We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“You'll Tire of the Tired Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #28 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You'll Tire of the Tired Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel has all the makings of being GREAT hotel!

When you first arrive you're great by the very hard working valet staff that greet you with enthusiasm but lower their voice a little when they mention the $25 per day valet fee. Something to consider if you plan on renting a car. I'm not sure if that is the going rate in the area but I think it's high nonetheless.

The lobby is large and very open and airy and again the staff are warm and friendly. The restaurant works just fine especially if you'd like to have breakfast inside or out. I didn't have lunch or dinner there.

The overall appearance of the hotel is clean and well maintained and so far, you're quite impressed. But this hotel is not without it's problems.

I'm not sure of the age of this hotel or when a renovation was last done, but our room's furniture looked like it was taken from some seedy motel further down the street. We had a one bedroom suite which included a kitchenette, living area and two queens in the bedroom. The sofa bed was a light colored material showing all the traces of people before us with ripped material and some well placed stains. With a family of four that included two teenaged boys, the sofa bed is a much needed item. Here's a question to all hotels that have sofa beds and to all furniture manufacturers, "Why can't you get a decent, comfortable sofa bed?". The chairs used for the kitchenette were losing their vinyl coverings in small pieces and accumulating on the floor beneath them.

The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to the beach. It's also stop on the water taxi (recommended) and, it's right next door the The Galleria Mall that has a couple of really nice restaurants.

Overall it was a nice stay but c'mon Double Tree, this one is due some capital investment!

Room Tip: The river view rooms are not worth the extra $20 per night. The street side rooms offer a beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALLERYone D, Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. With parking being very limited in the area, we make sure our prices remain competitive if not lower than the area hotels. Our location is ideal as there is so much to do and all right at your fingertips. Most importantly, we hope that if you do visit Fort Lauderdale again, that you give us the opportunity to show off our suite improvements and allow us to deliver a memorable experience.

John Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    756
    302
    157
    81
See reviews for
777
685
114
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
204 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is at a great location next to the mall, Colony Grill, PF changs. Restaurant in hotel has poor service and below average food. Two weeks I settle the bill, I had a charge in my cc of 100 for a deposit. I had to make several call to the hotel to clarify the problem.

Room Tip: High floor and with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiaMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALLERYone D, Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We’re sorry our restaurant didn’t meet your expectations, our guest reviews give us valuable information which we have shared with our team. We also apologize for the inconvenience of the billing and we hope that it was settled to your satisfaction. Thank you again for your feedback.

John Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the double tree Gallery in February over mid-winter break it was a great stay. The breakfast was Phenominal and the hotel also had a Starbucks inside. The only thing I did not like was how cold the lobby was.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agjajkdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALLERYone D, Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the GALLERYone DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale. We hope to see you again in the future!

John Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed two nights before and one night after our cruise. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Food, eaten on the patio overlooking the intercoastal waterway is surprisingly good. Location is excellent - short walk to stores and beach. Staff are courteous and attentive - requests to housekeeping were delivered promptly. It's true we were low on cutlery - but that sort of thing goes wandering - and the staff brought us a complete set in less than 5 minutes. Beach towels available by the pool. And we LOVED the warm chocolate chip cookies upon arrival! All in all, it really reminded us of staying in a resort, and we've stayed in many...

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have sky lights which are nice during the day but do not block daylight if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALLERYone D, Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the GALLERYone DoubleTree Fort Lauderdale. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We hope to see you again in the near future!

John Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

stayed here for five days for a softball tournament in pompano beach. Wife and I had great time as we walked each morning along the ocean. After softball we went to the Fort Lauderdale Art museum one day, the Seminole Hard Rock Casino with a groupon for dinner on another day, the Broward County Center for a show. Walked to the movie another time. We ate at Seasons 52 once which is two blocks from the hotel. My wife went to the Gallerie Mall while I played softball one day and that is two blocks. Also we liked burgerfi and the french bakery which is on the opposite side of the street. The hotel itself is on the intercoastal waterway with the water taxi stopping regularly. The service was great and the room was perfect for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seahawk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALLERYone D, Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
It sounds like you had a wonderful vacation at our hotel and in Fort Lauderdale! I am pleased to hear that you and your wife were able to explore the area since our hotel is within walking distance of it all – shopping, dining, water taxi, and the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Fort Lauderdale!

John Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm, sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed just one night 3-4March2013 at Gallery One Fort Lauderdale and I do wish I had been able to stay longer (+that the weather had been nicer).
We had booked a cityview one bedroom apartment/suite but were upgraded to a very nice suite with views from all windows towards canal. The suite/apartment was good 4star standard, nice and clean and with a small Ok equipped kitchen.
The hotel has a pool, a whirlpool & a created "minibeach", hotelarea very pleasing overall.
We had a continental breakfast in the Café/restaurant before we left , nothing to complain about there. The location is very good, Galleria Mall nearby, a Publix + some nice restaurants in walking distance. The beach is maybe 600-800 meters away.
Overall I did really like it and would like to stay here if/when I visit Fort Lauderdale again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annahelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALLERYone D, Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the GALLERYone DoubleTree Fort Lauderdale. I am sure many will benefit from your positive experience. It was our pleasure to have been able to provide you with a high level of service and great location to help make your stay special. We hope to see you soon!


John Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked this hotel via Hotwire for a 3-night stay pre-cruise. The price was good (for an unseen hotel) and it was pretty obvious by the description which hotel we would get and since the reviews looked good we went ahead and hoped we'd get this one. Sure enough we did and I have to say the hotel exceeded expectations.

We really like the suite hotel concept. We were upgraded on arrival to a one bed suite with a separate dining/kitchen area with a large sofa and huge TV and a big balcony (facing the highway but still nice enough to sit out on). The patio windows are not double glazed so rooms facing the highway could be noisy, however after a transatlantic flight and since we always travel with earplugs, this didn't bother us. The kitchen area is pretty well equipped with fridge, microwave, dishwasher and hob. Crockery and cutlery were limited but didn't bother us as we ate out and I'm sure the hotel would have provided more if you asked. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom amenities very good, plenty of nice towels and we really loved the huge shower.

As has been pointed out before the hotel is in an excellent location - a short walk to the Galleria Mall (with plenty of places to eat) another short walk to the beach in the opposite direction, right on the waterway with a stop at the hotel and a Publix just opposite, which was ideal to buy in drinks and provisions - this would be particularly useful for people who intend to self-cater at this hotel.

We didn't use the breakfast at the hotel and only bought one drink at the bar and a coffee at the Starbucks in the lobby (the worst cappuccino I've ever had) but the lobby/bar area seemed nice enough and there is a nice open area with a bar outside.

The pool is quite small but was kept well stocked with nice fluffy towels and the little 'beach' area, fronting the waterway with cushioned beds is such a nice place to hang out and watch all the motor vessels sailing by.

Although we didn't have much need to deal with staff at the hotel they all seemed very friendly and efficient. A tip for anyone who is staying here pre-cruise and needing a taxi to the port is that we found out from other guests that you can pre-book a time with the bellhop. Not knowing about this, we spent some time waiting for him to try and call a cab on their busiest day in port - Saturday (we were 17th in line on the phone!!) However there are shuttles calling in all the time bringing people from the ships and the bellhop managed to get one of those to take us to the port. We had an issue with our coffee machine not working and a replacement arrived within 10 minutes.

Since I rate hotels based on my expectations and experience (not on luxury or amenities) I would have given this a 5* rating, were it not for 2 things. One is the overpriced valet parking which, considering there is a big parking lot (overspill from Galleria?) right next to the hotel, seemed outrageous. The other (main) gripe is the charge for wifi - at $9.95 per day this was unnecessary and excessive. For those who wish to find some free wifi close by there is a Starbucks just before Publix and even Publix has free wifi available.

However, all in all, this was a good stay and we would definitely recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALLERYone D, Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the GALLERYone DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale. Whether it is before or after your cruise this is a great place to relax and unwind. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay and the convenience of our location in relation to the Galleria Mall, Publix and the beach. We’re happy you were able to take advantage of the shuttle service to Port Everglades for $8 per person. When you visit us again please enjoy the complimentary wifi offered in all public areas of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back!

John Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 2,189 reviews
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale In...
#7 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#6 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#33 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 2,449 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#31 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel

Property: GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel
Address: 2670 East Sunrise Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on the main Intracoastal Waterway, GALLERYone DoubleTree Suites by Hilton , is the city's premier boutique hotel that exemplifies the casual elegance and sophistication. In a superb location, Gallery One is an easy three block walk to Fort Lauderdale's beautiful sandy beaches and blue Atlantic Ocean, directly adjacent to Galleria Mall - an upscale mall that boasts Neiman Marcus, Saks, Macy's, Dillards, and over 120 special stores PLUS Capital Grille, Seasons 52, P.F. Chang's, and Blue Martini! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery One - a Doubletree Guest Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Doubletree Fort Lauderdale
Doubletree Gallery One
Doubletree Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing