We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Rooms and furniture are a little dated and could do with some renovation.
Breakfast buffet limited but OK, staff friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and so are the public areas. Free parking is an important saving if included in the room price. The hotel is located right next to the cruise port Fort Lauderdale and a 3rd party organizes transfers on days when cruises leave. However, no information was provided on the subject, we discovered on the day when we returned the rental car at the airport……

HERTZ shows the hotel as a ‘return point’ for rental cars but in practice nobody really knows how this is to be handled. Booking HERTZ cars online does not allow to select this address as a ‘car return point’

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    411
    184
    70
    46
See reviews for
242
409
73
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
310 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed here in January 2012, for one night before boarding a cruise the next day. The hotel is litarally only 130 meters from the cruise port; a van will take you there for $6 / person.

The room was excellent ($221 including taxes, wifi), and the concerige area was good. The negative (as other have mentioned) is that the lobby is being "upgraded" (i.e. construction). This did not impact my room stay, but it could have been bothersome if I wanted to work in the lobby. The room was large and the TV was also large with a large number of channel selections including CNBC.

I did not try the restaurant or room service so I can not comment on that. The front desk did give me a menu for an Italian restaurant nearby that does delivery. Good food choice.

Room Tip: higher is better; they are renovating the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbb57aolcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We booked this hotel after reading some very positive reviews on Trip Advisor but we were really disappointed. The hotel is convenient for the cruise port and there is a shuttle minibus for 6$ per person, but the same can be said for a number of hotels in the area. The public areas of the hotel, the corridors and lifts looked rather dowdy, even though we were assured by the porter that it had all just been refurbished. We followed the advice on Trip Advisor and booked a Club room on one of the upper floors. Don't bother! The Club lounge which was supposed to offer complimentary snacks and drinks is a horrible room on the top floor of the hotel - when we arrived 2 hours before it was due to close there was no one on duty and the complimentary snacks were one or two cookies left on a plate and a jug of coffee. The atmosphere in there was terrible and there was no one else in there - not surprisingly. It was possible to make tea and coffee in your room however. We were also disappointed to find that there were hardly any restaurants within walking distance that were still open at 9.00 pm. On a more positive note the pool area was very pleasant and we were able to relax out there for most of the morning before embarking on our cruise. However, would stay at the Hilton next time. It was very expensive for the poor quality on offer.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTLRenaissanceGM, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
My name is Ryan Sistare and I am the General Manager for the Renaissance Fort Lauderdale. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about a recent experience at our hotel.

I would like to share with you that our hotel underwent a $8 Mil renovation in 2009, which included the lobby space, guest rooms, and fitness center. In addition, we perform a preventative maintenance service (painting, repairs, etc) on every room and corridors 4 times a year to ensure the product meets your standards.

Furthermore, please know that we do not sell club level rooms during the weekend as the Club Lounge is closed from Friday at 12pm until Sunday at 5pm. You can always request a higher room with a view of the Cruise Port, which we will do our best to accommodate

As a team, we are committed to delivering on the guest experience and I again, apologize for the inconveniences with any issues you experienced and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

I am a road warrior. I spend about 75-100 nights per year in hotels, almost always Marriott properties.

The Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel is right out of the textbook as far as the manner in which a first-rate hotel should operate. From the moment my wife and I walked through the door, it was obvious that customer service is a top priority.

David H handled check-in at the front desk. He took time to explain everything we could possibly want to know. He treated us like royalty and as if we were the only guests in the hotel. David called after check-in to ensure that all was well, then sent a card to the room the following morning just to ensure that we were well taken tare of. He is a true professional who takes ownership in the guests experience.

In the concierge lounge, Roberto and CC have customer service down to a science and an art. Roberto was very polite, friendly, and attentive. This guy loves his job and it shows. CC took care of us at breakfast. I watched her greet every single guest upon arrival and then later on at their table. Each time, she did so with a smile and a sincere interest in taking care of the guests every need. I got the impression that Roberto and CC owned the place.

I spoke to Hotel GM Ryan S, also. His management vision and focus on customer service is readily apparent. He fully realizes that the employees will make or break to hotel, and he is very proud of the fine work of his staff.

If you want to be treated like royalty in an excellent hotel in a beautiful area, the Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel is the place to be.

T.A. from Gainesville FL

Room Tip: I have stayed here many times since 2004. All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RXP-JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at this property for a week from 1/22/11 -1/29/11, listed as a Marriott 4 star we were very dissapointed at the quality of this facility. The lobby has recently been renovated but the up grades end there. Upon check in we were "up graded" to a larger room, but it was old and tired. The furniture had not been upgraded since the 90's at best. Because the room was larger the HVAC system did not work properly and the room was very hot all the time. The bed we lumpy and not comfortable, nor were any of the furniture, which looked like they it was just thrown in there.
My husband and I work out regularly and the workout room is an important part of the property. This too was very old and the equipment was not current. The hotel did not seem to understand the need to keep this room cool and twice I had to leave because it was too hot (and unhealthy) to workout for an extended period of time.
The one saving grace is the staff was very accomodating and was always respectful and sympathetic to our concerns. I would not stay at this facility again, it has a long way to go before it can call itself a #4 property.

Room Tip: if you can get on the conseirge floors, 10 ,11, 12. do yourselves a favor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hills010456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTLRenaissanceGM, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
My name is Ryan Sistare and I am the General Manager for the Renaissance Fort Lauderdale. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about a recent experience at our hotel.

I would like to share with you that our hotel underwent a $8 Mil renovation in 2009, which included the lobby space, guest rooms, and fitness center. Our lobby is definitely the centerpiece, but the rooms have received a full face lift as well. In addition, we perform a preventative maintenance service (painting, repairs, etc) on every room 4 times a year to ensure the product meets your standards

As a team, we are committed to delivering on the guest experience and again, I again, apologize for the inconveniences with any issues you experienced and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

In my opinion this is definately a 4 to a 4.5 star hotel. I had to give it an extra VERY in my review, because my stay was just a little bit better than just good.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th floor. Nothing spectacular, however the rooms and bathrooms were very neat and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImaTraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Nothing too special but good location as its close (NOT WALKING DISTANCE) to many of the cruise lines - certainly not Celebrity.

There is a charge of $6 pp for the shuttle each way.

Good restaurants withing 3 mins walking distance as well as a starbucks.

Not on a beach and the pool is next to the main road.

Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank turnleftisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#79 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 1617 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing