We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best experience from a Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #43 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed here before a few years back and had a wonderful experience so on this occasion was expecting the same, sadly I was disappointed.

We stayed here for 5 nights from 9 July, we arrived following a 9 hour flight and 3 hr drive and had to ask for towels and bedding as what was in the room was inadequate for 3 people. The next morning I went to have my coffee on the balcony but it was too dirty, one of the chairs was broken and we were on the 3rd floor right beside the bridge with only trees as a view, not what I expected when we were staying for 5 nights in a hotel that is not cheap and supposed to be known for quality. Around the window in the bedroom was filthy, with mouldy black stuff. I am guessing they save the better rooms for the gold and platinum members! Ordinary folk can go jump!

We never received the complimentary water we should have each day, We had one mug between 3 in the kitchen and again had to ask for adequate towels a couple more times ( on 1 day we were left none).

The parking fees are an outrage and alone are enough to put us off ever returning to this hotel, particularly when there is a parking lot right next to it which has been fenced off and is never used (even if this is owned by someone else, there is obviously adequate parking nearby as the valets are never long in bringing your car).

The bar was woefully understaffed at busy times and the wait was, on occasions, rather long.

The fact that a hotel such as the Hilton is still extortionately charging for wi-fi in 2013 when even in the cheapest dive it's free is not on! My partner attempted to access it in the lobby (where it is supposed to be free) and after leaving I noticed it had been charged to our room!

All in all not the best experience I have had in a Hilton and not the standard I expect from them. Why did I not complain whilst there...... A) would it have changed anything? B) I was trying to enjoy my holiday and didn't want to spoil it by listening to excuses from the front desk.

I doubt we will return to this hotel and will favour a cheaper one that works harder for your custom.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poshrosh2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALLERYone D, General Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We are very sorry for the unfortunate experience you had at the GALLERYone DoubleTree Suites Fort Lauderdale. Your rating of a “3” deeply concerns us and we would really like to speak with you in regards to your stay. Please contact me at your earliest convenience at 954-335-4632.

Andreas A. Ioannou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,717 - 1,723 of 2,830 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

As a Hilton diamond I found this to be a nice hotel - it is located next to a mall, publix, drug store and dry cleaners so it is well located. This hotel does not take as much of a beating compared to the other hotel since it is not on the beach and guest are not necessarily the ones overnighting for cruise- It is a little irritating that you can get a reasonable room rate but if you have a car you MUST valet park your car - and the fee is 25 plus tax per night - there are no other options - the rooms are clean and well maintained. I will say that the headboards in the many of the rooms are scratched and need to be replaced. Even though I mentioned these negatives- I will continue to stay there since it is not on the beach and less crowded

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubba086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALLERYone D, General Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your loyalty to Hilton and now the GALLERYone DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and that we’re within walking distance to many shops, restaurants, and businesses. We are in the middle of renovating all guest suites and the headboards are one of the last items to be replaced. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Andreas A. Ioannou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A nice hotel but with overpriced restaurant, pay parking $25 daily with nothing complimentary except a warm cookie at check in. When extra charges added in the hotel is not a value or worth the cost. If you have to stay close to the location of the hotel it is the only good choice for the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALLERYone D, General Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

We appreciate your review of your recent stay at the GALLERYone DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale. We see that you were unhappy with some of the charges, and we apologize if the charges weren’t clear at the time of booking. We work hard to personalize each guest’s experience and try to keep costs affordable. Your review helps us maintain a focus on both of those areas. Thank you again for your review.

Andreas A. Ioannou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
248
Reviewed July 17, 2013

for almost two years, i would stay here for work because our company has a corporate account, but after my last two stays here, i'm sad to say that i will not be returning. there were furniture that need to be replaced and some pieces were loose and found in the room. the refrigerator froze my food. the room was very noisy because it faced Sunrise Blvd and the water. granted it was a nice view, but who wants a view if you can't have peace and quiet. because of our corporate status, billing has always been a pain, which makes checking out unpleasant. i'm speaking on a business-stay perspective, not personal. if you stay here for vacation, you'll probably find this place to your liking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALLERYone D, General Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Your rating of a “2” deeply concerns me and I would truly like to discuss your experience over the phone. Please contact me at 954.335.4632 at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

Andreas A. Ioannou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Friendly helpful staff; for a hotel well priced restaurant, good sized rooms. If leaving car here, prior to a cruise, note that the parking will add to your cost. We have stayed at hotels where we could leave the car and incur no charges while on cruise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALLERYone D, General Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for the nice review of the GALLERYone We hope to see you again soon.

Andreas A. Ioannou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here at least three other times. We have always been pleased with the hotel. The rooms are spacious, modern and clean. We love the location because its next to the mall, stores and beach.
However during this visit we had to call every single day for towels. Despite the housekeeper seeing that it was four of us, she would only provide two towels. We had to call downstairs numerous times to get towels and wash clothes. It seemed as if this was a management issue. They appeared to count the towels and not want to provide any. There were other small things we noticed that changed also. Maybe they are having financial issues and they are making attempts to save money. However from a guest's standpoint it was frustrating. Despite this issue we had a good time. We enjoyed the pool and restaurant along with the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydtayscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALLERYone D, General Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for your loyalty to the GALLERYone DoubleTree Suites Fort Lauderdale! That’s great that you enjoyed the pool and restaurant. I will discuss your comments with our Executive Housekeeper in regards to the towels; thank you for your feedback. I can see how this would be frustrating and I deeply apologize. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to better serve you.

Andreas A. Ioannou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here one night, 4th of July. Doubletree had a cookout, July 4th style, with music and specialty drinks all day. Beach was in walking distance. Mall in walking distance. As a matter of fact it is so close, we parked there overnight instead of paying Valet fees.

The Galleria Mall left a lot to be desired. No specialty stores, just the usual, Macy's, Gap etc (get the point?) However, on the outside of this mall was a lot of nice eateries. Seasons 52, Martini Bar etc., and across the street is a BurgerFi, which is a hidden gem. You have to try it.

The hotel itself has wide hallways, beautiful bathrooms (no tub:shower only) , and spacious rooms. The reception area is marvelous but I believe this is an older hotel. Nonetheless, I loved this hotel. The Bay is right outside, nice pool, and bar outside. We saw the fireworks from Miami and Fort Lauderdale (going on at the same time) from our room. As a matter of fact, I would say we had a better view from our room balcony than anyone could have had at the beach or if they camped out all day for what they believed would be the perfect spot.

This hotel is a "HIT" in my books!!!!

Room Tip: Walk to the Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pagesinadiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALLERYone D, General Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

We can’t thank you enough for your review. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel was a “HIT” in your books. Your many kind comments about the GALLERYone are greatly appreciated and we’re so glad that you enjoyed the views from your room. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Andreas A. Ioannou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,825 reviews
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,214 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Riverside Hotel
#23 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,564 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,452 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel

Address: 2670 East Sunrise Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#29 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#34 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $153 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on the main Intracoastal Waterway, GALLERYone DoubleTree Suites by Hilton , is the city's premier boutique hotel that exemplifies the casual elegance and sophistication. In a superb location, Gallery One is an easy three block walk to Fort Lauderdale's beautiful sandy beaches and blue Atlantic Ocean, directly adjacent to Galleria Mall - an upscale mall that boasts Neiman Marcus, Saks, Macy's, Dillards, and over 120 special stores PLUS Capital Grille, Seasons 52, P.F. Chang's, and Blue Martini! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery One - a Doubletree Guest Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Doubletree Fort Lauderdale
Doubletree Gallery One
Doubletree Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing