We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre Cruise Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #33 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winter Haven
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pre Cruise Hotel”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for the Travel Weekly Cruise World 2011 & Home Based Agent Show last week. It is located on the north side of SE 17th Street at Eisenhower Blvd. The Broward Convention Center and Port Everglades are within easy walking distance. Restaurants such as the Bimini Boatyard are close by. If you are without a car, the water taxi can provide access to local restaurant favorites such are the Bahia Cabana, Coconuts and Shooters. The hotel was considered to be of average quality and conditon. The staff was friendly and efficient. The conference room rate was $119/night was a very good value because of the great location. As a travel advisor, I recommend Port Everglades and Ft. Lauderdale as the best departure location because of the ease of access and the close proximity of pre or post-cruise amenities. Find us at www.southernbreezecruises.com

Room Tip: An east side room provides a view of Port Everglades and the intracoastal waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    427
    186
    70
    46
See reviews for
248
419
73
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura County Coast, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at the Renaissance to attend the International Boat Show in Ft. Lauderdale. Ask for a view of the water. While this is not the newest hotel, the rooms are clean and updated, even if a bit small. There is only one small cafe in the hotel with a limited menu. The cafe was closed for dinner. Fortunately they serve dinner in the bar and offer room service if you don't want to venture out. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_am_retired_early
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed at the Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Hotel on a recent trip, and were very disappointed at what we received. For $150/night, we expected a wonderful four-star experience. What we got was an overpriced two-star hotel. On the positive side, the staff was very friendly. The ladies at the front desk checked us in quickly, asked if we needed anything, and had a pack-and-play brought quickly to our room for our baby. At checkout they were equally as nice and helpful. On the negative side, the hotel is old, dated, and the rooms are remarkably average. Our bathroom was very dated, with wallpaper peeling from the walls. The beds were below average and uncomfortable, although the linens were nice. The "business center" at the hotel was a coat-closet with two ancient computers that appeared to be running on dial-up internet. It took 15 minutes just to log on and print a boarding pass. None of this would be a huge problem if I had paid $49 to stay at a 2 star hotel, but I did not. On top of the overpriced room rate, the hotel sticks guests with a $25/night self-parking fee (which even the lady at the front desk admitted was ridiculously high), a $13/day WiFi charge, and offers an average breakfast for $15/person. If Marriott were to re-brand this property as a Fairfield Inn, charge me $49 and throw in free parking and WiFi, it wouldn't be a bad deal, but at almost $200/night it is a total rip off.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ILoveToEatOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

First time at this property. Soooo welcoming, we will return in a few weeks. Service from valet/greeters, resturant/bar, front desk was stellar. Name recognition was almost instantaneous by persons at the front desk. Room was tasteful very comfy. Good vaule/pricepoint for food and beverages. Walking distance to shopping, coffee houses stores. Trolley a short block from property. Fitness room adquate. Upon leaving Ms D said asked if the stay was everything it should have been and she hoped we would come back. It was and we are. L.J

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obljoblj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I stayed here on a business trip – very convenient as it is only a short walk from the convention center.

Check in/ check out process was quick. There is a daily parking fee ($25) but guests receive a card to freely enter and exit the parking garage. The large dumpster needs to be removed from the parking garage. This “scent” is not a nice welcome as the scent of garbage is the first thing that greets you as you step out of your car to walk into the hotel.

Cleanliness was an issue. The bathroom could have been cleaner, especially the tub as well as the bathroom tiles. My colleague and I returned late in the afternoon to find out that our room still had not been cleaned. The next day, we returned even later and sat in the hallway waiting for housekeeping to finish as the staff was cleaning our room at that moment. She had forgotten to replace our coffee cups and knocked on our door. She handed us one cup even though she knew there was more than one of us. We also found a toenail in one of the bed comforters, which was extremely disgusting. It rained all four days I was here. Rain water leaked in through the window, soaking the contents of my business partner’s suitcase as well as the surrounding area.

The cleanliness of the room was the only drawback. The staff was friendly, the restaurant/bar lounge was nice, and the biggest perk was the proximity of the convention center.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JNJSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at the Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel prior to a cruise last summer. It was an OK stay, but it wasn't what I expected out of a Marriott. The hotel was in a great location, which was directly across from the entrance of the Cruise Port. It also had a deal which allowed me to park there while on the cruise. However, the hotel was a little run down, which was disappointing. Checking in took longer than it should, but there was some confusion because I had a total of three reservations for the hotel. Part of the cruise package was transportation to the Cruise Port. I also bought rides back after the cruise for $8 a person. Once the cruise was over, there was so much confusion that I ended up just taking a taxi, wasting the $32. The taxi fare was just $12,50, including the tip.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators. They are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_of_Cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I chose this hotel because the price was great and I thought it would be nice to not just stay in the courtyards. Frankly, it was hard to tell the difference between them and a courtyard. Perhaps it was the nicer bath goods, but that was pretty much the only difference I could spot. The room was ok, but smelled really odd. I called my colleague also staying there and her room also smelled really weird. At least it was clean and the staff was quite friendly. It was annoying that there was no quiet sign to hang on the door and of course, someone came knocking super early. It was certainly full of folks the next morning heading off on a cruise. The parking garage was off to the side and a little difficult to navigate in the evening in the rain. The bed was really stiff as well. The hotel is fine, but not sure I would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biztraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,590 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,726 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#76 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing