing through the area like we did, or for those waiting to disembark on a cruise. I

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I agree with previous posters that the non-water location is disappointing.
Rooms are typical Marriot, clean, in good shape and fairly nondescript.
Lobby was nice, and we had a very pleasant lunch in the lobby bar . The front desk staff were very friendly.
We were there for a family wedding, I would not choose it for a vacation when there are so many other better located hotels within a very short distance, although it is very well located for pre and post cruises, as the port is practically next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _eiffeltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The location is just a little disappointing when there are so many similar or best hotels on the water in the immediate area.

When one drives up they find it's $15 a day to part in the parking garage or $30 for valet. Again, nothing special hotel why could they not just offer parking.

They did ot have a king sized bed. The room iwas very average and smelled of a sweet air freshener which makes me wonder, small bathroom, granite counter but again, little better than average.

Te restaurant has a buffet and full service but looks like its not used much. My Latte tasted like they needed a water filter.

I think I would look at one of the other hotels prior to trying this one again, unless the rate is significantly lower at this hotel.

Felt clean...smelled fruity...

The bed was comfortable....

Again, little better than average...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#53 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,254 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing