We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #33 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of night before a cruise. The staff was great! Upon check in we had to wait for our room, no biggie it was 11am on Friday. Once we had been pre-registered the front desk agent offered to have our bags stores, told us she would call us once the room was ready, and gave us a list of things to do in the area. We were called back a couple of hours later, and asked how our day was going and if we needed any more ideas about what to do.

The room itself was a typical Renaissance room, nothing spectacular, but who goes to South Florida to spend the day in your hotel room.

The pool was a nice size, large enough to swim some laps without having to run over small children.

The hotel also had a good location. There is a cheap trolley that picks up across the street that will take to the beach, restaurants and shopping.

We stayed here because of the close proximity to the cruise port, which they have shuttles running to and from, but would go back for the welcoming staff and great service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seminollrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    436
    188
    71
    47
See reviews for
256
422
75
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Az.
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here on our way to a Caribbean cruise and loved the hotel. Very helpful staff and a great open room to wait in while you wait to get to your room. Bellhop will take your suitcases up for you and come and get them when you are ready to leave. They will have a taxi to take you to your cruise ship at the departure time.
We loved staying here and are once again making reservations to stay here for this years cruise to the Caribbean.
It's clean and convenient and quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: Does not matter but we prefer rooms on a higher floor of the hotel just for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macstraits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel is average BUT the $25 (plus tax) fee for self-parking per day is way out of their league. I think they want to take advantage of the people going to Port Everglades/Cruises and need that one night stay before the cruise. This is just a hotel, a place with beds next to a strip mall. It's NOT a resort. There are many hotels in that area that has free parking if you just need a room for a night that are in the same league as this one. I stayed a few nights in Hollywood Beach after my cruise and the average parking fees for those RESORT hotels were $15 for self-parking. BEWARE.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudioTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTLRenaissanceGM, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. My team and I take each comment as a distinct reflection of our ability to deliver quality customer service.

I apologize that you feel that we are taking advantage of our guests with our parking fees - this is definitely not the case! So you have a piece of mind, please know that parking charges are posted on our website as well as with our partners (Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, etc.)

In addition, we are not exclusive in this fee as many hotels in the area currently charge for self-parking. For your edification, here is a list of the hotels closest to the Renaissance and their respective published charges (as of 8/31/12):

Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina: $21
Embassy Suites 17th Street: $16
Marriott's Harbor Beach: $25
Holiday Inn Cruise Port : $10

If you have any additional questions or concerns about parking, please do not hesitate to call me in my office. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fort Lauderdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Renaissance Marriot is an extremely comfortable hotel. Staff are exceedingly friendly, courteous and helpful, the rooms are clean and spacious, the restaurant and bar serve good, if pricey, food and the pool, hot tub and gym are easily accessible.

This hotel was built in the no-mans land between the airport and downtown Fort Lauderdale, an area that is being gentrified. The convention center is nearby, there are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance, and the marinas and docks are nearby for those taking cruises. The most notable and expensive restaurant nearby is the Bimini Boatyard Bar and Grill, a one minute walk from the hotel.

The water taxi, a five minute walk towards the drawbridge, provides an inexpensive way to tour the city, see the multi-million dollar yachts and waterfront property while listening to the humorous banter of the ticket taker. Ticket prices vary, but the best value is the $10 after 5PM ticket which enables you to get on and off at as many stops as you can to sightsee. You also get sunset on the water if you time it right. Brochures are available at the lobby desk. Taxis and a shuttle are also easily available (A ten minute $15 and tip taxi ride to the airport) but the price for parking is expensive - $25 per day.

Smokers have their choice of sitting outside the main entrance under the portico, outside in the pool areas in designated areas or outside on balconies with ashtrays located at the end of the hallways on their floors so that you don't have to go down to the lobby floor.

Each room has a flat screen tv with a standard selection that can be upgraded, room safe and hair dryer and iron with board are also standard. Plenty of hot water and good water pressure in the bathrooms although the towels could not be termed fluffy, in fact coarse might be a better description - the hotel's only flaw. Room temperature can be adjusted. The only complaint I have is that the air conditioning in the rest of the hotel was indeed too cold, and while eating in the bar this causes the food to get cold too quickly. You can request a microwave oven and a refrigerator at no charge as these are not in the room. I found I had the best sleep I have had in a hotel in a long time because the beds, covers and pillows are exceptional.

I'd definitely stay here again with no qualms.

Room Tip: Choose an even-numbered east facing room on the south side of the hotel. The water view is partially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I love short and to the point reviews.

We arrived late in the evening ( 10:30 P.M. or so). We checked in to a nice clean room,We needed a couple of more pillows and they were delivered to our room in 10 minutes after our request.The next morning we had a wonderful buffet breakfast and the front desk called us a cab and we were off to our cruiseship 5 minutes later.

Just a perfect overnight stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedandbreakfastfan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

While this property is absolutely perfectly placed for cruisers, being right across the street from the cruise terminal, that is not it's only redeeming quality. It Is a beautiful property in it's own right, appropriately priced, clean, with pleasant and efficient staff and service...Very comfortable and spacious rooms, easy access to both beach and area transportation...GREAT food nearby - Lots of variety!
I would definitely recommend...As a matter of fact we have booked again next April!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahottoddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We arrived early and were scheduled for a business appointment lff site later that day. We live in the Florida Keys so the drive up was noit an enjoyable experience. The immacualte appearance of the entrance and lobby was the first thing that caught my attention, We checked in at the desk to inquire about the possiblity of getting into our room early. The staff at the desk smiled and welcomed us and we were able to check in early. I was so pleased and grateful.

Everyone we encountered was friendly and outgoing. This included not only the staff but the other people staying there. It was amazing. Everyone was cordial and happy. It was very enjoyable.

I had a most wonderful conversation with an employee named Pierre on the front lobby. We exchanged different points of view from two cultures he was a very well spoken and honest young man. Impressed me. I have been a law enforcement officer for 30 years.

By the way the trip was for a recertification with a police narcotics canine. She was a big hit with staff and patrons alike. The hotel was most helpful with accomodating us.

Room Tip: I enjoy a higher elevation room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#55 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,241 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing